Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.11.4 (build 3133) - 25 May 2021
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

If you are interested in supporting Cumulus then maybe you would like to contribute to the maintenance of the Wiki? This need not take hours of your time - just a half hour here and there can make a big difference, particularly if many people are doing this. Any contributions are very welcome, whether they involve new content or editing of existing content. It will be very helpful to current and future users of Cumulus software if the Wiki is kept well-maintained and current. If you are interested then please contact forum user saratogaWX and ask for a Wiki account.

Accessing my C MX weather via WAN/internet?

Topics about the Beta trials up to Build 3043, the last build by Cumulus's founder Steve Loft. It was by this time way out of Beta but Steve wanted to keep it that way until he made a decision on his and Cumulus's future.

Moderator: mcrossley

Post Reply
AurturoJane
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 06 Nov 2020 11:38 am
Weather Station: Weather Station
Operating System: Windows XP

Accessing my C MX weather via WAN/internet?

Post by AurturoJane »

I have an IP cam which I can access via my LAN or via the Internet, from anywhere in the world. I am not on a static IP, but I can log into the cam suppliers website, which keeps a record of my current WAN IP and redirects me to my cam IP. I guess the way it works, is that the firmware in the cam, constantly reports back to the site, so the site knows my current IP.

Can I access C MX in a similar way, from the Internet beyond my LAN please?

water01
Posts: 2170
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Accessing my C MX weather via WAN/internet?

Post by water01 »

You can, but it means opening ports in your firewall which is not advisable.

The CMX admin interface is designed only for local LAN use as it is has no security, so if you did open the ports you have no way of locking it down, which could cause all sorts of problems e.g. malware, hacking etc.
David
Image

mariasbarker
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 26 May 2021 7:17 am
Weather Station: 6250 Vantage Vue Wireless Weathe
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Accessing my C MX weather via WAN/internet?

Post by mariasbarker »

And what software are you using to run a weather station with Cumulus at away location via the internet?

Phil23
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win10 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Accessing my C MX weather via WAN/internet?

Post by Phil23 »

water01 wrote:
Fri 06 Nov 2020 1:14 pm
You can, but it means opening ports in your firewall which is not advisable.

The CMX admin interface is designed only for local LAN use as it is has no security.....
Simple Solution is a good router that will give you a secure VPN.

Having a Dynamic IP or even being behind CG-NAT is not an issue now as the likes of DrayTek have broker services that map the CG-NAT around & manage the Dynamic IP Issue.

BigOkie
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue 28 May 2013 1:06 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspian Jessie
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: Accessing my C MX weather via WAN/internet?

Post by BigOkie »

Phil23 wrote:
Wed 26 May 2021 9:37 am
water01 wrote:
Fri 06 Nov 2020 1:14 pm
You can, but it means opening ports in your firewall which is not advisable.

The CMX admin interface is designed only for local LAN use as it is has no security.....
Simple Solution is a good router that will give you a secure VPN.

Having a Dynamic IP or even being behind CG-NAT is not an issue now as the likes of DrayTek have broker services that map the CG-NAT around & manage the Dynamic IP Issue.
I know this is a bit of an old post but I echo this sentiment. I have an old Asus router with Merlin firmware on it and it runs an OpenVPN server without a hitch. I can access it from my mobile phone using the OpenVPN app as well as any pc I'm on. Works like a charm and adds only one extra step and it a bit more secure than opening up ports (which I used to do but I was familiar enough with setting up my opens ports to restrict which IP addresses could access it).

Phil23
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win10 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Accessing my C MX weather via WAN/internet?

Post by Phil23 »

BigOkie wrote:
Mon 19 Jul 2021 2:00 pm
I have an old Asus router with Merlin firmware on it and it runs an OpenVPN server without a hitch. I can access it from my mobile phone using the OpenVPN app as well as any pc I'm on. Works like a charm....
Maybe that is a solution for my planned remote CMX install.

Presume your Router is on a true public IP address.
Is it Static or Dynamic?

As far a the phone is concerned, I'd guess it would be on a CG-NAT connection; that's become the general trend out here in Aus.

So essentially If I could make the remote rPi maintain a persistent connection to my router as a VPN Client, most of my problems would be solved.
(The remote Pi will be on a 4G wireless internet).

Ozdw
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 26 Jul 2021 9:57 pm
Weather Station: Ecowitt
Operating System: Ubuntu

Re: Accessing my C MX weather via WAN/internet?

Post by Ozdw »

You might find Zerotier of interest. I've found it much easier and more useable than traditional VPNS.

Dave

Post Reply