Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.5 (build 3081) - 28 May 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

Ambient Weather WS-2902A

A Forum to archive Cumulus MX development suggestions that have been rejected or solved by other means.
newscene
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu 09 Jul 2015 8:58 am
Weather Station: Waldbeck Halley – WH2650
Operating System: WIN 10 64 bits
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A

Post by newscene »

galfert wrote:
Tue 28 Apr 2020 2:19 am
Some European countries can also get the Froggit DP1500 which is exactly a GW1000. But you better make sure that you have a 868 MHz station if you order the Froggit.
The US Amazon only sells 915 MHz.
Thank you so much for alerting me to the fact that the frequency of the station must be the same as the GW1000 and for the fact that Froggit DP1500 is the same as GW1000. In fact my WH2650 is a 868Mhz station and I can easily order a Froggit DP1500 868MHz from amazon.de (around $55) or a complete package consisting of DP1500 + temp/humid sensor Dp50 + WH4000SE station for around $160 :-)
I am going to wait a while to see if Mark comes up with a solution for the WH2650 to connect directly to CMX, but if this connection is not possible, then I will go for the DP1500. Once again, thanks for this precious tip.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A

Post by mcrossley »

So that error in CMX window shows the device is not responding to the discovery command I am using. I don't think WD uses auto-discovery.

You can set the IP address manually in the config and disable auto-discovery.

Then capture a MXdiags with MX run with the -debug option please.

newscene
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu 09 Jul 2015 8:58 am
Weather Station: Waldbeck Halley – WH2650
Operating System: WIN 10 64 bits
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A

Post by newscene »

mcrossley wrote:
Tue 28 Apr 2020 8:39 pm
So that error in CMX window shows the device is not responding to the discovery command I am using. I don't think WD uses auto-discovery.
You can set the IP address manually in the config and disable auto-discovery.
Then capture a MXdiags with MX run with the -debug option please.
Thanks Mark. I have done all those steps and I hope this will help.
If anything else is needed, including remote access to the devices, please just let me know.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A

Post by mcrossley »

OK, my bad, even if you disable auto-discovery, it still runs the routine and just ignores the result. But in your case it does not respond and causes an un-trapped error.

I can fix both of those for the next release, but that doesn't help you. I'll PM you about trying a test build...

newscene
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu 09 Jul 2015 8:58 am
Weather Station: Waldbeck Halley – WH2650
Operating System: WIN 10 64 bits
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A

Post by newscene »

mcrossley wrote:
Wed 29 Apr 2020 2:08 pm
OK, my bad, even if you disable auto-discovery, it still runs the routine and just ignores the result. But in your case it does not respond and causes an un-trapped error.
I can fix both of those for the next release, but that doesn't help you. I'll PM you about trying a test build...
Hi Mark!
THANK YOU SOOOOOOO MUCH!
My WH2650 is now running like a charm with the CMX test build you have sent me!
PERFECT! :-)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A

Post by mcrossley »

Glad it is working.

I have had confirmation from Ecowitt that the auto-discovery protocol is the same for the WH2650 and GW-1000. So the lack of response maybe something to do with your local network/firewall configuration.

Anyway, I have fixed the discovery for the next release so that if it is disabled in config, it doesn't try it all. Or if it is enabled I catch any errors and continue.

User avatar
Buford T. Justice
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri 17 Aug 2012 9:21 pm
Weather Station: Ecowitt GW1000 with WS-2902A
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A

Post by Buford T. Justice »

I got my Ecowitt GW1004 kit today. I wanted indoor temp. and humidity [EDIT: for another room in the house] so I went with this model. So far, it is working great with CumulusMX 3075. I am still calibrating it to the Ambient Weather display using the "WS View" Android app. Once done, I am back in business with updating my Sager and Zambretti Weathercard scripts. Thanks again for the suggestion galfert.
Last edited by Buford T. Justice on Fri 01 May 2020 6:37 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
galfert
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue 03 May 2016 2:57 pm
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2000
Operating System: Linux Mint or Raspbian
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A

Post by galfert »

mcrossley wrote:
Thu 30 Apr 2020 1:36 pm
Glad it is working.

I have had confirmation from Ecowitt that the auto-discovery protocol is the same for the WH2650 and GW-1000. So the lack of response maybe something to do with your local network/firewall configuration.

Anyway, I have fixed the discovery for the next release so that if it is disabled in config, it doesn't try it all. Or if it is enabled I catch any errors and continue.
I've seen problems with the GW1000 when the network subnet is 10.x.x.x or when the subnet mask is something other than 255.255.255.0. Just something to test and check.
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Tele-Pole flag pole

User avatar
galfert
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue 03 May 2016 2:57 pm
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2000
Operating System: Linux Mint or Raspbian
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A

Post by galfert »

Buford T. Justice wrote:
Thu 30 Apr 2020 8:57 pm
I got my Ecowitt GW1004 kit today. I wanted indoor temp. and humidity so I went with this model. So far, it is working great with CumulusMX 3075. I am still calibrating it to the Ambient Weather display using the "WS View" Android app. Once done, I am back in business with updating my Sager and Zambretti Weathercard scripts. Thanks again for the suggestion galfert.
Great thanks for the update.

The GW1000 alone would still have given you indoor temperature and humidity. The kit that you got GW1004 is just throwing in a WH31 module as an extra sensor. So now you have two indoor temp/hum sensors.
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Tele-Pole flag pole

User avatar
Buford T. Justice
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri 17 Aug 2012 9:21 pm
Weather Station: Ecowitt GW1000 with WS-2902A
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A

Post by Buford T. Justice »

galfert wrote:
Fri 01 May 2020 3:36 am
Great thanks for the update.

The GW1000 alone would still have given you indoor temperature and humidity. The kit that you got GW1004 is just throwing in a WH31 module as an extra sensor. So now you have two indoor temp/hum sensors.
Oops. I meant to say I wanted that sensor for another room. My bad.

Post Reply