Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.10.5 (build 3122) - 06 April 2021 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

*** Data input appears to have stopped

Please DO NOT use this to publish your entire wish. This Forum is for specific suggestions to enhance the usability of Cumulus MX for all users, NOT your personal requirements. Please check this forum and the rejected forum to make sure you are NOT posting a DUPLICATE suggestion. It will be heavily monitored by Admin and Mark Crossley to determine the feasibility and the difficulty of the suggestion. Those Topics that are deemed inadmissible will moved to the rejected Forum. The remaining Topics will be the Accepted list of future developments, and when our voluntary development group adds it to a build, the build number will be added to the Topic title.
Post Reply
sfws
Posts: 979
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Combination Mix of FO stations
Operating System: R Pi OS

*** Data input appears to have stopped

Post by sfws »

When communication between a weather station console and the original cumulus software stopped:
-> it showed a flashing red fault light on the main screen
-> the software halted further processing, for example no longer updating any files, no longer uploading to web server
-> optionally (by a setting), the software could be asked to close and restart, which generally cured the problem

MX works differently:
=> it logs *** Data input appears to have stopped to the current diagnostics logging file within MXdiags folder (if you bother to look at it)
=> the software continues to run
=> whilst today.ini no longer gets updated with new data, it and the other logging files are still showing as being accessed/modified, although nothing is changing
=> all processing of any files specified in extra web files continues, again although no data is changing
=> unless you look at that diagnostic file, or scroll down on the dashboard page of the admin interface, one could assume all is still working as normal
=> there is no option that closes MX, despite the fact it is obviously not doing anything useful
=>,there is no option to see if an automatic restart would clear the problem

This post is asking if MX can be changed to be more like the original Cumulus functionality.
My life is not about sitting still tied to watching a screen. I find it annoying, MX will read my weather station perfectly for days. From time to time, I can suddenly discover Cumulus has not received any information from my weather station for perhaps days, despite a casual inspection making me believe MX is still running properly.

A few facts about my implementation.... I am still using a Chas Olsen Fine Offset console/transmitter (with various non-standard old Maplin sensors), and I run MX on a RPi. I am wondering if it is possible that, at apparently random times, the RPi is somehow struggling to keep the USB link open. My RPi is left on, without me monitoring it, so it is not any action by me that causes this problem at these odd times.
I have not yet tried running as a service, but can confirm that no message is put out to the terminal session when this problem happens.
I have not investigated for any system messages.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 8193
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: *** Data input appears to have stopped

Post by mcrossley »

I'll add better handling of these errors to the ToDo list...

sfws
Posts: 979
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Combination Mix of FO stations
Operating System: R Pi OS

Re: *** Data input appears to have stopped

Post by sfws »

mcrossley wrote:
Thu 08 Apr 2021 4:10 pm
I'll add better handling of these errors to the ToDo list...
Thank you, maybe it is worth saying that the weather station is not showing any problems, and when MX was restarted, it had no difficulty catching up all missed data.

Therefore, your to do list is to perhaps find a way to close connection with weather station and then reopen. MX does not need to totally stop and restart in the way the legacy software did.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 8193
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: *** Data input appears to have stopped

Post by mcrossley »

Good idea, I have coded it so that if the Data Stopped condition is set, it will attempt to find the station again and reopen it.

I have also tweaked the start-up code, so if it does not find the station it will keep trying until it does, or you kill MX.

GeorgeF
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed 14 Apr 2021 12:41 pm
Weather Station: Aercus WS3083
Operating System: Windows 7 Starter

Re: *** Data input appears to have stopped

Post by GeorgeF »

My weather station also seems to stop at irregular intervals but the restart which usually means a shutdown of MX reseating the USB cable. The restart is fine and MX reads the archive data but seems to get some really random data. I think my fix request here is to apply spike removal to archive data reads because I am sure I did not have Force 12 Hurricane winds for 5 minutes (17740 m/sec) last week unless I was on Jupiter and this morning I had a temperature for 58 deg C at 07:50 am in Northern Britain.

These spikes leave all my historical data in ruins as well as the all time records etc. and it is a long editing of data files to get right. Please can MX just suppress these spikes on archive data reads?

I am running the latest build 3.10.5 build 3122

Regards

GeorgeF

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 8193
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: *** Data input appears to have stopped

Post by mcrossley »

Hi George, spike removal is already applied to historic data.

Plus there are some additional range checks which mean the wind speed is ignored altogether if it lies outside the range 0 - 60 m/s so how you are getting those values is odd.

Can you post a message on the regular forum along with your log files and I'll take a look.

Post Reply