Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.11.0 (build 3129) - 07 May 2021 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Log updates to include database if configured

Please DO NOT use this to publish your entire wish. This Forum is for specific suggestions to enhance the usability of Cumulus MX for all users, NOT your personal requirements. Please check this forum and the rejected forum to make sure you are NOT posting a DUPLICATE suggestion. It will be heavily monitored by Admin and Mark Crossley to determine the feasibility and the difficulty of the suggestion. Those Topics that are deemed inadmissible will moved to the rejected Forum. The remaining Topics will be the Accepted list of future developments, and when our voluntary development group adds it to a build, the build number will be added to the Topic title.
Post Reply
freddie
Posts: 1269
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Log updates to include database if configured

Post by freddie »

Is it possible to cause MX to update database records when log files are edited through the interface? Only if database settings are enabled, of course :)
Freddie
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 8313
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Log updates to include database if configured

Post by mcrossley »

It's a good idea, not sure how hard it would be, and it would have to be opt in for people like me who use custom inserts.

Please reply so I can leave this unread for now.

freddie
Posts: 1269
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Log updates to include database if configured

Post by freddie »

Okay thanks for considering it. Definitely needs to be an opt-in as not everybody uses a database.
Freddie
Image

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 2051
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: Log updates to include database if configured

Post by HansR »

If you are going to consider things like that, would you then please be so kind to also again consider a catch up of a database after a lost connection.

I will be losing e.g. 4 hours because my cable provider is going through a midnight update where my database will be unreachable. It would be nice if changes like that would recover automatically when the database comes back online.
(this is a repeat of an earlier question)
Hans

https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl
Cumulus build 3122 ● Davis Vantage Pro 2+ ● RPi 3B+ ● Raspbian 5.10.17-v7+ ● Mono 5.18.0.240

freddie
Posts: 1269
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Log updates to include database if configured

Post by freddie »

HansR wrote:
Sun 02 May 2021 1:48 pm
If you are going to consider things like that, would you then please be so kind to also again consider a catch up of a database after a lost connection.
You can emulate this by using the full catch-up functionality of MX once your database is back online - i.e. stop MX, rewind to backup made before the lost connection, then restart MX.

I personally run a database locally that synchronises to the remote database. That way you let the DBMS take care of it.
Freddie
Image

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 2051
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: Log updates to include database if configured

Post by HansR »

Sure you can do everything manually. Same with your request.
I can also go out every day four times write down the observations and fill them in jn the computer. Actually i don't need a computer at all to be a meteo amateur. 2hat are we doing here anyway?

Sorry, but this request is made because sometimes you don't know when the database is down, some things need to be automated because the weather station is basically an unattended system.
Hans

https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl
Cumulus build 3122 ● Davis Vantage Pro 2+ ● RPi 3B+ ● Raspbian 5.10.17-v7+ ● Mono 5.18.0.240

Post Reply