Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.5 (build 3081) - 28 May 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

Initial Location Entry

Please DO NOT use this to publish your entire wish. This Forum is for specific suggestions to enhance the usability of Cumulus MX for all users, NOT your personal requirements. Please check this forum and the rejected forum to make sure you are NOT posting a DUPLICATE suggestion. It will be heavily monitored by Admin and Mark Crossley to determine the feasibility and the difficulty of the suggestion. Those Topics that are deemed inadmissible will moved to the rejected Forum. The remaining Topics will be the Accepted list of future developments, and when our voluntary development group adds it to a build, the build number will be added to the Topic title.
Post Reply
stevendt
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat 23 May 2020 4:19 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vatnage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Windows 7/10

Initial Location Entry

Post by stevendt »

Apologies if I have missed being able to do this, but . . . .

Initial station setup requires Lat & Long in DMS. The default setup for Vantage Stations is decimal degrees. It would be helpful if the location could be entered in decimal as an option

regards
Dave

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2130
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Initial Location Entry

Post by PaulMy »

The Cumulus.ini files have both ways but not sure how each is used.

Enjoy,
Paul

ExperiMentor
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue 24 Nov 2015 11:30 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset & Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10; Raspbian Buster
Location: Switzerland

Re: Initial Location Entry

Post by ExperiMentor »

If you can’t convert it yourself, there are plenty websites such as https://www.fcc.gov/media/radio/dms-decimal

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Initial Location Entry

Post by mcrossley »

PaulMy wrote:
Sat 23 May 2020 9:57 pm
The Cumulus.ini files have both ways but not sure how each is use
The entries Latitude/Longitude are the decimal values of position. These are used by Cumulus for its calculations.

The entries LatTxt/LonTxt are text representations of the position, they are derived from the values above when they are entered from the config screen. They are only used for web page display.

stevendt
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat 23 May 2020 4:19 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vatnage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Windows 7/10

Re: Initial Location Entry

Post by stevendt »

"If you can’t convert it yourself, there are plenty websites . . . "

I could, and did, convert the coordinates myself.

It was a suggestion for Development as I think it reasonable that Cumulus accepts Lat & Long in the same format as the user enters at the Weatherstation

regards
Dave

Post Reply