Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.11.4 (build 3133) - 25 May 2021 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Current Conditions

Discussion of the Weather34 web site template

Moderators: saratogaWX, weatherist34

Post Reply
User avatar
The Dalek Hunter
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed 05 Aug 2020 11:51 am
Weather Station: Davis WLL & Ecowitt GW1000B
Operating System: Win 10 Micro PC and Rasp Pi
Contact:

Current Conditions

Post by The Dalek Hunter »

Hi

I have just set up my site. I have a Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus and a Davis WeatherLink Live

https://m0xgp.co.uk/cumulus

and I am having trouble with Current Conditions. I registered and got my CheckWX Metar API KEY but the Metar Station near to me - Holbeach - does not seem to give forecasts (TAF??)

I do not have a Dark Sky API key.

I noticed there was a PHP file called currentconditionsmetar34davis.php so I renamed this to currentconditionsmetar34.php and I now get current conditions I presume being read directly from my station. The only thing missing as you can see is "Average Temperature Last Hour"

Advice please
https://www.longsuttonweather.co.uk
https://www.longsuttonweather.co.uk/ecowitt/
Davis Vantage Pro 2 and WLL with CMX on a Windows 10 Micro PC
Ecowitt GW1000 with CMX on a Raspberry Pi 4b
Davis AirLink Live and Ecowitt WH57

freddie
Posts: 1324
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Current Conditions

Post by freddie »

The Dalek Hunter wrote:
Tue 17 Nov 2020 9:00 am
the Metar Station near to me - Holbeach - does not seem to give forecasts (TAF??)
Correct. Holbeach is an air weapons range not an airfield, so it doesn't have a TAF provided. It does have a range forecast (RAFOR) though, which is syntactically identical to a TAF.
Freddie
Image

User avatar
The Dalek Hunter
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed 05 Aug 2020 11:51 am
Weather Station: Davis WLL & Ecowitt GW1000B
Operating System: Win 10 Micro PC and Rasp Pi
Contact:

Re: Current Conditions

Post by The Dalek Hunter »

But if I choose Holbeach I get Current Conditions but nothing under hourly forecast - is this correct or can it be fixed?
https://www.longsuttonweather.co.uk
https://www.longsuttonweather.co.uk/ecowitt/
Davis Vantage Pro 2 and WLL with CMX on a Windows 10 Micro PC
Ecowitt GW1000 with CMX on a Raspberry Pi 4b
Davis AirLink Live and Ecowitt WH57

freddie
Posts: 1324
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Current Conditions

Post by freddie »

Yes, you will get current conditions. I don't know how the code works for retrieving forecasts but I would hazard a guess that it retrieves TAFs only, and not RAFORs. Perhaps you could choose a nearby location that supplies TAFs, such as Marham (EGYM) or Coningsby (EGXC)?
Freddie
Image

User avatar
The Dalek Hunter
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed 05 Aug 2020 11:51 am
Weather Station: Davis WLL & Ecowitt GW1000B
Operating System: Win 10 Micro PC and Rasp Pi
Contact:

Re: Current Conditions

Post by The Dalek Hunter »

Not sure what I have done now but whatever Metar Station Code I enter there is now no data under Current Conditions at all!!
I have even tried the Heathrow Airport Code!!
I am certain my Metar API key is correct

I will delete everything and start again!!
https://www.longsuttonweather.co.uk
https://www.longsuttonweather.co.uk/ecowitt/
Davis Vantage Pro 2 and WLL with CMX on a Windows 10 Micro PC
Ecowitt GW1000 with CMX on a Raspberry Pi 4b
Davis AirLink Live and Ecowitt WH57

Post Reply