Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.11.4 (build 3133) - 25 May 2021 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Interface access from the internet

Share your Cumulus MX user interface here

Moderator: mcrossley

Post Reply
mimo57
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed 18 Jan 2012 8:25 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage PRO2
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: France / Orny
Contact:

Interface access from the internet

Post by mimo57 »

Hello,
I try to access my interface from the internet, I have to redirect the incoming ports to that of the interface, but when I connect from the net, I only have the blank pages, no data is display.
Did I miss a configuration?
Thanks for the help.
PS: from my local network no worries.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2661
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Interface access from the internet

Post by PaulMy »

The CumulusMX interface is not intended to be an internet webpage, and should not be for security reasons. However there is a MX-UI template that appears quite similar without the setting and editing functions, and some optional extras - www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.php and available here viewtopic.php?p=138283#p138283

Enjoy,
Paul

ExperiMentor
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue 24 Nov 2015 11:30 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset & Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10; Raspbian Buster
Location: Switzerland

Re: Interface access from the internet

Post by ExperiMentor »

CumulusMX does not add any security, so you need to be sure your network itself is secure before doing this. And even then, anyone who has or finds your IP address would be able to adjust the settings as well as see the data. Your risk :shock:

But it should work, with no extra configuration.

One thing I found was that my router blocks recursive access to back to itself - that is, a device on my home network can access other devices on my home network by requesting the local IP address eg 192.168.1.123:8998, but is blocked from accessing other devices on my home network using the external IP address eg 44.55.66.77:8998 (or DNS or DDNS equivalent)

To see if that is the problem in your case, turn off WiFi on your phone, then try accessing your CumulusMX interface by requesting 44.55.66.77:8998 (or DNS or DDNS equivalent). If that works, it means the blank pages were visible from locally cached version stored earler.

Phil23
Posts: 643
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win10 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Interface access from the internet

Post by Phil23 »

A combination of related & off topic....

It's really surprising these days just how many people don't look past the junky routers their Internet Providers supply.

If you have any IP devices you'd like to access externally, get a 1/2 decent router that will give you a VPN Tunnel into your network.
Then everything is securely accessible remotely with a few simple apps.

Setup on the likes of phones & tablets these days is an absolute sinch.

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 2159
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: Interface access from the internet

Post by HansR »

To add some related/off topic.

To access LAN devices from a LAN device through a DDNS or similar - I think - requires bridge functionality (which is often not present in the access router provided by the provider).
VPN Tunnel is an extra complexity with (as you say) additional apps.

in short: accessing CMX through DDNS from outside is not a straight forward, configure and works always, simple task for everybody.
It requires some knowledge from routers, bridges, ports, DDNS etc... and some handyman to do it.

But yes, all true, it can be done.
Hans

https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl
Cumulus build 3132 ● Davis Vantage Pro 2+ ● RPi 3B+ ● Raspbian 5.10.17-v7+ ● Mono 5.18.0.240

Phil23
Posts: 643
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win10 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Interface access from the internet

Post by Phil23 »

HansR wrote:
Thu 20 Aug 2020 5:48 am

To access LAN devices from a LAN device through a DDNS or similar - I think - requires bridge functionality.
You may mean Port Forwarding. Basically mapping an external port to an internal IP.
Simple, but not real secure.
DDNS deals with the Dynamic IP issue.
But if you are behind CGnat, it simply won't work.
VPN Tunnel is an extra complexity...
In my choice of routers it's very simple to setup at both the router & client (phone etc) end.
Even CGNat/Double NATing is now handled by these routers.
Some ISP routers (IE Telstra in Aus) offer a VPN service & I've struggled for hours with them.
Eventually get them up, only to find they then fall over.
...with (as you say) additional apps.
For Web based devices or services like MX not apps are required. The mobile browser is all that is needed.

The apps I run are for other services.

A Telnet terminal, for devices needing an SSH connection.
An RDP client to log into my own & clients servers.
And a VNC client for remoting into desktops & the rPi GUI.

Probably the key point I have issues with is that a router is one of the most important devices on the network, yet users happily accept the "Free WiFi Modem" ISP's offer them without being aware of it's short comings, or the benefits that a decent router would give.

Cheers.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 8473
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Interface access from the internet

Post by mcrossley »

Another alternative if you run a NAS (or even a rPi etc), is to configure the VPN server on that and port forward the VPN port to your NAS/rPi/whatever.
But yes, any decent router will support a few different VPN options, and though I used to use my NAS I have switched to the VPN server on the router.

Post Reply