Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.5 (build 3081) - 28 May 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

no data upload via FTPS to web site

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by mcrossley »

raul_sbd wrote:
Sun 19 Jan 2020 4:50 pm
I got it working Mark... Tsohost has changed the folder structure.. instead /public_html now is set up at /home/raulsbdc/public_html uploading now fine with sftp..

Thanks for your help I hope this can help others that use Tsohost ;)
GREAT, thanks for this. :D
raul_sbd wrote:
Sun 19 Jan 2020 4:58 pm
What I would like is to change the interface in my site as I think it is a bit boring the default one.. ie get dark gauges.. another site wallpaper.. etc. Any idea how I can change/modify that on a easy way? Maybe also be able to add metro grams from a 3rd party sites.. or various things..

I know every time that an update of the build will come I will need to modify it again but ie I like a lot the lie out you have on your site Mark.

My site is Raulsbd.co.uk

Thanks in advance.. if anyone could give me some easy instructions on how to modify my interface will be very appreciated
Can you start a new thread for this please.

pkiener
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014 10:21 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage VUE
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by pkiener »

THANK YOU Mark and raul_sbd!!! Data is now being uploaded to my web site! I appreciate all your help!

Paul

water01
Posts: 1882
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by water01 »

Tsohost has changed the folder structure.. instead /public_html now is set up at /home/raulsbdc/public_html uploading now fine with sftp..
I thought I ought to just mention that Raul is not quite correct. TsoHosts have NOT changed their directory structure it is just that SFTP being an SSH based mechanism goes in at the root of the web site (which in TsoHosts case is /home/cPanel name/public_html), whereas FTPS goes in at the published web interface for FTP which is either /public_html or /public_ftp, whichever you want to access. I have now managed to configure both in FileZilla to access the websites but for Cumulus to upload I can only get SFTP to work, so there must be an incorrect configuration on TsoHosts part, which I am going to take up with them.
David
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by mcrossley »

Hi David, I couldn't get FileZilla or WinSCP to work using FTPS. Both would connect and authorise, but neither could get a directory listing or transfer data (that timed out opening the data port on the tsoHost server). What was I missing? Both clients work fine with other FTPS hosts.

water01
Posts: 1882
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by water01 »

Mark I got FileZilla to work by using "Require explicit FTP over TLS", using the IP address of my host in Host (TsoHosts advice), Normal login with my default FTP User and Password (in TsoHosts case that is the same as the Cpanel), setting the the default remote directory in the advanced tab, and last in Transfer Settings using Passive instead of Default.

I have tested it and it works transferring files.
David
Image

pkiener
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014 10:21 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage VUE
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by pkiener »

Mark,
I was able to get SFTP to work on FileZilla.

General tab:
Protocol: SFTP - SSH File Transfer Protocol
Host: 91.222.9.74
Logon Type: Key file
User: <my user login> (same as for cPanel)
Key file: <location of my private key, saved in file on my computer>

Advanced tab:
Default local directory: <file location for my web files on my computer>
Default remote directory: /home/<login id>/public_html/Cumulus

First time I ran this setup, I received a message stating something about security credentials (can't remember exactly). But I went ahead and accepted it nonetheless. Since then, no further popup windows and am able to log into my web site.

Hope this helps.
Paul

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by mcrossley »

Thanks Paul, but Cumulus currently does not support key file login. Using that method you have to either download the server public key first and make it available to your program, or accept it on first connect.

The two way file copy prior to connecting (exchanging public key files) is an added complication I'm not sure I want to endlessly hand hold users through at the moment. Some servers may require the client to generate their own key pair as well.

Post Reply