Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.5 (build 3081) - 28 May 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

no data upload via FTPS to web site

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

pkiener
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014 10:21 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage VUE
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by pkiener »

Mark,

Does FileZilla work with FTPS in...
1. Implicit mode? Yes
2. Explicit mode? NO
and
3. Data transfers encrypted? not sure how to find this
4. Data transfers un-encrypted? not sure how to find this

Paul

pkiener
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014 10:21 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage VUE
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by pkiener »

Mark,
SORRY....that should be:

Implicit mode: No
Explicit mode: Yes

Sorry.
Paul

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by mcrossley »

And did you try...?
With Cumulus stopped, edit Cumulus.ini, in the "FTP site" section, add the line...
DisableEPSV=1
I have another person with TsoHosting and for them it appears that although the server is reporting that it supports EPSV mode, it doesn't, it only seems to work in the older PASV mode.

pkiener
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014 10:21 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage VUE
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by pkiener »

Yes, I added the line "DisableEPSV=1". There was no change; I am not getting any uploads to the server.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by mcrossley »

I'm running out of ideas I can ask you to try (other than don't use tsoHost :lol: )

The only other thing I can think of is that they only encrypt the control channel and leave data transfers in plain text. But users cannot currently alter that in Cumulus, it encrypts everything.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by mcrossley »

Though apparently tsoHost support SFTP, enabled through cPanel.

I'd try that instead. It's faster than FTPS as well.

water01
Posts: 1882
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by water01 »

Though apparently tsoHost support SFTP, enabled through cPanel.
I have looked at the cPanel and cannot see an option to do this. Can you point me to where you read it?
David
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by mcrossley »

Hmm, I just saw a YouTube video..
https://youtu.be/dJegfwrNenM
And a discussion on overclockers that came up when I did a search...
https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/threa ... .18486124/

User avatar
raul_sbd
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed 16 Jan 2013 7:58 am
Weather Station: Davis Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Sale
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by raul_sbd »

Hello everyone,

Having the same issue that the OP. I am also with Tsohost.

After a chat with them yesterday they conclude that SFTP is accessible on port 22. I have been able to access my files going to their cPanel from my MAC.

Under FTP accounts - Configuration files select 'Configure FTP client'

Then it gives you the possibility to download the FTP/SFTP configuration files for FileZilla, CoreFtp (Windows) or Cyberduck (Mac)

After I downloaded Cyberduck and downloaded their configuration files I can see my FTP files on their servers.. See attachments..

But when trying in FileZilla or CoreFTP to connect always comes with a Fatal Error and is unable to connect...

Not sure what the solution will be on this one.. I hope you guys can help.

Thank you

Raul
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Weather Site Sale M33 (Uk)

http://raulsbd.co.uk/index.htm

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by mcrossley »

I cannot get FileZilla, WinSCP, or Cumulus to connect over FTPS to tsoHost, they all connect fine to other FTPS sites, so tsoHost must have some odd configuration.

If you can enable SFTP, have you tried CumulusMX uploads using that protocol?

User avatar
raul_sbd
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed 16 Jan 2013 7:58 am
Weather Station: Davis Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Sale
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by raul_sbd »

Hello Mark I just have tried on a win machine with FileZilla and to my surprise I can connect sftp using port 3784!! Can you test at your end?
My Weather Site Sale M33 (Uk)

http://raulsbd.co.uk/index.htm

User avatar
raul_sbd
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed 16 Jan 2013 7:58 am
Weather Station: Davis Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Sale
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by raul_sbd »

Update on this..

I just spoke again to Tsohost.. they have confirmed that it works with port 3784 and upload files to my sftp successfully

This is the conversation I had with them in case it helps;

I tested the connection using the following information:

SFTP Server: sftp://zurich.footholds.net
SFTP Username: raulsbdc
SFTP Password: ***********
SFTP Port: 3784

The connection works indeed with port 3784 because the server is configured to separate SFTP from SSH on port 22. I checked it and can confirm it. I don't think it is a problem to be honest.
And have uploaded successfully the following testfile to your domain root (public_html):
http://raulsbd.co.uk/TSO_Testfile.jpeg



You could also check the SFTP log below for more information:

Status: Connecting to zurich.footholds.net:3784...
Status: Connected to zurich.footholds.net
Status: Starting upload of C:\Users\hristo2868\Downloads\TSO_Testfile.jpeg
Status: File transfer successful, transferred 18,277 bytes in 1 second
Status: Retrieving directory listing of "/home/raulsbdc/public_html"...
Status: Listing directory /home/raulsbdc/public_html
Status: Directory listing of "/home/raulsbdc/public_html" successful


I have already tried changing the internet settings in cumulus mx to reflect he new port and chose the sftp (option 2) but still not uploading data or it shows 0kb.. so i am a bit confuse on why tshohost are able to upload data to my sftp but we cannot do it from cumulus mx..

Thanks gents
My Weather Site Sale M33 (Uk)

http://raulsbd.co.uk/index.htm

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6480
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by mcrossley »

Which SFTP client did you use to do the test upload?

User avatar
raul_sbd
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed 16 Jan 2013 7:58 am
Weather Station: Davis Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Sale
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by raul_sbd »

I got it working Mark... Tsohost has changed the folder structure.. instead /public_html now is set up at /home/raulsbdc/public_html uploading now fine with sftp..

Thanks for your help I hope this can help others that use Tsohost ;)
My Weather Site Sale M33 (Uk)

http://raulsbd.co.uk/index.htm

User avatar
raul_sbd
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed 16 Jan 2013 7:58 am
Weather Station: Davis Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Sale
Contact:

Re: no data upload via FTPS to web site

Post by raul_sbd »

What I would like is to change the interface in my site as I think it is a bit boring the default one.. ie get dark gauges.. another site wallpaper.. etc. Any idea how I can change/modify that on a easy way? Maybe also be able to add metro grams from a 3rd party sites.. or various things..

I know every time that an update of the build will come I will need to modify it again but ie I like a lot the lie out you have on your site Mark.

My site is Raulsbd.co.uk

Thanks in advance.. if anyone could give me some easy instructions on how to modify my interface will be very appreciated
My Weather Site Sale M33 (Uk)

http://raulsbd.co.uk/index.htm

Post Reply