Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.12 (build 3088) - 10 July 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items). Software

Old Cumulus vs new

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

water01
Posts: 1922
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Old Cumulus vs new

Post by water01 »

I don't think that the remote site is showing te complete path on your server.

Here is an example from mine and you can see the complete path on the remote server is /public_html/weather/

Image

That complete path is what should be in Directory and all the files needed for the web site should be in that directory.
David
Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2179
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Old Cumulus vs new

Post by PaulMy »

You have nothing in Directory which is the path to your website on your server as indicated by the path in Filezilla.

It is usually something like /public_html/ or /htdocs/
What you have in your Cumulus1 settings would be a good guide in settings for a new CumulusMX except to add the remote subfolder if that is what you wish to use.
In my case with GoDaddy cPanel hosting the Cumulus1 Directory is public_html/weather (without leading and trailing /slashes) and for my CumulusMX public_html/cumulusmx (again without slashes).

Enjoy,
Paul

nickjwhite
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu 11 Nov 2010 4:50 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 10 Pro
Location: Felixstowe UK
Contact:

Re: Old Cumulus vs new

Post by nickjwhite »

is this any better?
snap042.jpg
this is the entry in the ini file (password blanked out of course)
snap043.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2179
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Old Cumulus vs new

Post by PaulMy »

From that screen capture I would think you have manually created a public_html folder and that should not be the case. In some web hosts public_html is the prime folder where the host is held assigned by the web host, and can be accessed through a utility like FileZilla but should not be part of the website URL path.

I think back to basics...
Your working website URL is http://www.oldfelixstowe.co.uk/index.htm
Can you provide a screen capture of your FileZilla that shows the files structure for that working site?

Enjoy,
Paul

nickjwhite
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu 11 Nov 2010 4:50 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 10 Pro
Location: Felixstowe UK
Contact:

Re: Old Cumulus vs new

Post by nickjwhite »

this is the working (or was) site
snap044.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

water01
Posts: 1922
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Old Cumulus vs new

Post by water01 »

You need the weather directory as a subdirectory UNDER public_html with all the Cumulus MX files in there and then your URL will be http://www.oldfelixstowe.co.uk/weather/index.htm
David
Image

nickjwhite
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu 11 Nov 2010 4:50 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 10 Pro
Location: Felixstowe UK
Contact:

Re: Old Cumulus vs new

Post by nickjwhite »

okay I have done that. Do I now need to change anything in the Cumulus ini, or in the MX localhost settings?
snap045.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

nickjwhite
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu 11 Nov 2010 4:50 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 10 Pro
Location: Felixstowe UK
Contact:

Re: Old Cumulus vs new

Post by nickjwhite »

Well, I have done everything I know and everything which has been suggested, all to no avail.

Comments have dried up, so I have decided reluctantly to just continue with the old style Cumulus until such times it just stops and then it will be time to hang up my anemometer.

Thank you to all who have suggested fixes etc. It is much appreciated.

Post Reply