Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.2.4 build 3060 - 10 December 2019.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

    Moderator: mcrossley

    Post Reply
    harrym1byt
    Posts: 267
    Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
    Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
    Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
    Contact:

    Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by harrym1byt » Tue 12 Nov 2019 11:17 am

    I have had Cumulus MX running absolutely fine on my Raspberry pi, that is until recently when its web page began producing an error. Reboot the Rpi by power cycling, or via remote command - it resumes operation and I can access the pages for a few minutes to a few hours.

    I connect the Rpi to my LAN via 5GHz wifi. Even when I cannot access Cumulus and can still ping the Rpi and I can connect to the Rpi using VNC. Rpi is connected to my FO station by USB and the station itself works fine and continues to update, even when Cumulus is not accessible.

    The micro-SD card I'm using in the Rpi has plenty of unused memory. Has anyone come across this problem please?

    User avatar
    mcrossley
    Posts: 5807
    Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
    Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by mcrossley » Tue 12 Nov 2019 12:11 pm

    Do your MXdiags files show any issues?
    zip up the folder so we can take a look.

    harrym1byt
    Posts: 267
    Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
    Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
    Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by harrym1byt » Tue 12 Nov 2019 12:56 pm

    Though I can log into it with VNC, I have managed to muck up the screen resolution so as to make it unreadable at the moment, so I cannot even change it in VNC.

    I'm not familiar enough with SSH do sort it via that either.

    harrym1byt
    Posts: 267
    Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
    Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
    Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by harrym1byt » Tue 12 Nov 2019 3:57 pm

    That's odd...

    I have just checked http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstat ... D=ILEEDS62

    ..and despite not being able to load Cumulus's web page locally via my LAN, Cumulus is continuing to update wunderground..

    ExperiMentor
    Posts: 130
    Joined: Tue 24 Nov 2015 11:30 pm
    Weather Station: Fine Offset & Davis Vantage Vue
    Operating System: Windows 10; Raspbian Buster
    Location: Switzerland

    Re: Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by ExperiMentor » Tue 12 Nov 2019 8:32 pm

    I'm not quite sure why, but I'm worried you might have a corrupted or failing SD card.
    Make a backup while you can.

    harrym1byt
    Posts: 267
    Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
    Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
    Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by harrym1byt » Wed 13 Nov 2019 1:38 pm

    I am thinking maybe the same, but its odd how despite Cumulus's webpage failing - Cumulus is obviously still running on the Rpi and it is able to continue to update Wunderground.

    I am looking to pull the microSD out anyway, to try to sort out the mess I have made of the screen resolution - its completely unusable at the moment with VNC.

    ExperiMentor
    Posts: 130
    Joined: Tue 24 Nov 2015 11:30 pm
    Weather Station: Fine Offset & Davis Vantage Vue
    Operating System: Windows 10; Raspbian Buster
    Location: Switzerland

    Re: Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by ExperiMentor » Wed 13 Nov 2019 10:51 pm

    Learn to use a little SSH (via PuTTY) when you do. It's exactly the same as the BASH command line but done from the comfort of your PC (and you can Copy/Paste instead of re-typing things). My thread viewtopic.php?f=27&t=16931 goes through complete RPi setup using SSH.

    You web interface not working is likely just one or more of the template pages having become corrupted. The question is how that happened as nothing should be writing to them. You could just correct them, but I'm worried about the underlying cause. Similar corruption in a program file would likely cause a program or even system crash.

    I once had an SD card that worked fine until the Pi was rebooted. Then everything that has supposedly been written to the card, actually had not been written (must have been held in a RAM buffer??). That was bu**er to diagnose!

    harrym1byt
    Posts: 267
    Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
    Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
    Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by harrym1byt » Tue 19 Nov 2019 3:21 pm

    I have just spent a few days on this, but now I'm stumped and looking for help please....

    Win10 was complaining there was a problem with the SD card, so I copied everything off it as best I could, tried to get Win10 to fix it, but I got in a mess writing the code back.

    Then Win32diskimage stopped working at all, it would not even load itself at all. Tried deleting it, redownloading and installing - nothing. It would load up if I removed the microSDcard, but one reinserted it would not see the card.

    I then tried used Etcher to write Dazza's image from last year onto another card and that worked.

    Plugged the Pi into my wired LAN it seemed to boot up, I found it on my LAN at 220, then tried to log in via SSH. It asked for a password so I tried various guesses at my usual passwords for such things, also tried raspberry and pi. nothing that I tried worked.. Should it have gone back to a default password, or the password I set up?

    C:\Users\Harry>ssh 10.131.97.220
    harry@10.131.97.220's password:
    Permission denied, please try again.
    harry@10.131.97.220: Permission denied (publickey,password).

    I also tried to log in with VNC, but that was completely rejected with a 'connection refused'.

    freddie
    Posts: 521
    Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
    Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
    Location: Dorrington, Shropshire
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by freddie » Tue 19 Nov 2019 5:22 pm

    harrym1byt wrote:
    Tue 19 Nov 2019 3:21 pm
    C:\Users\Harry>ssh 10.131.97.220
    harry@10.131.97.220's password:
    Permission denied, please try again.
    harry@10.131.97.220: Permission denied (publickey,password).
    Have a try typing in this:

    Code: Select all

    ssh pi@10.131.97.220
    You were trying to log in to your pi as user "harry" which won't work unless you have a user "harry" on your Pi. You will still get asked for a password but the default one (I believe it is "pi") will work.
    Freddie
    Image

    harrym1byt
    Posts: 267
    Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
    Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
    Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by harrym1byt » Thu 28 Nov 2019 10:18 pm

    Hi,

    No progress as yet, because got it into a bit of a mess...

    I managed to damage the rather fragile power socket of the Rpi, I tried to replace it with a new socket, but it is too fine soldering work for me, so I decided to feed power in via the header pin 2 and 6 - that was today's fix.

    Next my weather station decided to refuse to transmit, I have not got to investigating that issue yet its far too wet out there.

    I set up gazza's(?) software on a fresh memory card, but it claimed there was no wifi interface on the card.

    Just putting a blank card in the Rpi it installs the latest OS and the wifi works fine with that.

    ExperiMentor
    Posts: 130
    Joined: Tue 24 Nov 2015 11:30 pm
    Weather Station: Fine Offset & Davis Vantage Vue
    Operating System: Windows 10; Raspbian Buster
    Location: Switzerland

    Re: Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by ExperiMentor » Fri 29 Nov 2019 12:42 am

    Need to take this slow and steady - I fear you're getting confused.

    A blank SD card in a Raspberry Pi will do absolutely nothing. So I think you mean a newly created card - but what did you put on it?

    The default username is pi
    and default password is raspberry
    Not the other way round!

    Windows will ALWAYS report an error if you a raspberry Pi SD card in. The Pi creates two partitons (sections) on the card. There is a small one that Windows can read and write, and a large one that Linux (Raspbian) uses, but Widows reports that one as faulty. If you let Windows try to "fix" it, it will be destroyed. Your data will have been deleted. You will then need to use SDCard Formatter and start again with a new Raspbian image.

    If you want to learn a bit about how your Pi works, try following the instructions I linked above.
    If you just want to start without learning, Andreas has added some downloadable card images that you can install in the same way as (but instead of) the official empty Raspbian card images.

    harrym1byt
    Posts: 267
    Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 5:22 pm
    Weather Station: WH 1081 (EasyWeather type)
    Location: Garforth, W. Yorks, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Cumulus MX stopping on Rpi ?

    Post by harrym1byt » Fri 29 Nov 2019 10:34 am

    I know I'm getting very confused by it all, it seems the hardware is conspiring against me :-)


    Have you a link to these please? - 'Andreas has added some downloadable card images...'

    Post Reply