Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.4.0 (build 3064) - 19 February 2020.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    WINDY

    Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

    Moderator: mcrossley

    Post Reply
    courtil
    Posts: 109
    Joined: Thu 16 Jan 2014 1:31 pm
    Weather Station: Vantage PRO2
    Operating System: Windows 10 Professionnal
    Location: France
    Contact:

    WINDY

    Post by courtil » Sat 04 May 2019 8:52 am

    Hello everyone,
     I installed the latest version of CumulusMX # 3050
    No problem.
    The WINDY API is not recognized
    Here is the excerpt from my INI.
    ****************
    [Windy]
    APIkey = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx key as shown.
    StationIdx = 0
    Enabled = 1
    Interval = 15
    SendUV = 0
    1 = catchup
    **************************************************
    here is the excerpt from MXdiag
    2019-05-04 07: 45: 00.921 Windy URL: https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/< ... ndspeedmph = 1.0 = 6.0 & windgustmph & tempf = 40.2 & rainin = 0.00 & baromin = 29.900 = 38.9 & dewptf & humidity = 95
    2019-05-04 07: 45: 00.921 http://data.awekas.at/eingabe_pruefung. ... .4;3.6;1.6; 330 in ;;;;; 1; 9.7 ;;;;;; 0.0; Cum_3.0.0 ;;; 4.3; 6.3; 9.4; 4.3 ;; 15.6; -5.9 ;; 25.5; 95 ;; 98; 70 ;; 100 ; 29 ;; 100; ;; 1010.9 1012.5; 1010.9 ;; 1021.5; 1041.9 983.6 ;; ;;; ;;; 12.9 12.9 25.7 ;;; ;;; ;;; 25.7 25.7 69.2 ;;; ;;;; 3.6; 4.2; 216.6 ;; 2.0 ;; 2.0 ;; 38.6 ;; 0.0 0.0 ;;;;; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    2019-05-04 07: 45: 00.936 http://www.pwsweather.com/pwsupdate/pws ... 04+05%3A45% 3A00 & WindDir = 330 & windspeedmph = 1.0 & windgustmph = 6.0 & humidity = 95 & tempf = 40.2 & rainin = 0.00 = 0.14 & dailyrainin & baromin = 29900 & dewptf = 38.9 & softwaretype Cumulus% = & action = 20v3.0.0 updateraw
    2019-05-04 07: 45: 00.936 http://wow.metoffice.gov.uk/automaticre ... dspeedmph= 1.0 & windgustmph = 6.0 & humidity = 95 & tempf = 40.2 & rainin = 0.00 = 0.14 & dailyrainin & baromin = 29900 & dewptf = 38.9 & softwaretype Cumulus% = & action = 20v3.0.0 updateraw
    2019-05-04 07: 45: 01.061 Awekas Response: OK: OK

    2019-05-04 07: 45: 01.108 Windy Response: BadRequest: Invalid API key
    *****************************************
    What do you think of this problem?
    Thank you for your information.
    cordially
    Michel says Courtil
    OS : Windows 10 Professionnal
    Station Météo : Vantage PRO2
    Cumulus version 3.00 b 3050
    http://lecourtilauxepines.eu/index.php
    https://lecourtilauxepines.pagesperso-orange.fr/

    User avatar
    PaulMy
    Posts: 2046
    Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
    Operating System: Windows-8
    Location: Komoka, ON Canada
    Contact:

    Re: WINDY

    Post by PaulMy » Sat 04 May 2019 1:35 pm

    Looks like you got a bad API or have it entered incorrectly in CumulusMX settings.

    Double check your assigned API from Windy. Make sure there are no spaces or extra characters before or after the veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeery loooong API key.

    Do you have a Windy ID assigned like f0bea43a and then enter (using your assigned ID) https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f06ea ... i:pressure

    Do you upload to CWOP, and if so does that show up on the map for your area?

    Enjoy,
    Paul

    courtil
    Posts: 109
    Joined: Thu 16 Jan 2014 1:31 pm
    Weather Station: Vantage PRO2
    Operating System: Windows 10 Professionnal
    Location: France
    Contact:

    Re: WINDY

    Post by courtil » Sun 05 May 2019 11:25 am

    Hello Paul,

    Thank you for your information.


    It still does not work here.

    always the same answer:

    Windy Response: BadRequest: Invalid API key

    I changed the API
    I checked the exact positioning in the CUMULUS.ini

    [Windy]
    Apikey = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    StationIdx = 0
    Enabled = 1
    Interval = 5
    SendUV = 0
    1 = catchup

    What do I mean: StationIdx = 0
    should I replace the 0 with a datum?

    My town is well displayed on the map of WINDY.

    Thank you for your reply

    cordially

    Michel
    OS : Windows 10 Professionnal
    Station Météo : Vantage PRO2
    Cumulus version 3.00 b 3050
    http://lecourtilauxepines.eu/index.php
    https://lecourtilauxepines.pagesperso-orange.fr/

    User avatar
    PaulMy
    Posts: 2046
    Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
    Operating System: Windows-8
    Location: Komoka, ON Canada
    Contact:

    Re: WINDY

    Post by PaulMy » Sun 05 May 2019 1:51 pm

    Hi Michel,
    The StationIdx= should be 0 unless you are uploading more than 1 station to Windy.

    From my Cumulus.ini (APIKey changed a bit for security)
    [Windy]
    APIkey=eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiIsInR5cCI6IkpXVCJ9.eyJj139aSI6MTA3Njg0NSwiaWF0IjoxNTU1Mzc1NzEwfQ.2SpLj7eQWPScakDUc3hJAX8A1wV62WIss-nC25iDjE4
    StationIdx=0
    Enabled=1
    Interval=5
    SendUV=1
    CatchUp=1
    I presume for your APIkey = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx key as shown. your key is shown instead of the xxxxx...

    Have you tried putting it directly in your CumulusMX Internet Settings Custom HTTP call like:
    https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/your api here?winddir=<#avgbearing>&windspeedmph=<#wspeed>&windgustmph=<#wgust>&tempf=<#temp>&rainin=<#rhour>&baromin=<#press>&dewptf=<#dew>&humidity=<#hum>&uv=<#UV>
    and replace "your api here" with your actual Windy api key?

    Enjoy,
    Paul

    courtil
    Posts: 109
    Joined: Thu 16 Jan 2014 1:31 pm
    Weather Station: Vantage PRO2
    Operating System: Windows 10 Professionnal
    Location: France
    Contact:

    Re: WINDY

    Post by courtil » Sun 05 May 2019 3:19 pm

    re,
    always invalid API even by throwing the command line.

    I guess my method of requesting the API is not good?

    How to do ?
    I login login + password, I get this page:

    https://api4.windy.com/api-key/

    my data is present:
    E-Mail + API + URL of my station
    I do not receive anything in return by mail?

    Is the method good ???
    cordially
    Michel
    OS : Windows 10 Professionnal
    Station Météo : Vantage PRO2
    Cumulus version 3.00 b 3050
    http://lecourtilauxepines.eu/index.php
    https://lecourtilauxepines.pagesperso-orange.fr/

    User avatar
    mcrossley
    Posts: 5997
    Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
    Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    Contact:

    Re: WINDY

    Post by mcrossley » Sun 05 May 2019 3:55 pm

    You have applied for a Windy *download* API key. What you need is an *station upload* API key. The link is in the first post of the thread on Windy about stations uploads.

    https://community.windy.com/topic/8168/ ... a-to-windy

    courtil
    Posts: 109
    Joined: Thu 16 Jan 2014 1:31 pm
    Weather Station: Vantage PRO2
    Operating System: Windows 10 Professionnal
    Location: France
    Contact:

    Re: WINDY

    Post by courtil » Sun 05 May 2019 4:59 pm

    Hello,

    Thank you both for putting me on track to set up WINDY.

    It's now done.
    here is my url

    https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f06e4 ... i:pressure

    It is a very valuable tool to help me in my local forecasts

    Thanks again

    cordially

    Michel
    OS : Windows 10 Professionnal
    Station Météo : Vantage PRO2
    Cumulus version 3.00 b 3050
    http://lecourtilauxepines.eu/index.php
    https://lecourtilauxepines.pagesperso-orange.fr/

    stlblufan
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Thu 13 Feb 2020 5:16 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
    Operating System: Windows 10

    Re: WINDY

    Post by stlblufan » Thu 13 Feb 2020 6:04 pm

    I am unable to get CumulusMX to report my information to Windy for some reason. I've put the API into the CumulusMX interface, and the dashboard is showing information, but nothing on Windy....any ideas?

    Thank you.

    User avatar
    PaulMy
    Posts: 2046
    Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
    Operating System: Windows-8
    Location: Komoka, ON Canada
    Contact:

    Re: WINDY

    Post by PaulMy » Thu 13 Feb 2020 10:26 pm

    Presuming you have the CumulusMX Internet settings entered correctly for Windy.com, what is in the MXdiags related to Windy updates?

    Enjoy,
    Paul

    stlblufan
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Thu 13 Feb 2020 5:16 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
    Operating System: Windows 10

    Re: WINDY

    Post by stlblufan » Fri 14 Feb 2020 2:20 pm

    Hi Paul,

    Everything was showing up fine (Windy Ok: Success). It actually started working overnight. Not sure what the delay was. Thank you!

    Post Reply