Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.6 (build 3082) - 1 June 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

WINDY

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

Post Reply
courtil
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu 16 Jan 2014 1:31 pm
Weather Station: Vantage PRO2
Operating System: Windows 10 Professionnal
Location: France
Contact:

WINDY

Post by courtil »

Hello everyone,
 I installed the latest version of CumulusMX # 3050
No problem.
The WINDY API is not recognized
Here is the excerpt from my INI.
****************
[Windy]
APIkey = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx key as shown.
StationIdx = 0
Enabled = 1
Interval = 15
SendUV = 0
1 = catchup
**************************************************
here is the excerpt from MXdiag
2019-05-04 07: 45: 00.921 Windy URL: https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/< ... ndspeedmph = 1.0 = 6.0 & windgustmph & tempf = 40.2 & rainin = 0.00 & baromin = 29.900 = 38.9 & dewptf & humidity = 95
2019-05-04 07: 45: 00.921 http://data.awekas.at/eingabe_pruefung. ... .4;3.6;1.6; 330 in ;;;;; 1; 9.7 ;;;;;; 0.0; Cum_3.0.0 ;;; 4.3; 6.3; 9.4; 4.3 ;; 15.6; -5.9 ;; 25.5; 95 ;; 98; 70 ;; 100 ; 29 ;; 100; ;; 1010.9 1012.5; 1010.9 ;; 1021.5; 1041.9 983.6 ;; ;;; ;;; 12.9 12.9 25.7 ;;; ;;; ;;; 25.7 25.7 69.2 ;;; ;;;; 3.6; 4.2; 216.6 ;; 2.0 ;; 2.0 ;; 38.6 ;; 0.0 0.0 ;;;;; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
2019-05-04 07: 45: 00.936 http://www.pwsweather.com/pwsupdate/pws ... 04+05%3A45% 3A00 & WindDir = 330 & windspeedmph = 1.0 & windgustmph = 6.0 & humidity = 95 & tempf = 40.2 & rainin = 0.00 = 0.14 & dailyrainin & baromin = 29900 & dewptf = 38.9 & softwaretype Cumulus% = & action = 20v3.0.0 updateraw
2019-05-04 07: 45: 00.936 http://wow.metoffice.gov.uk/automaticre ... dspeedmph= 1.0 & windgustmph = 6.0 & humidity = 95 & tempf = 40.2 & rainin = 0.00 = 0.14 & dailyrainin & baromin = 29900 & dewptf = 38.9 & softwaretype Cumulus% = & action = 20v3.0.0 updateraw
2019-05-04 07: 45: 01.061 Awekas Response: OK: OK

2019-05-04 07: 45: 01.108 Windy Response: BadRequest: Invalid API key
*****************************************
What do you think of this problem?
Thank you for your information.
cordially
Michel says Courtil
OS : Windows 10 Professionnal
Station Météo : Vantage PRO2
Cumulus v3.5.4 b (3075)
https://lecourtilauxepines.eu/index.php
https://lecourtilauxepines.pagesperso-orange.fr/

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: WINDY

Post by PaulMy »

Looks like you got a bad API or have it entered incorrectly in CumulusMX settings.

Double check your assigned API from Windy. Make sure there are no spaces or extra characters before or after the veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeery loooong API key.

Do you have a Windy ID assigned like f0bea43a and then enter (using your assigned ID) https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f06ea ... i:pressure

Do you upload to CWOP, and if so does that show up on the map for your area?

Enjoy,
Paul

courtil
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu 16 Jan 2014 1:31 pm
Weather Station: Vantage PRO2
Operating System: Windows 10 Professionnal
Location: France
Contact:

Re: WINDY

Post by courtil »

Hello Paul,

Thank you for your information.


It still does not work here.

always the same answer:

Windy Response: BadRequest: Invalid API key

I changed the API
I checked the exact positioning in the CUMULUS.ini

[Windy]
Apikey = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
StationIdx = 0
Enabled = 1
Interval = 5
SendUV = 0
1 = catchup

What do I mean: StationIdx = 0
should I replace the 0 with a datum?

My town is well displayed on the map of WINDY.

Thank you for your reply

cordially

Michel
OS : Windows 10 Professionnal
Station Météo : Vantage PRO2
Cumulus v3.5.4 b (3075)
https://lecourtilauxepines.eu/index.php
https://lecourtilauxepines.pagesperso-orange.fr/

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: WINDY

Post by PaulMy »

Hi Michel,
The StationIdx= should be 0 unless you are uploading more than 1 station to Windy.

From my Cumulus.ini (APIKey changed a bit for security)
[Windy]
APIkey=eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiIsInR5cCI6IkpXVCJ9.eyJj139aSI6MTA3Njg0NSwiaWF0IjoxNTU1Mzc1NzEwfQ.2SpLj7eQWPScakDUc3hJAX8A1wV62WIss-nC25iDjE4
StationIdx=0
Enabled=1
Interval=5
SendUV=1
CatchUp=1
I presume for your APIkey = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx key as shown. your key is shown instead of the xxxxx...

Have you tried putting it directly in your CumulusMX Internet Settings Custom HTTP call like:
https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/your api here?winddir=<#avgbearing>&windspeedmph=<#wspeed>&windgustmph=<#wgust>&tempf=<#temp>&rainin=<#rhour>&baromin=<#press>&dewptf=<#dew>&humidity=<#hum>&uv=<#UV>
and replace "your api here" with your actual Windy api key?

Enjoy,
Paul

courtil
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu 16 Jan 2014 1:31 pm
Weather Station: Vantage PRO2
Operating System: Windows 10 Professionnal
Location: France
Contact:

Re: WINDY

Post by courtil »

re,
always invalid API even by throwing the command line.

I guess my method of requesting the API is not good?

How to do ?
I login login + password, I get this page:

https://api4.windy.com/api-key/

my data is present:
E-Mail + API + URL of my station
I do not receive anything in return by mail?

Is the method good ???
cordially
Michel
OS : Windows 10 Professionnal
Station Météo : Vantage PRO2
Cumulus v3.5.4 b (3075)
https://lecourtilauxepines.eu/index.php
https://lecourtilauxepines.pagesperso-orange.fr/

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6483
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: WINDY

Post by mcrossley »

You have applied for a Windy *download* API key. What you need is an *station upload* API key. The link is in the first post of the thread on Windy about stations uploads.

https://community.windy.com/topic/8168/ ... a-to-windy

courtil
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu 16 Jan 2014 1:31 pm
Weather Station: Vantage PRO2
Operating System: Windows 10 Professionnal
Location: France
Contact:

Re: WINDY

Post by courtil »

Hello,

Thank you both for putting me on track to set up WINDY.

It's now done.
here is my url

https://www.windy.com/station/pws-f06e4 ... i:pressure

It is a very valuable tool to help me in my local forecasts

Thanks again

cordially

Michel
OS : Windows 10 Professionnal
Station Météo : Vantage PRO2
Cumulus v3.5.4 b (3075)
https://lecourtilauxepines.eu/index.php
https://lecourtilauxepines.pagesperso-orange.fr/

stlblufan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 13 Feb 2020 5:16 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: WINDY

Post by stlblufan »

I am unable to get CumulusMX to report my information to Windy for some reason. I've put the API into the CumulusMX interface, and the dashboard is showing information, but nothing on Windy....any ideas?

Thank you.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: WINDY

Post by PaulMy »

Presuming you have the CumulusMX Internet settings entered correctly for Windy.com, what is in the MXdiags related to Windy updates?

Enjoy,
Paul

stlblufan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 13 Feb 2020 5:16 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: WINDY

Post by stlblufan »

Hi Paul,

Everything was showing up fine (Windy Ok: Success). It actually started working overnight. Not sure what the delay was. Thank you!

Post Reply