Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.0 build 3050 - 1 May 2019.
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

See the Wiki for downloading either version.

CuMX on RPi3 not updating website

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

Moderator: mcrossley

Chapel
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon 30 Jul 2018 10:23 am
Weather Station: Instromet
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Binbrook UK
Contact:

Re: CuMX on RPi3 not updating website

Post by Chapel » Sat 27 Apr 2019 10:42 am

I thought that was the log from WU as opposed to direct from my machine to the website? If that is the case the lack of logging was because I had the wrong pass for WU. I say this because the Wind run did update, this image is just before I downed it in favour of the Win10 box.

Is the ftp logging via CuMX or on the Raspbian OS?
Rpi image.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5518
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: CuMX on RPi3 not updating website

Post by mcrossley » Sat 27 Apr 2019 10:52 am

OK, yes that dashboard does get its data from WU, so the wrong WU password would prevent it updating!
FTP logging would not trace WU updates, the responses for those are logged in the normal diags file.

Chapel
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon 30 Jul 2018 10:23 am
Weather Station: Instromet
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Binbrook UK
Contact:

Re: CuMX on RPi3 not updating website

Post by Chapel » Sat 27 Apr 2019 11:01 am

Hmm... I just realised I had the ftp update set to 1 second which is probably not ideal, I have set it to 60 seconds and enabled all logging and will leave it for a few minutes and see how it looks.

Where are the ftp log files stored?

Chapel
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon 30 Jul 2018 10:23 am
Weather Station: Instromet
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Binbrook UK
Contact:

Re: CuMX on RPi3 not updating website

Post by Chapel » Sat 27 Apr 2019 11:08 am

The MXDiag still shows time outs on ftp even with the 60 second interval:

2019-04-27 12:05:41.743 Response from station: 'rdlv,8.1,8.5,,992.8,3.0,226,107.99,2.33,86'
2019-04-27 12:05:41.745 Sending: RDST,14
2019-04-27 12:05:41.753 Discarding input: RDST,14
2019-04-27 12:05:42.254 Reading response from station, attempt 1
2019-04-27 12:05:42.254 Response from station: 'rdst,14,21019,92'
2019-04-27 12:05:42.985 Error uploading realtime.txt to realtime.txt : Timed out trying to connect!
2019-04-27 12:05:44.255 Sending: RDLV
2019-04-27 12:05:44.278 Discarding input: RDLV
2019-04-27 12:05:44.779 Reading response from station, attempt 1
2019-04-27 12:05:44.780 Response from station: 'rdlv,8.0,8.5,,992.8,4.9,241,107.99,2.33,80'
2019-04-27 12:05:44.780 Sending: RDST,14

Chapel
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon 30 Jul 2018 10:23 am
Weather Station: Instromet
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Binbrook UK
Contact:

Re: CuMX on RPi3 not updating website

Post by Chapel » Sat 27 Apr 2019 12:09 pm

..and the ftplog.txt I cannot see it even trying to connect based on my webserver IP or name 213.175.209.189

ftp.log.txt
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

freddie
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
Location: Dorrington, Shropshire
Contact:

Re: CuMX on RPi3 not updating website

Post by freddie » Sat 27 Apr 2019 1:25 pm

It is connecting to something:

Code: Select all

Status:   Connecting to 92.242.132.15:21
Status:   Disposing FtpSocketStream...
The transfer doesn't appear to happen every time, though.

What are your FTP host details in Cumulus.ini?
Freddie
Image

Chapel
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon 30 Jul 2018 10:23 am
Weather Station: Instromet
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Binbrook UK
Contact:

Re: CuMX on RPi3 not updating website

Post by Chapel » Sat 27 Apr 2019 2:27 pm

Well thank you for that freddie, I just compared the cumulus.ini files between boxes; user/pass were correct however I was using an IP for the ftp on the Win10 and server.name on the RPi box and I had a typo in it, so I changed it to IP for the RPi, restarted CumulusMX and it is updating temperature and wind run etc. I will leave it running again and see how it looks in an hour or so.

Thank you again all for your help with this.

Post Reply