Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.0 build 3047 - 03 February 2019. See the Wiki for download

Cumulus MX install

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

Moderator: mcrossley

Worf
Weather Station: N96GY
Operating System: Windows 8.1

Cumulus MX install

Post by Worf » Tue 05 Feb 2019 10:03 pm

Please bear with me as a non techy pensioneer!
I have been running Cumulus 1 for many years on my pc (currently [url]nttp://www.aberdaronweather.co.uk[/url] ) but realise that this format is now not "responsive"
I take it that that is why Cumulus MX has been developed.
I have found the download and installation instructions viewtopic.php?f=27&t=12908
Do the installation instructions dated 2015 still apply, or is there a newer version?
Would it be easier for the likes of me to start with a completely new installation in case I lose everything trying to migrate my current data.? (or would I be better to leave well enough alone at my age :roll: )

mcrossley
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi

Re: Cumulus MX install

Post by mcrossley » Tue 05 Feb 2019 11:28 pm

There is no compelling reason to migrate to MX, Cumulus 1 should carry on chugging away for the foreseeable future. The drop down lists for some items in C1 only go up to 2020, though that will not prevent anything working. If however there is some Windows type update that breaks things in teh future, then we are not going be able to fix C1 and you would be forced to migrate.