Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.3.0 (build 3063) - 10 January 2020.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Getting started with CumulusMX on Windows 10

    Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

    Moderator: mcrossley

    Post Reply
    caerhays
    Posts: 22
    Joined: Tue 15 Jan 2019 11:04 am
    Weather Station: Watson W8681
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home

    Getting started with CumulusMX on Windows 10

    Post by caerhays » Tue 15 Jan 2019 11:26 am

    I am a newbie to using a weather station so bear with me. I have a Watson W8681 weather station and am using the Easyweather software that comes with it. I would like to try CumulusMX to see if it is better. I have downloaded the zip file and extracted the directory into the C:/ drive . There does not appear to be an installation file so I click on the Cumulus.exe file and it opens up a command line window and just sits there with these lines:

    Current culture: English (United Kingdom)
    Serial: CCBF020DFCD9EA42BBD6488FC36B3965
    Cumulus MX v.3.0.0 build 3046
    Station type not set
    Cumulus running at: http://*:8998/
    (Replace * with any IP address on this machine, or localhost)
    15/01/2019 11:18:15
    Type Ctrl-C to terminate

    I am not a newbie to computers but I haven't a clue where to go from here. I was expecting a user interface to open up. Do I have to edit a file somewhere. Can anyone help me to progress please. Thank you in anticipation !

    User avatar
    mcrossley
    Posts: 5987
    Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
    Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Getting started with CumulusMX on Windows 10

    Post by mcrossley » Tue 15 Jan 2019 11:54 am

    Cumulus MX does not have a user interface in the application, as you have seen it is just a command line application - this allows it to run on other platforms such as Linux and Mac OS.

    The hint is in the text displayed...

    Code: Select all

    Cumulus running at: http://*:8998/
    (Replace * with any IP address on this machine, or localhost)
    Open a browser on the same box as Cumulus is running and type in the URL: http://localhost:8998/

    You should then get the management interface displayed.

    caerhays
    Posts: 22
    Joined: Tue 15 Jan 2019 11:04 am
    Weather Station: Watson W8681
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home

    Re: Getting started with CumulusMX on Windows 10

    Post by caerhays » Tue 15 Jan 2019 4:47 pm

    Thanks Mark. I have the Cumulus Dashboard now I see how it works. However I can't figure how to get the data into the PC from my weather station module. The only means of connection is by USB cable. With Easyweather it just uploads with no interaction after its connected. I'm obviously missing something. I have to say i'm very impressed by what I see so far. Are you able to suggest what I need to do.

    Many thanks, Phil

    User avatar
    PaulMy
    Posts: 2043
    Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
    Operating System: Windows-8
    Location: Komoka, ON Canada
    Contact:

    Re: Getting started with CumulusMX on Windows 10

    Post by PaulMy » Tue 15 Jan 2019 4:57 pm

    Hi Phil,
    I can't help with the Watson and you may already have checked this but just to be sure -
    Use the "Fine Offset (WH1080)" setting in Cumulus for these:

    W8681 (NOT the Watson W-8681-Pro and Pro II)
    as I understand the Pro version is not supported by Cumulus.

    Enjoy,
    Paul

    caerhays
    Posts: 22
    Joined: Tue 15 Jan 2019 11:04 am
    Weather Station: Watson W8681
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home

    Re: Getting started with CumulusMX on Windows 10

    Post by caerhays » Tue 15 Jan 2019 6:44 pm

    Hi Paul,

    I've ensured it is set for Fine Offset but it makes no difference. My station is the Watson W-8681 Mk 11, no mention of Pro anywhere.

    I don't see anywhere in Cumulus to start the import of data ?.

    So i'm stumped without further assistance.

    Regards, Phil

    User avatar
    mcrossley
    Posts: 5987
    Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
    Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Getting started with CumulusMX on Windows 10

    Post by mcrossley » Tue 15 Jan 2019 6:55 pm

    If it is the W8681 with USB connection it should work I think.

    After setting the station type you have to restart Cumulus MX, did you do that?

    It should come up with a message "Looking for Fine Offset station, VendorID=0x....."
    Followed by "Fine Offset station found"

    Oh, and you must stop EasyWeather first if that is running.

    caerhays
    Posts: 22
    Joined: Tue 15 Jan 2019 11:04 am
    Weather Station: Watson W8681
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home

    Re: Getting started with CumulusMX on Windows 10

    Post by caerhays » Tue 15 Jan 2019 7:08 pm

    Hi all. As you were. I changed the station type to Fine Offset but for some reason it hadn't held the setting. So did it again , saved it and then quit and restarted with the USB connected to my station and it has drawn data in and presented it.

    So thanks to everyone i'm all set now to spend a bit of time getting to know Cumulus.

    Kind regards, Phil

    bnwrx
    Posts: 459
    Joined: Wed 25 Feb 2009 12:01 am
    Weather Station: Ambient WS2095 (Fine/Offset)
    Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
    Location: Woodland Park, Colorado USA
    Contact:

    Re: Getting started with CumulusMX on Windows 10

    Post by bnwrx » Thu 17 Jan 2019 10:33 am

    I also tried setting up MX, and was stymied at the same point as the OP.....The 2nd post here by mcrossley would have helped...I did not find that in the install instructions....I might try again with this new knowledge, but I've been using Cumulus 1 for a very long time and don't know if changing to MX has any benefit for me....

    freddie
    Posts: 529
    Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
    Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
    Location: Dorrington, Shropshire
    Contact:

    Re: Getting started with CumulusMX on Windows 10

    Post by freddie » Thu 17 Jan 2019 6:07 pm

    This post is one of the "sticky" posts at the top of this subforum. It may help to read it.
    Freddie
    Image

    Post Reply