Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See the Wiki for download

Can CumulusMX catchup

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
Post Reply
avvy65
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:52 pm
Weather Station: Davies Vantage Vue
Operating System: Linux Ubuntu

Can CumulusMX catchup

Post by avvy65 » Mon Aug 13, 2018 3:30 pm

If CumulusMX wasn't running for any lenght of time, say hours or even a day or two, when CumulusMX is running again, can it collect the data for the time it wasn't running. I have a Davies Vantage Vue station and it has a data logger

Also does CumulusMX keep data for days or weeks gone by. For example if I wasn't at home for a week, would CumulusMX have all the readings for the past week or so.

Thanks

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.5 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Can CumulusMX catchup

Post by ConligWX » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:20 pm

It will collect data for itself but not back date to WU or other online weather sites
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS Templates

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26713
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Can CumulusMX catchup

Post by steve » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:27 pm

Toxic17 wrote:but not back date to WU or other online weather sites
Really? It used to do that for me.
Steve

User avatar
ConligWX
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.5 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Can CumulusMX catchup

Post by ConligWX » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:30 pm

steve wrote:
Toxic17 wrote:but not back date to WU or other online weather sites
Really? It used to do that for me.
I had a week offline in July. It didn't back date it.

Since I use the SQL dB I have the values, and am thinking of leaving WU anyway.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS Templates

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26713
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Can CumulusMX catchup

Post by steve » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:33 pm

It certainly tries to. If WU won't accept the data at the time, that's a WU issue.
Steve

avvy65
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:52 pm
Weather Station: Davies Vantage Vue
Operating System: Linux Ubuntu

Re: Can CumulusMX catchup

Post by avvy65 » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:42 pm

I stopped CumulusMX for a about an hour, then restarted it, but it didn't collect and data from my Davies Vantage Vue with data logger. Is there a way of forcing it to get the said data from the data logger.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26713
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Can CumulusMX catchup

Post by steve » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:46 pm

Yes, it's described in the main Cumulus FAQ. One reason that it may not have been able to download the data would be if you have the Davis logger interval and the Cumulus logging interval set to different values. This is also described in the documentation.
Steve

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Can CumulusMX catchup

Post by Mapantz » Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:07 pm

re wunderground catch up.. It has always worked for me. I built a new PC earlier in the year and CMX was down for around 12 hours, as soon as I opened CMX up, it sent all the data to the weather networks I use. It shows as 10 minute updates on wunderground - no issues for me in the past.
Image
Image

avvy65
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:52 pm
Weather Station: Davies Vantage Vue
Operating System: Linux Ubuntu

Re: Can CumulusMX catchup

Post by avvy65 » Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:02 pm

I have changed to logging interval in CumulusMX to that of tha Davies Vantage station, and I have also looked through the FAQ but couldn't see where CumulusMX could be forced to read the Davies logger reading

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26713
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Can CumulusMX catchup

Post by steve » Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:08 pm

avvy65 wrote:I have changed to logging interval in CumulusMX to that of tha Davies Vantage station, and I have also looked through the FAQ but couldn't see where CumulusMX could be forced to read the Davies logger reading
http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/FAQ#On_res ... t_last_ran

But note that as you had different logging intervals, following that procedure will almost certainly simply reproduce the same issue with the logger. You could edit the timestamp so that it corresponds to a logger entry.
Steve

Post Reply