Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.0 build 3046 - 02 January 2019. See the Wiki for download

Updating from Cumulus 1 to CumulusMX

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

Moderator: mcrossley

Post Reply
geoffw
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009 3:12 pm
Weather Station: Oregon WMR200
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Pembrokeshire West Wales UK
Contact:

Updating from Cumulus 1 to CumulusMX

Post by geoffw » Sun 15 Apr 2018 6:36 pm

After months of my favourite weather station software getting less and less reliable and not finding an answer, I decided it was time to leave Cumulus 1.9 & take the plunge with MX or find something else. Well, it has been an up and down week as I move the data from June 2009 to MX followed by restoring my website and finally getting the webcam working again. Fingers crossed I seem to have managed it. I had considerable difficulties with the webcam and IP addresses, with the browser interface stubbornly losing contact with its data for long periods a couple 'agonising' of times.

However, I managed (not always sure how exactly) to solve most of the glitches, and it has to be said the Cumulus Console has worked a treat all the way through. It has not once lost contact with the weather station or mangled the data since it took over from Cumulus 1.9.

All I have to do now is to hunt down some rogue record readings and work out how one edits the Dayfile.text file and the records. You used to be able to do that within Cumulus 1.9, but I can't find that feature in the current interface.

http://www.winterman.org.uk/weather/
Geoff
Image

sfws
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Final post in top ten topic
Operating System: Tempermental Win. 10 PC
Location: Moving

Re: Updating from Cumulus 1 to CumulusMX

Post by sfws » Sun 15 Apr 2018 9:41 pm

Cumulux MX does not have log file editor. The Wiki FAQ does give lots of guidance re rogue values, otherwise see exchanges in other topics on this forum.

geoffw
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009 3:12 pm
Weather Station: Oregon WMR200
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Pembrokeshire West Wales UK
Contact:

Re: Updating from Cumulus 1 to CumulusMX

Post by geoffw » Mon 16 Apr 2018 6:56 am

I suspected this was the case!
Geoff
Image

Hodji82
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat 19 Sep 2015 8:03 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit
Location: Finspång / Sweden

Re: Updating from Cumulus 1 to CumulusMX

Post by Hodji82 » Tue 15 Jan 2019 5:27 pm

Hello geoffw!
Can you help me out with info about what i need to change when going from Cumulus 1 to CumulusMX,
I do not understand witch files i need to edit and so on, i can read from cumulus wiki page that some need to be changed.

"If you use non-English settings, comma decimals etc, you will experience problems on Linux/OS X with Mono version 3.2.8 (e.g. on Raspberry Pi). But see the item further down about incompatible Mono versions
If you want to use your Cumulus 1 data with MX, and you use decimal commas, you will need to edit the .ini files to change the decimal commas into periods/full stops. The other data files will be OK.
If you are trying to use your Cumulus.ini file from Cumulus 1, you will need to make sure it doesn't contain any non-ASCII characters"

But witch files is needed to be edit and what dates??

Post Reply