Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

New Hardware - no Dashboard but updates working??

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

Moderator: mcrossley

Post Reply
Sadgit
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun 04 Jan 2009 5:56 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Middlesbrough, England

New Hardware - no Dashboard but updates working??

Post by Sadgit » Mon 15 Jan 2018 5:44 pm

Hello

I have moved my copy of CumulusMX to a new Intel Nuc with Mint on from a RPi3 as I am trying to consolidate my hardware. It is all working perfectly and my external website is being update with realtime data, in fact all data is being FTP'd over fine. It is current data but the dashboard and data from localhost:8998 isn't being updated. Username is different and I modified that in the ini, but cannot see what else I would need to do?

17:41:04
Last Cumulus update
--:--:--
Last station update
--:--:--

it is blank. How is this possible as Cumulus is obviously connected to my station as it is providing correct updates via ftp. When I start Cumulus it finds the station

Code: Select all

Cumulus MX v.3.0.0 build 3043
Today.ini = data/today.ini
Last update=2018-01-15T17:15:00
Connected to station
17:36:27 Downloading Archive Data
Cumulus running at: http://*:8998/
(Replace * with any IP address on this machine, or localhost)
Starting web socket server on port 8002
15/01/2018 17:36:27
Type Ctrl-C to terminate
17:36:28 Downloading Archive Data
17:36:28 Normal running
I cannot work out why this would happen. Anyone have any pointers please? it connects via /dev/ttyUSB0

Cheers
Mark

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: New Hardware - no Dashboard but updates working??

Post by steve » Mon 15 Jan 2018 5:56 pm

If the dashboard, now, and gauges pages aren’t working but everything else is, then you have an issue with the websockets protocol, as mentioned in the MX FAQ post. You can switch those pages to ‘ajax’ if required.
Steve

Sadgit
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun 04 Jan 2009 5:56 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Middlesbrough, England

Re: New Hardware - no Dashboard but updates working??

Post by Sadgit » Mon 15 Jan 2018 7:01 pm

ah brilliant thanks Steve. I bet you get sick of saying "check the FAQ"!!

OK that worked for the gauges but not the other 2. At least I know what I am looking at now. Thanks.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5237
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: New Hardware - no Dashboard but updates working??

Post by mcrossley » Mon 15 Jan 2018 10:20 pm

Local firewall enabled? If it is is port 8002 open?

Post Reply