Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

CumulusMX has stopped working

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

Moderator: mcrossley

Post Reply
Ethanflux
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 27 Aug 2016 2:07 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro
Operating System: Win 10 x64

CumulusMX has stopped working

Post by Ethanflux » Mon 01 Jan 2018 2:08 am

Hi guys!

I have been running Cumulus MX for a very long time and never had any problems. I did a reboot of my computer tonight and now I can not get it working. I didn't make any changes on my system, so I am not sure why this is happening. This is what it is displaying.. Any help would be much appreciated. I would like to get the weather data back on APRS and the other weather sites.

73 de K0GDI - Greg...

Current culture: English (United States)
Serial: 3B2EE1B78300CD307CB6FAEAAA7A3820
Cumulus MX v.3.0.0 build 3043

Unhandled Exception: System.OverflowException: Value was either too large or too small for an Int32.
at System.Convert.ToInt32(Double value)
at CumulusMX.Cumulus.DoSunriseAndSunset() in C:\Users\steve\Documents\Visual Studio 2015\Projects\CumulusMX\CumulusMX\Cumulus.cs:line 2513
at CumulusMX.Cumulus..ctor(Int32 HTTPport, Int32 WSport) in C:\Users\steve\Documents\Visual Studio 2015\Projects\CumulusMX\CumulusMX\Cumulus.cs:line 1212
at CumulusMX.Program.Main(String[] args) in C:\Users\steve\Documents\Visual Studio 2015\Projects\CumulusMX\CumulusMX\Program.cs:line 101

water01
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX has stopped working

Post by water01 » Mon 01 Jan 2018 8:50 am

My guess would be some invalid data in one of the Cumulus MX files. With Cumulus MX closed use a good editor such as Notepad ++ and check the files one by one starting with dayfile.txt. Alternately if your weather station has a logger copy a set of files from the backup directory, say from the rollover of the 30th December (make sure it a full day before you did the restart), and then restart Cumulus MX(again MX should be closed before doing the copy).

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX has stopped working

Post by steve » Mon 01 Jan 2018 12:09 pm

Looks like a problem with the sunrise/sunset stuff. Could be your co-ordinates are wrong, or perhaps a bug - but it’s normally people at very high or low latitudes that hit bugs in that area.
Steve

Ethanflux
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 27 Aug 2016 2:07 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro
Operating System: Win 10 x64

Re: CumulusMX has stopped working

Post by Ethanflux » Mon 01 Jan 2018 3:16 pm

I checked the coordinates and they are correct and my elevation is 777ft. I'm guessing it is a bug, because this software has always worked for me and I didn't change any settings.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX has stopped working

Post by steve » Mon 01 Jan 2018 3:28 pm

Might be some odd bug to do with it being Jan 1st, but I don’t understand why it apparently just affects you.
Steve

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX has stopped working

Post by steve » Mon 01 Jan 2018 3:31 pm

Apparently you had exactly the same problem on Jan 1st last year.

http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... 13#p122013
Steve

Ethanflux
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 27 Aug 2016 2:07 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro
Operating System: Win 10 x64

Re: CumulusMX has stopped working

Post by Ethanflux » Mon 01 Jan 2018 3:32 pm

Ok, well if you need anything from me, let me know.

Thank you.

Ethanflux
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 27 Aug 2016 2:07 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro
Operating System: Win 10 x64

Re: CumulusMX has stopped working

Post by Ethanflux » Mon 01 Jan 2018 3:37 pm

You are correct. It has to do with the date. I changed the date to March and it loads just fine.

Thanks Steve. I'll load it back up tomorrow and see if it will run.

Post Reply