Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See the Wiki for download

Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun 18 Oct 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by scanman » Wed 14 Jun 2017 6:41 pm

Windows 10 has just performed one of its updates, and now Cumulus MX won't work. This is what it shows me when I try to start Cumulus up. Any clever people here know what I need to do to fix it?
help.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by steve » Wed 14 Jun 2017 6:58 pm

That looks like you're not running it as administrator?
Steve

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun 18 Oct 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by scanman » Wed 14 Jun 2017 8:33 pm

Hi Steve. That was what I thought, but that is what I get, even though I am trying to run it as an Administrator. It all worked fine until the latest Windows 10 update.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by steve » Wed 14 Jun 2017 11:15 pm

I'll give it a try myself tomorrow, I think I got the update today.
Steve

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by steve » Thu 15 Jun 2017 10:12 am

Just tried it and it works OK for me. Don't know what to suggest, sorry.
Steve

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun 18 Oct 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by scanman » Thu 15 Jun 2017 5:14 pm

Tried a new install, with the same result. Looks like Windows 10 update may have introduced compatability issues with CumulusMX?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by steve » Thu 15 Jun 2017 5:26 pm

For you but apparently for no-one else? I'm completely up to date with Windows 10 updates and it works fine for me, both when right-clicking and selecting 'run as administrator' and when running from an administrator command prompt.
Steve

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun 18 Oct 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by scanman » Thu 15 Jun 2017 5:44 pm

Steve, you might be right in that the problem lies with my machine - but all I know is that Cumulus was working absolutely fine until Windows 10 forced an update - since then I just cannot get Cumulus to work at all. Unfortunately, I am not terribly good with computers, but this latest update from Microsoft has killed Cumulus completely and I haven't the foggiest idea what it has done or how to remedy it. I had hoped that a completely new install might sort it out, in case a file had become corrupted during the forced update, but I still keep getting the error. Curiously, Cumulus 1 is still working, but I really don't want to have to roll back as that would mean re-configuring my web-site again, which I do not have the time to do.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by steve » Thu 15 Jun 2017 5:56 pm

Cumulus 1 doesn't use a browser connection for its user interface; it's when MX tries to open the http interface so that a browser can connect that you are getting an error which says that you do not have permission to do that. Microsoft decided that you have to use administrator privilege to do that, or use the netsh command to allow a program not running as administrator to do it.

Can you confirm that you haven't at some point used the netsh command as described in the MX instructions, and that you run MX by right-clicking on CumulusMX.exe and selecting 'Run as administrator', after which you get a prompt which asks you if you want to allow an app from an unknown publisher to make changes to your device?
Steve

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun 18 Oct 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by scanman » Thu 15 Jun 2017 6:09 pm

Hi Steve - I don't know what the netsh command is, so I assume I have never used it. In launching the program, I right click on the program to start it, and select run as administartor. Windows then gives me a message asking me if I want to run the program and I select yes. All this I used to do no problems, but since the Windows update, instead of the usual blurb showing up in the Dos window, it gives me the error message I posted at the start of this thread. Even new install throws up the same error message. I am totally stumped.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by steve » Thu 15 Jun 2017 6:24 pm

Try this:

Right click on a Command Prompt and select 'Run as administrator'. If you don't know how to find Command Prompt, it should be under 'Windows System' on your start menu. Then type:

netsh http add urlacl url=http://*:8998/ user=\users

Then try to start MX.
Steve

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun 18 Oct 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by scanman » Thu 15 Jun 2017 6:41 pm

So it says at the command prompt that the URL reservation was successfully added, but I still get the error message when I try to launch Cumulus.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by steve » Thu 15 Jun 2017 7:19 pm

That does seem to suggest that the problem is not lack of privilege. Try running MX on a different port. Using your administrator command prompt, change to the folder containing CumulusMX.exe and type:

CumulusMX.exe -port 28998
Steve

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun 18 Oct 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by scanman » Thu 15 Jun 2017 7:31 pm

Hi Steve - I appreciate all your help. Unfortunately, changing the port as you suggested still gives me the same error message. :cry:

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Post by steve » Thu 15 Jun 2017 7:39 pm

If I think of anything else, I'll let you know. Or perhaps someone else will be able to suggest something.
Steve

Post Reply