Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.3.0 build 3063 - 10 January 2020.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

    Moderator: mcrossley

    forestedge
    Posts: 57
    Joined: Sun 29 Jul 2012 11:46 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
    Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit
    Location: Ashurst Bridge, Hampshire UK
    Contact:

    Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by forestedge » Tue 24 Jan 2017 11:37 am

    With Cumulus 1 it was possible to generate NOAA reports locally from the menu. Since upgrading to MX I cannot see how to actually generate them from the NOAA config page. :groan: I would also want to upload them to my website using the ftp option.

    Any help on how this is achieved would be appreciated.

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by steve » Tue 24 Jan 2017 11:41 am

    MX doesn't have a manual NOAA report facility yet, as mentioned here - http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=13298

    The ftp settings for NOAA reports are the same as in Cumulus 1 - they're on the "Settings - NOAA settings" page.
    Steve

    BigOkie
    Posts: 213
    Joined: Tue 28 May 2013 1:06 am
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Raspian Jessie
    Location: Tulsa, OK

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by BigOkie » Tue 24 Jan 2017 4:37 pm

    The way I did it was to have a copy of Cumulus 1 handy and put the data files where they could be read and generate them there.

    forestedge
    Posts: 57
    Joined: Sun 29 Jul 2012 11:46 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
    Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit
    Location: Ashurst Bridge, Hampshire UK
    Contact:

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by forestedge » Wed 25 Jan 2017 7:45 pm

    Thanks for the responses, I have generated previous reports in Cumulus 1 which now work with the php NOAA style report viewer.

    Just need to adapt my website now :)

    Tigro11
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Thu 14 Nov 2019 5:41 pm
    Weather Station: Davis
    Operating System: Windows Seven

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by Tigro11 » Fri 06 Dec 2019 9:23 am

    hello guys, I installed the MX version on windows, I wanted to ask how often NOAA.txt cumulus files are generated?
    Where do I go to configure the sending and sending time?
    Thanks

    User avatar
    mcrossley
    Posts: 5941
    Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
    Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by mcrossley » Fri 06 Dec 2019 12:00 pm

    They are generated once a day at the day rollover. They are FTP'd at the same time (just after midnight for most people).
    Surprisingly, you configure this on the Settings|NOAA settings page :lol:

    Tigro11
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Thu 14 Nov 2019 5:41 pm
    Weather Station: Davis
    Operating System: Windows Seven

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by Tigro11 » Fri 06 Dec 2019 4:36 pm

    so you don't have the possibility to create the new noaa.txt at will?
    with the other programs there is the possibility to create the noaa.txt every 20 minutes, maybe in the future add this function, it would be welcome

    User avatar
    mcrossley
    Posts: 5941
    Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
    Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by mcrossley » Fri 06 Dec 2019 5:27 pm

    Not sure why you would want to create it every 20 minutes as it only contains data up to the previous day?

    Cumulus 1 has the ability to recreate the reports, you can install that and use your MX data files with it. Adding that functionality to MX is on the to-do list.

    User avatar
    PaulMy
    Posts: 2031
    Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
    Operating System: Windows-8
    Location: Komoka, ON Canada
    Contact:

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by PaulMy » Fri 06 Dec 2019 6:12 pm

    Adding that functionality to MX is on the to-do list.
    ;) Am I missing something, as my CumulusMX version has a (Re)Generate Report button for Yearly and Monthly so I have generated reports from before I used MX using the \data files copied in from Cumulus1.

    Enjoy,
    Paul

    Tigro11
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Thu 14 Nov 2019 5:41 pm
    Weather Station: Davis
    Operating System: Windows Seven

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by Tigro11 » Fri 06 Dec 2019 6:24 pm

    Hi Paul, the function I saw of rigenera noaa, what I was asking is the possibility automatically that cumulus mx regenerates the file noaa every 20 minutes automatically and then send it to the ftp site

    User avatar
    mcrossley
    Posts: 5941
    Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
    Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by mcrossley » Fri 06 Dec 2019 6:51 pm

    PaulMy wrote:
    Fri 06 Dec 2019 6:12 pm
    Adding that functionality to MX is on the to-do list.
    ;) Am I missing something, as my CumulusMX version has a (Re)Generate Report button for Yearly and Monthly so I have generated reports from before I used MX using the \data files copied in from Cumulus1.

    Enjoy,
    Paul
    Doh! I'd forgotten I'd added it! :groan: it's an age thing!

    User avatar
    mcrossley
    Posts: 5941
    Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
    Weather Station: Davis VP2
    Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
    Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by mcrossley » Fri 06 Dec 2019 6:54 pm

    Tigro11 wrote:
    Fri 06 Dec 2019 6:24 pm
    Hi Paul, the function I saw of rigenera noaa, what I was asking is the possibility automatically that cumulus mx regenerates the file noaa every 20 minutes automatically and then send it to the ftp site
    But as I said the file only changes once a day, so why do you want to transfer it every 20 mins, isn't once s day sufficient?

    Tigro11
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Thu 14 Nov 2019 5:41 pm
    Weather Station: Davis
    Operating System: Windows Seven

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by Tigro11 » Fri 06 Dec 2019 8:33 pm

    it could also be enough, at least 2 times a day, say one at midnight and one at noon if you can't have more :)

    Tigro11
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Thu 14 Nov 2019 5:41 pm
    Weather Station: Davis
    Operating System: Windows Seven

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by Tigro11 » Fri 06 Dec 2019 8:37 pm

    do you know if someone is working to remedy the problem of comparing the average wind speed?
    almost all using GW at the beginning which created the xml files to calculate the wind and atmospheric pressure averages, if there are no xml files present this data cannot be displayed and calculated.
    I leave you the link of the graph noaa
    http://carlinometeo.altervista.org/Noaa/NOAA.php

    User avatar
    HansR
    Posts: 508
    Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
    Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
    Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
    Contact:

    Re: Running NOAA Reports in MX

    Post by HansR » Sat 07 Dec 2019 7:41 am

    @tigro11: You confuse me and you still don't explain why you need a NOAA report more than once a day!
    https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl / Cumulus (3.3.0 b3063)
    Davis Vantage Pro 2+ / Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Plus Rev 1.3
    Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (buster) / Linux 4.19.75-v7+ armv7l
    Mono JIT compiler version 6.8.0.96 (tarball Wed Jan 15 10:23:49 UTC 2020)

    Post Reply