Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4017) - 17 March 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Re: CumulusMX - Trojan/Malware In DLL ? - Nope, Defender Reporting False Positive

Topics about the Beta trials up to Build 3043, the last build by Cumulus's founder Steve Loft. It was by this time way out of Beta but Steve wanted to keep it that way until he made a decision on his and Cumulus's future.

Moderator: mcrossley

trevbrp
Weather Station: WMR 928
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: CumulusMX - Trojan/Malware In DLL ? - Nope, Defender Reporting False Positive

Post by trevbrp »

I've been running Cumulus now for a few months with no issues. This evening I had need to stop Cumulus as I was doing some testing. However when I restarted the CumulusMx exe, errors were being reported as a file was missing. Looking a bit further, it was apparent Windows Defender has decided the following:

Detected item : Trojan:Win32/Peals.A!cl
Category: Trojan
Description: This program is dangerous and executes commands from an attacker.
Recommended action: Remove this software immediately.
Items:
containerfile:C:\Users\Trev\Downloads\CumulusMXDist3041.zip
file:C:\Users\Trev\Downloads\CumulusMXDist3041.zip->CumulusMX/Devart.Data.MySql.dll

Even re-installing from a new zip download of the Cumulus files, the same issue is being reported and Windows Defender removes the .dll file so i cannot run Cumulus again.

As I say, all was fine and dandy, until earlier this evening when stopping Cumulus temporarily.