Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.2.3 build 3059 - 04 December 2019.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

    Moderator: mcrossley

    Jeff-T
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Mon 11 Jan 2016 8:32 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 with FARS
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Milton Keynes

    How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by Jeff-T » Sat 16 Jan 2016 9:42 pm

    I would to re-arrange/remove some of the gauges on the gauges page on my local network server but as a complete novice I do not know how to do this.

    Can anyone offer some help, advice or point me in the right direction to what I need to do to achieve this.

    I would like:-
    Row 1-Temperature-Humidity-Rainfall
    Row 2-Wind Speed-Wind Direction-Pressure

    This is for display on an 8 inch tablet. 6 gauges fit the screen nicely.

    Thanks in advance.

    Jeff

    User avatar
    daj
    Posts: 2041
    Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008 8:00 pm
    Weather Station: WH1081
    Operating System: Pi & MX
    Location: SW Scotland
    Contact:

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by daj » Sat 16 Jan 2016 10:15 pm

    Hi Jeff

    You need to edit the file gauges.html in the interface folder where you have CumulusMX installed. Take a copy of the file first!

    Using a decent text editor (not a word processor) -- something like Notepad++ (or even just notepad), open gauges.html
    Down at line 92 you will see a line: <div class="row">
    This is a row of three gauges starting
    The next line: <div class="col-md-4"> is the start of the first block (or gauge). In this case temperature.
    It ends one line 105
    Line 106 starts another gauge (the Other temps).
    Line 124 is the next gauge starting

    Line 137 finished the first row and 138 starts the next row of three
    and so on.

    You need to be careful moving the blocks around (getting the start and end of the <div>...</div> but if you can follow these it is easy to move.

    If you are not comfortable doing it I will do it and send you the file.
    David
    kippfordweather.uk
    Cumulus MX & Raspberry Pi

    Jeff-T
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Mon 11 Jan 2016 8:32 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 with FARS
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Milton Keynes

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by Jeff-T » Sat 16 Jan 2016 10:32 pm

    Hi David

    Thanks.

    I tried editing but it was the wrong file I was editing gauges.htm in the web folder. I will have another go with the correct file.

    Jeff

    User avatar
    daj
    Posts: 2041
    Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008 8:00 pm
    Weather Station: WH1081
    Operating System: Pi & MX
    Location: SW Scotland
    Contact:

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by daj » Sat 16 Jan 2016 10:35 pm

    Just FYI.. gauge.htm in the web folder is different, and for the public web pages. I assume you are wanting to edit the Cumulus MX dashboard layout -- which are the files in the interface folder
    David
    kippfordweather.uk
    Cumulus MX & Raspberry Pi

    Jeff-T
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Mon 11 Jan 2016 8:32 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 with FARS
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Milton Keynes

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by Jeff-T » Sat 16 Jan 2016 11:01 pm

    Hi David

    It is the gauges page layout I am trying to change not the Dashboard layout, or do I need to change this as well? I just tried to edit the gauges.html file in the Interface folder and although Cumulus ran the web interface did not work so obviously messed up somewhere.

    I reinstated my backup and back to normal now.

    I will give it another go tomorrow. Of course if you are happy to edit the file for me that would be great and much appreciated.

    In the longer term I must get my head round editing these files.

    Jeff

    User avatar
    daj
    Posts: 2041
    Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008 8:00 pm
    Weather Station: WH1081
    Operating System: Pi & MX
    Location: SW Scotland
    Contact:

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by daj » Sat 16 Jan 2016 11:21 pm

    Ah right, sorry...when you said "local network server" I thought you meant the Dashboard layout.

    If you want to change the web pages, this is a little different. basically you edit the gaguesT.htm file in the web folder where cumulusMX is installed. These "T" ending files are templates to build the actual pages.

    You would then move about the sections within the file for each gauge. I've attached a version I have edited for you. Save this to the web folder. Next time Cumulus does your web update it will use this T file and your gauges should be reordered.

    (NOTE: the file is attached here as gaugesT.zip as you can not attach an htm file. Download it, double click to extract and you should get the .htm file)
    You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
    David
    kippfordweather.uk
    Cumulus MX & Raspberry Pi

    Jeff-T
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Mon 11 Jan 2016 8:32 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 with FARS
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Milton Keynes

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by Jeff-T » Sun 17 Jan 2016 11:18 am

    Hi David

    Thanks for the file.
    It wasn't successful unfortunately. It moved the gauges, had a white background and the readings were not working.
    I will have another try later.

    Jeff

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by steve » Sun 17 Jan 2016 11:24 am

    I'm confused about whether you are wanting to change the gauges page on a web site, or the gauges page in the MX user interface. The pages work differently and are not interchangeable. The file David has uploaded is for a web site, it won't work in the MX user interface.
    Steve

    User avatar
    daj
    Posts: 2041
    Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008 8:00 pm
    Weather Station: WH1081
    Operating System: Pi & MX
    Location: SW Scotland
    Contact:

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by daj » Sun 17 Jan 2016 11:26 am

    I was confused too. I started off thinking it was the MX interface, but now think it is the web pages so i've attached a new gaugeT.htm file for Jeff to try. It worked on my test setup.
    David
    kippfordweather.uk
    Cumulus MX & Raspberry Pi

    richard_newberry
    Posts: 307
    Joined: Tue 12 Apr 2011 10:23 pm
    Weather Station: Watson W-8186
    Operating System: Debian Buster
    Location: Leicester
    Contact:

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by richard_newberry » Sun 17 Jan 2016 11:38 am

    Hi Jeff,

    I know what you on about. You need to edit the gauges.js to rearrange the gauges and if you dont need UV or solar radiation you need to edit the gauges.js file.
    Desford Weather
    http://www.desford-weather.co.uk
    http://desford-weather.co.uk
    Also on Desford weather underground.
    Looking forward to cumulus on Linux platform it'll rock!!

    User avatar
    daj
    Posts: 2041
    Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008 8:00 pm
    Weather Station: WH1081
    Operating System: Pi & MX
    Location: SW Scotland
    Contact:

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by daj » Sun 17 Jan 2016 11:45 am

    richard_newberry wrote:...You need to edit the gauges.js to rearrange the gauges and if you dont need UV or solar radiation you need to edit the gauges.js file.
    Richard, no the gauges.js file does not dictate the positioning of gauges on the page, it merely sets the values of each gauge.
    David
    kippfordweather.uk
    Cumulus MX & Raspberry Pi

    richard_newberry
    Posts: 307
    Joined: Tue 12 Apr 2011 10:23 pm
    Weather Station: Watson W-8186
    Operating System: Debian Buster
    Location: Leicester
    Contact:

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by richard_newberry » Sun 17 Jan 2016 11:53 am

    Im pretty sure the gauges.js can rearrange and remove the ones you dont want. As in change the gauges you want in row 1 and row 2. To clarify this you need to ask the designer of the code.
    Desford Weather
    http://www.desford-weather.co.uk
    http://desford-weather.co.uk
    Also on Desford weather underground.
    Looking forward to cumulus on Linux platform it'll rock!!

    User avatar
    daj
    Posts: 2041
    Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008 8:00 pm
    Weather Station: WH1081
    Operating System: Pi & MX
    Location: SW Scotland
    Contact:

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by daj » Sun 17 Jan 2016 11:58 am

    You can certainly use the .js file to hide some of the gauges, but not move the position.

    Mark (mcrossley) will be online soon and can clarify
    David
    kippfordweather.uk
    Cumulus MX & Raspberry Pi

    Jeff-T
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Mon 11 Jan 2016 8:32 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 with FARS
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Location: Milton Keynes

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by Jeff-T » Sun 17 Jan 2016 12:02 pm

    Success.

    I edited gauges.html in the interface folder.

    Thanks for everyone's advice.

    Jeff
    You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
    Last edited by Jeff-T on Sun 17 Jan 2016 12:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

    User avatar
    daj
    Posts: 2041
    Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008 8:00 pm
    Weather Station: WH1081
    Operating System: Pi & MX
    Location: SW Scotland
    Contact:

    Re: How to re-arrange/remove Gauges?

    Post by daj » Sun 17 Jan 2016 12:07 pm

    ah right, it was the interface / Dashboard you wanted changed. :D So my initial thought was correct.

    You've possibly got a tiny problem as the size of the rainfall box is a little smaller than the others, so you might not have moved all the code chunk for that one
    David
    kippfordweather.uk
    Cumulus MX & Raspberry Pi

    Post Reply