Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.2.4 build 3060 - 10 December 2019.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    System.Net.Sockets.SocketException: Address already in use

    Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

    Moderator: mcrossley

    Post Reply
    oman4eva
    Posts: 23
    Joined: Wed 23 Oct 2013 4:42 pm
    Weather Station: davis vantage pro 2 plus
    Operating System: windows 7
    Location: Canada

    System.Net.Sockets.SocketException: Address already in use

    Post by oman4eva » Thu 09 Jul 2015 6:03 pm

    Hi,

    I'm trying to get CumulusMX working with my Linux machine (Linux Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit). I was able to get the web page up and running but then when i went and set up the settings for my Davis VP2+ station and restarted the service i get the error (i've removed user/ip details)


    I believe this is a comm port problem, it looks like it's coded in comm ports in Windows format, e.g comm 1, not linux format /dev/ttyUSB0

    I assume this has already been discussed but couldn't find it. Any tips??

    thanks
    oman


    user@user-Linux ~/Documents/CumulusMX $ sudo mono CumulusMX.
    CumulusMX.exe CumulusMX.exe.config CumulusMX.pdb
    user@user-Linux ~/Documents/CumulusMX $ sudo mono CumulusMX.exe
    Current culture: English (Canada)
    Serial: 911AAB380CE02A60C48EBEF57335DF17
    Cumulus MX v.3.0.0 build 3025
    This is pre-release beta software
    Station type not set
    Cumulus running at: http://*:8998/
    (Replace * with any IP address on this machine, or localhost)
    Starting web socket server on port 8002
    2015-07-09 1:18:17 PM
    Type Ctrl-C to terminate
    ^[[A^[[D
    *

    my.ip.address
    ^C
    Cumulus terminating
    user@user-Linux ~/Documents/CumulusMX $ sudo mono CumulusMX.exe
    Current culture: English (Canada)
    Serial: 911AAB380CE02A60C48EBEF57335DF17
    Cumulus MX v.3.0.0 build 3025
    This is pre-release beta software
    Station type not set
    Cumulus running at: http://*:8998/
    (Replace * with any IP address on this machine, or localhost)
    Starting web socket server on port 8002
    2015-07-09 1:20:42 PM
    Type Ctrl-C to terminate
    Connected From : my.ip.address:45149
    Disconnect From : my.ip.address:45149
    *** Station type changed, restart required ***
    Connected From : my.ip.address:45151
    Connected From : my.ip.address:45154
    Disconnect From : my.ip.address:45151
    Connected From : my.ip.address:45156
    Disconnect From : my.ip.address:45154
    Connected From : my.ip.address:45163
    Disconnect From : my.ip.address:45156
    ^C
    Cumulus terminating
    user@user-Linux ~/Documents/CumulusMX $ sudo mono CumulusMX.exe
    Current culture: English (Canada)
    Serial: 911AAB380CE02A60C48EBEF57335DF17
    Cumulus MX v.3.0.0 build 3025
    This is pre-release beta software
    Today.ini = data/today.ini
    Last update=2015-07-09 1:25:58 PM
    Unable to connect to station
    System.IO.IOException: Bad file descriptor
    at System.IO.Ports.SerialPortStream.ThrowIOException () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at System.IO.Ports.SerialPortStream.Dispose (Boolean disposing) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at System.IO.Ports.SerialPortStream.Finalize () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    **** An error has occurred - please zip up the MXdiags folder and post it in the forum ****
    Press Enter to terminate
    Cumulus running at: http://*:8998/
    (Replace * with any IP address on this machine, or localhost)
    Starting web socket server on port 8002
    2015-07-09 1:25:58 PM
    Type Ctrl-C to terminate

    [1]+ Stopped sudo mono CumulusMX.exe
    user@user-Linux ~/Documents/CumulusMX $ sudo mono CumulusMX.exe
    Current culture: English (Canada)
    Serial: 911AAB380CE02A60C48EBEF57335DF17
    Cumulus MX v.3.0.0 build 3025
    This is pre-release beta software
    Today.ini = data/today.ini
    Last update=2015-07-09 1:26:15 PM
    Unable to connect to station
    System.IO.IOException: Bad file descriptor
    at System.IO.Ports.SerialPortStream.ThrowIOException () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at System.IO.Ports.SerialPortStream.Dispose (Boolean disposing) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at System.IO.Ports.SerialPortStream.Finalize () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    **** An error has occurred - please zip up the MXdiags folder and post it in the forum ****
    Press Enter to terminate
    System.Net.Sockets.SocketException: Address already in use
    at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Bind (System.Net.EndPoint local_end) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at System.Net.EndPointListener..ctor (System.Net.IPAddress addr, Int32 port, Boolean secure) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at System.Net.EndPointManager.GetEPListener (System.String host, Int32 port, System.Net.HttpListener listener, Boolean secure) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at System.Net.EndPointManager.AddPrefixInternal (System.String p, System.Net.HttpListener listener) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at System.Net.EndPointManager.AddListener (System.Net.HttpListener listener) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    **** An error has occurred - please zip up the MXdiags folder and post it in the forum ****
    Press Enter to terminate
    424;1R
    [2]+ Stopped sudo mono CumulusMX.exe
    You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

    oman4eva
    Posts: 23
    Joined: Wed 23 Oct 2013 4:42 pm
    Weather Station: davis vantage pro 2 plus
    Operating System: windows 7
    Location: Canada

    Re: System.Net.Sockets.SocketException: Address already in u

    Post by oman4eva » Thu 09 Jul 2015 6:14 pm

    Ok the big dummy here answered his own question. You just type /dev/ttyUSB0 into the comm port settings on the web page....not comm1 or comm0....woops

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: System.Net.Sockets.SocketException: Address already in u

    Post by steve » Thu 09 Jul 2015 6:16 pm

    You need to enter the serial port name on the station settings screen - ideally you would have done this when you configured the station type, rather than leaving it at the default. If it's now crashing before you can get to the user interface, you'll need to do it by editing Cumulus.ini - look for the ComportName setting.

    Edit - cross-posted!
    Steve

    MCQ
    Posts: 22
    Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011 11:11 pm
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
    Operating System: Raspbian
    Location: Minden, NV USA

    Re: System.Net.Sockets.SocketException: Address already in u

    Post by MCQ » Sat 19 Sep 2015 8:17 pm

    I upgraded to MX build 3030 yesterday on a RPi. I copied over my Cumulus data and Cumulus.ini file before starting MX. When I started MX, I kept getting the unable to connect to station message followed shortly thereafter by a crash of MX. I missed the line in the FAQ about changing com ports in the .ini for the RPi, so I went searching in the forum and found this post.

    In my Cumulus.ini, there is no ComportName parameter so that was a bit confusing. I was running v1.9.4 build 1085 and had not upgraded to avoid dealing with the HTML 5 and UTF-8 changes. In the build 1085, the serial port parameter is 'Port'. I changed this to 'ComportName', ran dmesg to determine my RPi had assigned port USB0, and then entered '/dev/ttyUSB0' in the ComportName parameter. After this, MX properly connected to my Davis VP2.

    Then, I went into the configuration pages and found out the Dashboard and the Now pages would not populate with any data from the station. Anything using historical data was fine. At this point, I figured there must be some other differences in the .ini that were preventing MX from running properly, so I just deleted the old .ini and let MX create a brand new one which I configured from the configuration pages. Everything is working fine now. I thought I would post this information to save someone else some time if they bump into this post with the same problem I had.

    Post Reply