Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.4.6 (build 3070) - 23 March 2020
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

See the Wiki for downloading either version.

Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Topics about the Beta trials up to Build 3043, the last build by Cumulus's founder Steve Loft. It was by this time way out of Beta but Steve wanted to keep it that way until he made a decision on his and Cumulus's future.

Moderator: mcrossley

sentra122
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri 10 Jan 2014 10:51 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: MS Windows Server 2012
Location: West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by sentra122 » Fri 10 Apr 2015 11:04 pm

Hi Steve,

I'm attempting to sunset my Cumulus needs from a Windows Server 2012 R2 box to a Raspberry PI. On the WS2012 box, Cumulus 1.9.4/1098 connects flawlessly to my WeatherlinkIP, but whenever I attempt to connect using the CMX.3023 build no data pulls down from the WeatherlinkIP. I've tried copying over the existing Cumulus.ini and also generating a new .ini, but nothing seems to reliably grab data. What's interesting, however, is if I start VirtualVP on the server and point the PI to the VVP, data flows freely on the PI. I'm aware of potential contention issues, so no two programs are ever running at the same time against the WeatherlinkIP.

I'm at a bit of a loss. I'm running a Vantage Vue, so disabling the LOOPs shouldnt matter...but I've added that to the ini as well without any result. I have a RPI B+ and RPI 2, both yield the same result.

Unit-53
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue 23 Dec 2014 8:48 pm
Weather Station: Davis - Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 8.0
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by Unit-53 » Fri 10 Apr 2015 11:20 pm

Might want to check if the Com port has been set????
Bill,
Image

sentra122
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri 10 Jan 2014 10:51 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: MS Windows Server 2012
Location: West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by sentra122 » Fri 10 Apr 2015 11:52 pm

Unit-53 wrote:Might want to check if the Com port has been set????
Since I'm connecting via IP, I've left the COM setting to COM0, as it is the default. It works fine if connected to VVP, doesn't work if connected directly to the WeatherlinkIP.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by steve » Sat 11 Apr 2015 7:09 am

If you zip up the mxdiags folder and attach it, I'll take a look.
Steve

sentra122
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri 10 Jan 2014 10:51 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: MS Windows Server 2012
Location: West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by sentra122 » Sun 12 Apr 2015 1:28 am

steve wrote:If you zip up the mxdiags folder and attach it, I'll take a look.
Thanks Steve. Please see the attached file.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by steve » Sun 12 Apr 2015 7:46 am

Perhaps communication is slow - you could try increasing the time that it allows for a response by setting DavisIPResponseTime=750 in the [Station] section of Cumulus.ini. If that doesn't help, try increasing it to 1000. Turning on debug logging would also be useful.
Steve

sentra122
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri 10 Jan 2014 10:51 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: MS Windows Server 2012
Location: West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by sentra122 » Sun 12 Apr 2015 12:27 pm

steve wrote:Perhaps communication is slow - you could try increasing the time that it allows for a response by setting DavisIPResponseTime=750 in the [Station] section of Cumulus.ini. If that doesn't help, try increasing it to 1000. Turning on debug logging would also be useful.
I've attached the latest logs with debugging on.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by steve » Sun 12 Apr 2015 1:35 pm

When MX sends the timestamp for the archive data start, it's not getting an ACK back, it's getting some other stuff that I don't recognise:

2015-04-12 07:52:30.529 Received response to DMPAFT, sending date and time
2015-04-12 07:52:30.532 8C-1E-D0-02-FF-0D
2015-04-12 07:52:32.534 Received 0x19
2015-04-12 07:52:32.535 Received 0x34
2015-04-12 07:52:32.535 Received 0x07
2015-04-12 07:52:32.536 Received 0x0C
2015-04-12 07:52:32.537 Received 0x04
2015-04-12 07:52:32.537 Received 0x73
2015-04-12 07:52:32.537 Received 0x71
2015-04-12 07:52:32.538 Received 0xF2
2015-04-12 07:52:32.538 Received 0x0A
2015-04-12 07:52:32.539 Received 0x0D
2015-04-12 07:52:32.539 Received 0x06
2015-04-12 07:52:32.540 ACK received

Part of the problem is that you have Cumulus and the console set to different logging intervals - Cumulus to 10 minutes and the console to 30 minutes. So when Cumulus asks for the archive data, the console doesn't recognise the timestamp, as in the FAQ - http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/FAQ#Cumulu ... t_start_up

As the FAQ say, what usually happens is that the console sends the entire contents of the logger - you can see that happening in the VVP case. But it seems to be reacting differently, and I someone else had a similar problem.

What you could try is adding a line to the [Station] section of Cumulus.ini: UseDataLogger=0 so it won't try to download the logger data. It might then start displaying live data. But you need to get Cumulus and the console set to the same logger interval. Then you could try removing that setting, assuming reading the live data worked OK.
Steve

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by steve » Sun 12 Apr 2015 2:19 pm

That data that I didn't recognise is the response to the 'gettime' command sent earlier. So everything is getting out of sync. It seems to be sending additional LFCR strings?
Steve

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by steve » Sun 12 Apr 2015 2:41 pm

Ah, I think there's a problem with my 'wake the console' code for TCP/IP connections. I'll see if I can fix it in the next build.
Steve

sentra122
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri 10 Jan 2014 10:51 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: MS Windows Server 2012
Location: West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by sentra122 » Sun 12 Apr 2015 3:19 pm

steve wrote:Ah, I think there's a problem with my 'wake the console' code for TCP/IP connections. I'll see if I can fix it in the next build.
Thanks for looking into it. Adding UseDataLogger=0 did indeed yield positive results, with data flowing down to the pages, but updating DataLogInterval=30 and removing UseDataLogger reverted back to no data. I'll hang tight for now. Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by steve » Sun 12 Apr 2015 5:21 pm

I've uploaded build 3024, which may improve things.
Steve

sentra122
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri 10 Jan 2014 10:51 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: MS Windows Server 2012
Location: West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by sentra122 » Thu 16 Apr 2015 10:26 pm

Hi Steve,

Apologies for the delay in getting back to you, but I was travelling on business. I loaded a fresh copy of CMX v3024 and ran through a few options in the settings file, but it seems that things may be still as they were (at least in my instance). I've attached the logs for your review.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by steve » Fri 17 Apr 2015 6:58 am

I've seen from another thread that reading the reception stats can sometimes take a very long time. They don't turn up initially, but usually turn up later which then throws everything out of sync. I have some changes in the pipeline to try to get things back into sync. I'm also thinking of making the reading of the reception stats optional, as it's clearly causing problems, and I imagine that most people aren't interested in them anyway (and they are available on the console).
Steve

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6131
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MX with a Weatherlink IP logger?

Post by mcrossley » Fri 17 Apr 2015 8:02 am

Steve, I know it probably won't help with the problem, but I think the stats update could be done much less frequently. I'd be happy with 10-15 minute updates.

Post Reply