Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.0 build 3050 - 1 May 2019.
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

See the Wiki for downloading either version.

NOAA reports missing Average wind speed

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.

Moderator: mcrossley

Post Reply
thecivvie
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon 02 Apr 2012 6:48 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Raspberry Pi
Location: Renvyle, Connemara, Ireland
Contact:

NOAA reports missing Average wind speed

Post by thecivvie » Tue 13 Jan 2015 11:28 pm

Just noticed that Average Wind Speed is not being inserted into the NOAA reports, well except for the first 2 days.

Code: Select all

Day Temp  High   Time   Low    Time   Days  Days  Rain  Speed High   Time    Dir
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
06   9.3   9.8   23:36   4.4   04:20   0.0   0.1   4.2   6.7  43.9   23:55     S
07   9.9  11.8   12:56   7.6   17:25   0.0   0.7  18.9  15.6  52.6   02:37   WSW
08   8.0  11.8   21:53   9.0   19:54   0.0   0.2   8.1  ----  50.0   22:29    SW
09  11.3  13.2   12:27   9.1   04:27   0.0   4.1  15.6  ----  69.8   10:59   SSW
10   6.3  12.4   00:43   0.0   20:39   0.0   0.5   7.5  ---- 184.3   20:39   WNW
11   8.2   9.6   16:20   5.4   01:18   0.0   0.4   6.3  ----  66.2   19:12     S
12   7.4  10.8   03:47   3.5   22:44   0.0   3.3  18.3  ----  76.0   02:46    SW
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     8.6  13.2     9     0.0    10     0.0   9.3  78.9  11.8 184.3    10      SW
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: NOAA reports missing Average wind speed

Post by steve » Wed 14 Jan 2015 7:51 am

That's strange, mine are OK. Could you have a look in the MXdiags file to see if it is reporting an error when it creates the report, please?
Steve

thecivvie
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon 02 Apr 2012 6:48 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Raspberry Pi
Location: Renvyle, Connemara, Ireland
Contact:

Re: NOAA reports missing Average wind speed

Post by thecivvie » Wed 14 Jan 2015 9:58 am

Latest reading:

Code: Select all

Creating NOAA monthly report for 13 January 2015
14/01/2015 00:00:01 Updating log files
Error at line 1640 of data/Jan15log.txt : Input string was not in the correct format
Please edit the file to correct the error
Saving monthly report as Reports/NOAAMO0115.txt
Creating NOAA yearly report
Saving yearly report as Reports/NOAAYR2015.txt
Line 1640 was :

Code: Select all

^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@
Replaced that and checked for others, there was 2. Will see what happens at midnight

Sean
Image

thecivvie
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon 02 Apr 2012 6:48 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Raspberry Pi
Location: Renvyle, Connemara, Ireland
Contact:

Re: NOAA reports missing Average wind speed

Post by thecivvie » Wed 14 Jan 2015 10:10 am

Removed about another 10 lines of them, they don't show up under a whereis search in Nano. Just scrolled down by page and removed all the rest. Will keep an eye on them and search MXdiags in future :)
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26717
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: NOAA reports missing Average wind speed

Post by steve » Wed 14 Jan 2015 10:14 am

Those look like the lines of nulls that can sometimes get written to the log file instead of data. This happens with Cumulus 1, too. Sudden closedowns are one cause.
Steve

thecivvie
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon 02 Apr 2012 6:48 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Raspberry Pi
Location: Renvyle, Connemara, Ireland
Contact:

Re: NOAA reports missing Average wind speed

Post by thecivvie » Wed 14 Jan 2015 10:17 am

Yeah we have had a few power issues here over the last 2 days. I am waiting for the Pi UPS to arrive so that should help stop so of them
Image

Post Reply