Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.6 (build 3082) - 1 June 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

Update from Cumulus 1 issues

From build 3044 the development baton passed to Mark Crossley. Mark has been responsible for all the Builds since. He has made the code available on GitHub. It is Mark's hope that others will join in this development, but at the very least he welcomes your ideas for future developments (see Cumulus MX Development suggestions).

Moderator: mcrossley

hw1958
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 06 Jan 2020 4:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Windows 10

Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by hw1958 »

Have used Cumulus 1 since Aug 2015 with no real problems and now decided to update to Cumulus MX. I've read all the suggested announcements and tried to follow the instructions but I can't get it to run. Unfortunately my IT skills are fairly basic.
I've downloaded the latest build and put it in a folder on the C drive, and copied over the relevent data and ini file from my Cumulus folder. When I run CumulusMX.exe in Administrator mode I get the following (see screen shot 1 in attachment)
I've put http://localhost:8998/ in my browser but only get (see screen shot 2 of attachment)
Can anyone help please?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

freddie
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Ubuntu 18.04 (LXC container)
Location: Dorrington, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by freddie »

MX is saying that it can't connect to your station. Could you please zip up and post on here the files in the MXDiags folder? That will give some more clues as to what the issue is.
Freddie
Image

hw1958
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 06 Jan 2020 4:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by hw1958 »

Thanks,
Zipped folder attached
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6487
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by mcrossley »

Here you go...

Code: Select all

2020-01-06 16:55:26.406 Serial device = COM1
2020-01-06 16:55:26.406 Serial speed = 19200
2020-01-06 16:55:26.406 The port 'COM1' does not exist.
You need to set the COM port to the correct value.

hw1958
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 06 Jan 2020 4:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by hw1958 »

OK,
Excuse my lack of knowledge on this.
In Cumulus I am currently using Com port 3 (see attachment of station settings).
Are you suggesting therefore I set the Com port to 3. If so where and how do I do that?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6487
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by mcrossley »

It's under Settings|Station Settings in the admin interface...

Capture.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

hw1958
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 06 Jan 2020 4:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by hw1958 »

Success !!! Thank you very much.

One last question (hopefully)
I switch off my PC each night so when i next come to switch on my PC if i wanted Cumulus 1 to open i just clicked on the icon and it started up. Now i have to open up CumulusMX.exe and then put htttp://localhost:8998: in broswer. is there a simple way to get it running?

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6487
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by mcrossley »

Well, it's actually running as soon as you start CumulusMX.exe, it is not required to run the admin interface for it to work, and of course you can view the admin interface from any computer or phone connected to you home WiFi. I'm not sure how other people do this because I run MX on a headless Raspberry Pi, and view the data on my web page.

hw1958
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 06 Jan 2020 4:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by hw1958 »

Thanks all for our help.
Now up and running and auto starting when i boot up my PC

Phil23
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by Phil23 »

Good to see you've made the move.

I had resistance myself; probably because I didn't read the docs etc; so just saw the dos box that didn't grab my attention that much.

Maybe a solution to that, for others in the future would be to have MX launch http://localhost:8998 after it starts.
I'd assume this would need a corresponding ini setting to disable it in the future.

Although I've been in IT for 30+ years, there are going to be tons of people out there that have no concept of what a Web Based application is, & hence a message like this makes little sense. And reading stuff beforehand largely doesn't happen.

Code: Select all

Cumulus running at: http://*:8998/
(Replace * with any IP address on this machine, or localhost)
So if potential new user blindly download MX & the simply clicks to run, as well as getting the dos box their first experience is a nice inviting interface in their default browser.

Cheers.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6487
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by mcrossley »

The problem with that is some people (me included) run CumulusMX on machines that do not have a graphical interface and browser, or even a screen/keyboard!

However, it may be a interesting option to have in the ini file, but the default would be have to be NOT to launch the browser.

User avatar
HansR
Posts: 984
Joined: Sat 20 Oct 2012 6:53 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+
Operating System: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (Buster)
Location: Wagenborgen (NL)
Contact:

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by HansR »

Phil23 wrote:
Mon 13 Jan 2020 10:01 pm
[...] there are going to be tons of people out there that have no concept of what a Web Based application is [...]
So, make it the first remark in the README / Wiki with a short explanation?
At least it gives you something to point to.

And indeed, it may be somewhat confusing for users who have difficulty separating from their old systems. Not all meteorologists are IT hobbyists
https://meteo-wagenborgen.nl / Cumulus 3.6.5 (build: 3081)
Davis Vantage Pro 2+ / Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Plus Rev 1.3
Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (buster) / 4.19.97-v7+ armv7l
Mono JIT compiler version 6.8.0.105 (tarball Tue Feb 4 21:51:48 UTC 2020)

Phil23
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by Phil23 »

mcrossley wrote:
Mon 13 Jan 2020 10:50 pm
The problem with that is some people (me included) run CumulusMX on machines that do not have a graphical interface and browser, or even a screen/keyboard!
Yeah I get that; Totally.

But they are probably the ones that are switched on about the entire concept & can deal with ini files in a text editor etc.

It's the Download/Run novices that I'm thinking about.
They just expect an application to be "Clickable" & if it's not they walk away.

Maybe a test for WinXX could help. If it's not he OS MX could make the assumption the end user is a bit more advanced.

Just thinking about my neighbour...

He can download & install; but if you suggested SUDO...… MONO etc, etc, he'd be a total blank.

esanford
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:03 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10 64 Bit
Location: Hertford NC USA

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by esanford »

I was reading the help that you were providing to the person to get MX started. I moved the program to a new computer. I got the old Cumulus 1 working fine. When I went through the process to install MX, I get the error of cannot connect to station. I cannot even get to the interface because I assume mine is a com port issue. I have Cumulus 1 on Com port 3 and it works. How do I get to the admin area to change MX when I cannot get MX to start?

Thanks,

Ed

water01
Posts: 1885
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Update from Cumulus 1 issues

Post by water01 »

If you have started CumulusMX, regardless of whether or not it has connected to your weather station or not, the interface is available. Your sig says you are running Windows 10 so I hope you started CumulusMX as an Admin by right clicking on the .exe file and selecting "Run as Administrator". You will then see a MS-DOS command window open and in it is the command to access the browser interface.

Assuming you are using the browser on the same machine as MX is running on, load up your browser and type "http://localhost:8998/" and the MX interface will open in the browser (Edge, IE11, Firefox, Chrome etc.).

Along the top of this screen you will see headings. Click on Settings and then "Station Settings". Scroll down the screen and you will see the Davis settings and in those you will see the Com Port. Check the Control Panel / Device manager / Com Ports to see what port your Davis is on and then set that in the Serial COM Port. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click save. If everything is OK it will save the settings. If anything is in RED you have an incorrect setting which will need fixing otherwise the page will NOT save.

Then after this go back to the Cumulus Mx DOS window, select it by clicking in it, and then type CTRL+C to close Cumulus MX. Then reload it by right clicking on the .exe file and selecting "Run as Administrator". The MS-DOS command window will reappear and this time you should see it connect to your weather station, if not you selected the wrong port!!

You can now go on to use the interface to set up your website, upload files etc.etc as per Cumulus 1 but it is all done via the Web interface.
David
Image

Post Reply