Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

Weather Blues Template preview

Discussion of Jacques DesRoches's web site templates

Moderator: JacquesD

User avatar
JacquesD
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue 27 Jul 2010 3:51 am
Weather Station: National Geographic 265nc
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: St-Ours, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by JacquesD » Sat 14 Jan 2012 2:14 pm

Hi SIG,

I thinks when you say "for iPad", applications suggested, as always, is more for iPhone then iPad.
iPad is much like a regular computer then iPhone apps streched on an iPad is looking pretty basic.

Then your question is more "real" if you say... an application without 'Flash"!

Lets make things clear; when we want to "monitor" our station, the only one who has a direct "live" link to your console is your station's Pc. To solve that, you could simply buy a new console acting as a "radio" listening directly from the station transmitter. (I have a second one in the living room)

The other way is to monitor your website. Then as iPad could see any web page (without Flash! :evil: ), you could simply add a kind of "auto-refresh" in a page and display that page on iPad.

You could see also Theo had done a pretty good monitoring applicationr.
See demo : http://www.weerstation-lemmer.nl/cumulu ... onsole.php
Theo' s(phtvs) post : http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... &start=140

Hope you fun with your station!
Jacques
Image

RobertY
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri 09 Dec 2011 5:16 pm
Weather Station: LaCrosse 2315
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: East TN, USA
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by RobertY » Sat 14 Jan 2012 4:41 pm

Thank You again beteljuice!

I went ahead and got the php includes working by adding that additional line to the htaccess file. Worked like a charm. Now all menus can be edited from the individual files instead of having to edit page by page. Whew!

Also included
<div align="center"><b><#currcond></b></div>

line so I can put updates or notes from the Cumulus program itself.

Also changed all the e' to regular e's. LOL!

http://robertyelverton.info/weather

User avatar
SJG1976
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2011 11:04 am
Weather Station: Oregon WRM200 and Davis VP1
Operating System: Raspberry Pi3, Raspberry Pi
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by SJG1976 » Sat 14 Jan 2012 7:18 pm

(And without Silverlight as well :( )

I've added some bits now to my website, the closes I can get is the realtime-ss Gauges, and have that displaying on the iPad.

Will see what else I can do. It's all a very steep learning curve for me, (just thank god for backups)
Image

User avatar
Darknstormy
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed 28 Apr 2010 1:01 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: Windows 7 Pro / Ubuntu
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by Darknstormy » Mon 16 Jan 2012 9:13 am

Hey guys and girls... well been over a week now running the Weather BLues Template... and just wanted to say to all that had there hand in making it. You have done a fantastic job and I thankyou so so much


Cheers :D :D :D :D :D :D
:D
ImageImage

User avatar
JacquesD
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue 27 Jul 2010 3:51 am
Weather Station: National Geographic 265nc
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: St-Ours, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by JacquesD » Mon 16 Jan 2012 12:35 pm

Hi Darknstormy,

Glad that this template pleased you! :D

You landscape photos are terrific!!
Then hello from other side of the globe! (Canada)

Jacques
Image

User avatar
robynfali
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sat 31 Jul 2010 10:34 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Anglesey, North Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by robynfali » Mon 16 Jan 2012 1:44 pm

Hi Mate

I think i have most of it sorted, just a few more localisations to do, one quick question though (and i have searched) how do you adjust the clock

gemini06720
Posts: 1700
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 10:16 pm
Weather Station: No weather station
Operating System: No operating system
Location: World...

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by gemini06720 » Mon 16 Jan 2012 3:14 pm

Rob, find the file 'clockp.js' (I think it should be in the 'js' sub-directory) and open it in an editor. The variables you need to change are described in this text:
  • 'The next set of options determine whether the clock displays your visitor's time or the time in a selected timezone. With localZone = 1 your visitor's time is displayed. If you set that to 0 you can get the clock to display a specified timezone. The timezone itself is specified in hours in the mytimezone field (for example -5 for New York USA, 9.5 for Adelaide Australia). The dst field needs to be set to 1 when you want the closk set forward for daylight savings time if it occurs in your area (You can add your own code to determine from the data whether or not DST currently applies and update the value automatically if you wish). The city and country fields display in the lower half of the clock so that people seeing the clock will know what location the time displayed applies to.
Additional information is available from the About.com JavaScript web site.

User avatar
robynfali
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sat 31 Jul 2010 10:34 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Anglesey, North Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by robynfali » Mon 16 Jan 2012 6:42 pm

Done that, many thanks mate, i lied tho, sorry. On the "about page" I will replace the images, that's not a problem. How do I go about finding the correct code to replae the map, is it simply getting the URL from google maps after zooming to correct area?

User avatar
JacquesD
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue 27 Jul 2010 3:51 am
Weather Station: National Geographic 265nc
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: St-Ours, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by JacquesD » Mon 16 Jan 2012 6:43 pm

Hi Rob!

I Think you' cutted on instructions Steps!! :bash:

At Main Page, you have : Customization Sheet
In Customization Sheet find Setting the Clock!
or follow this link: http://meteoduquebec.com/weather_blues_ ... html#clock

Easy to do steps.

Jacques

EDIT: Yes for Google zoom to the point where you want to show and click link on Google.
(See this post : http://meteoduquebec.com/forum/viewtopi ... oogle#p413)
Last edited by JacquesD on Mon 16 Jan 2012 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
robynfali
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sat 31 Jul 2010 10:34 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Anglesey, North Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by robynfali » Mon 16 Jan 2012 6:47 pm

OOOPS!

User avatar
JacquesD
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue 27 Jul 2010 3:51 am
Weather Station: National Geographic 265nc
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: St-Ours, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by JacquesD » Mon 16 Jan 2012 7:18 pm

Rob,

... You have to pay a "beer" now!

Jacques

User avatar
Darknstormy
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed 28 Apr 2010 1:01 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: Windows 7 Pro / Ubuntu
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by Darknstormy » Wed 25 Jan 2012 8:36 am

Hey guys ,

hopefully just a quick one.... how do I go about fitting another page on my menu bar, I've tried to add Webcam to my menu bar, but having trouble getting it to fit. I'm not sure what I need to change. Has anyone got an example for me..

Cheers

Lyle 8-)
ImageImage

User avatar
JacquesD
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue 27 Jul 2010 3:51 am
Weather Station: National Geographic 265nc
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: St-Ours, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by JacquesD » Wed 25 Jan 2012 1:15 pm

Hi Lyle,

To add an item to your menu, you have to add a line to the main menu block on each page.
Then add a line like this :
<a href="newpage.htm" class="but" title="" style="color:#ffff00">My New Link</a>
(See that I have used style= with just color change, but you could do lot more!)

Also, in styles.css file , play with that line
.but {
padding: 0px 14px; // Here, I have squeeze it to 14 instead of 20!
}

Hope this help!

Jacques
Image

User avatar
Darknstormy
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed 28 Apr 2010 1:01 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: Windows 7 Pro / Ubuntu
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by Darknstormy » Wed 25 Jan 2012 10:35 pm

JacquesD wrote:Hi Lyle,

To add an item to your menu, you have to add a line to the main menu block on each page.
Then add a line like this :
<a href="newpage.htm" class="but" title="" style="color:#ffff00">My New Link</a>
(See that I have used style= with just color change, but you could do lot more!)

Also, in styles.css file , play with that line
.but {
padding: 0px 14px; // Here, I have squeeze it to 14 instead of 20!
}

Hope this help!

Jacques
Absolutely fantastic thank you so much :D:D:D:D
ImageImage

User avatar
JacquesD
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue 27 Jul 2010 3:51 am
Weather Station: National Geographic 265nc
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: St-Ours, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Weather Blues Template preview

Post by JacquesD » Wed 01 Feb 2012 10:31 pm

robynfali wrote: Hi Jacques, quick query for you

There seems to be an image missing in the meteo directory, or is an incorrect path

http://www.valley-weather.co.uk/images/meteo/-1.png

I can't see any other images in that directory that shows the - sign?
Hi Rob,

You have probably set some limits for pressure

See that post : http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... nal#p58981

You could take a copy of the worst icon and name it -1.png.
Since negative values mean out of normal limits

If you check in menu Configuration --> Station, in the buttom right
you'll see what is the normal high and low limits. You're probably
out of limits.

Jacques
Image

Post Reply