Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.0 build 3050 - 1 May 2019.
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

See the Wiki for downloading either version.

Trouble getting ambientweather-plugin to work

Discussion of Ken True's web site templates

Moderator: saratogaWX

Post Reply
User avatar
mstrandbo
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed 26 Dec 2012 12:42 pm
Weather Station: WS-2902
Operating System: Windows Server 2019
Location: Norway

Trouble getting ambientweather-plugin to work

Post by mstrandbo » Wed 31 Jul 2019 8:09 pm

I've never used Saratoga templates before, so I might have done some errors already.

But even after configuring my apikey and mac-address in the Settings-weather.php file, AWNtags.php keeps telling me I need to configure these variables.
AWNtags.php includes Settings.php though, not Settings-weather.php... So how would it know about my variables anyway?
I tried adding an php include Settings-weather.php to the Settings.php-file, and then opening AWNtags.php. That gave me a new error message:
Error: Ambientweather.net returns applicationKey-invalid. Fix in Settings-weather.php

Which is for the template and nothing I can change. Is something broken?
Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows 10 Professional
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Trouble getting ambientweather-plugin to work

Post by saratogaWX » Thu 01 Aug 2019 1:59 am

What is the URL to your website showing the problem?

User avatar
mstrandbo
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed 26 Dec 2012 12:42 pm
Weather Station: WS-2902
Operating System: Windows Server 2019
Location: Norway

Re: Trouble getting ambientweather-plugin to work

Post by mstrandbo » Thu 01 Aug 2019 6:47 am

Somehow it works better today, but I still needed my "hack" to make it work.

The URL is https://vær.strandbo.no/saratoga/wxindex.php at the moment.

I added
require_once("Settings-weather.php");

at the end in Settings.php, without that AWNtags.php just told me I needed to specify my AW-ids, and the main site just showed me some generic weather it seemed.
There's some quibbles to sort out still, but everything looks better today :)
Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows 10 Professional
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Trouble getting ambientweather-plugin to work

Post by saratogaWX » Thu 01 Aug 2019 2:23 pm

You may be using an old copy of the template. The template check utility (check-fetch-times.php) is from 2008.

You should download and install a current copy of that utility from here then I’ll be better able to diagnose the issues. If your template really comes from an original Weather-Display WD-World-ML, then you’ll need to use the Upgrade to V3 template on my site to get a complete set of replacement scripts that allow non-Weather-Display software to operate your website.

User avatar
mstrandbo
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed 26 Dec 2012 12:42 pm
Weather Station: WS-2902
Operating System: Windows Server 2019
Location: Norway

Re: Trouble getting ambientweather-plugin to work

Post by mstrandbo » Thu 01 Aug 2019 4:10 pm

Hmm, that's weird. I just downloaded everything yesterday. I'll doublecheck everything again tonight :)
Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows 10 Professional
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Trouble getting ambientweather-plugin to work

Post by saratogaWX » Thu 01 Aug 2019 10:29 pm

You may have downloaded the template from the old WD-only version. It currently says you're running
version. :shock:

Make sure you use https://saratoga-weather.org/wxtemplates/install.php as the source of the downloads.

If you'd used my /template/ directory.. that's the old (deprecated) one which will not work with anything but Weather-Display.

User avatar
mstrandbo
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed 26 Dec 2012 12:42 pm
Weather Station: WS-2902
Operating System: Windows Server 2019
Location: Norway

Re: Trouble getting ambientweather-plugin to work

Post by mstrandbo » Wed 07 Aug 2019 8:07 am

You might have been right :) It's working now after a reinstall and checking of dates :D
Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows 10 Professional
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Trouble getting ambientweather-plugin to work

Post by saratogaWX » Wed 07 Aug 2019 8:05 pm

Using https://vær.strandbo.no/saratoga/check- ... ?show=info shows a problem with the ./cache/ directory .. it's not working, so your site will be very slow as the template is unable to use cached responses from external websites.
Directories/files status for Base-World, AWN-Plugin

Status of needed subdirectories/images:

Settings.php Cache file directory in $SITE['cacheFileDir']='./cache/' exists, with permissions=drwxrwxr-x [0775]

Error: Unable to open/write to ./cache/test.txt file so so Cache directory is NOT fully functional.
You may need to use the control panel to change permissions to 766, then run the above URL to check for a success message writing the test file.
The ./cache/ directory should be writable by PHP.

User avatar
mstrandbo
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed 26 Dec 2012 12:42 pm
Weather Station: WS-2902
Operating System: Windows Server 2019
Location: Norway

Re: Trouble getting ambientweather-plugin to work

Post by mstrandbo » Thu 08 Aug 2019 10:19 am

I hadn't checked that yet - but I thought it was a bit slow :)
That did the trick, though. Thanks again, now I'll just have to find the time to customize it and get an DarkSky API-key.
Image

Post Reply