Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.0 (build 3095) - 09 October 2020 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW2.4.0

Discussion of Ken True's web site templates

Moderator: saratogaWX

BCJKiwi
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1c

Post by BCJKiwi »

davcon24T is a simple text file and only supplies graph data.
In the CW version the forecast comes from the $vpforecast in CU-defs
This uses the tag <#wsforecast> from CUtagsT which is the weatherstation forecast (which normally generates the same information as <#forecast>.

Would you please check the contents of CUtagst.txt in C:\Cumulus\web and verifiy which forecast fields are in there and if they contain the expected data.

However as I am not familiar with your particular station, the icon may still not get decoded properly if at all.
If you can supply me with a list of the forecast strings, or tell me where to find them I may be able to include them.

Perhaps you could PM me to continue this discussion.

Thanks

radiXpl
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 11 Sep 2013 11:26 am
Weather Station: WS-01/01
Operating System: WIN/UBUNTU
Location: Poland, Tarnowskie Gory
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1c

Post by radiXpl »

Very good idea.
I checked my CUtags.php file and I find problem.
#wsforecast in my file was: unavailable....
I changed #wsforecast to #forecast on my Cumulus machine, and >>EVERYTHING<< work perfect.

Thanks a lot!!!
Welcome on my page http://burza.pokluda.net

Regards from Poland...

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2234
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ Cumulus1 / CummulusMX
Operating System: Windows8 / Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1c

Post by PaulMy »

Very good!
You may need to edit the links on lines 137-141 to get the right side buttons to work to your liking,

Paul

BCJKiwi
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1d

Post by BCJKiwi »

Ver CW1.1d posted
Refer first post in this thread.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1d

Post by BCJKiwi »

Update to the barotrend arrow code posted
please refer to first post in this thread.

kapo
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu 03 Jan 2013 1:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Vihtavuori, Laukaa, Finland

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1b

Post by kapo »

BCJKiwi wrote: The moon pic looks right for the northern hemisphere.
Compare it to your console, not to your home page ;)
Now, after comparing it to my console..... it is same as it is in my homepage ;)
Thank You about really fine script :)
p.s. From where can I take off that wind direction in degrees from console wiev? I think it is not necessary for me...

-kapo-
Last edited by kapo on Mon 30 Sep 2013 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gluepack
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2013 9:20 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 7 Pro
Location: Zlatina, Bulgaria

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1d

Post by gluepack »

Wow, thanks for this code, the result looks very professional and works great straight off. Only complaint I have is that jQuery and the led font are in the davcon folder.

Now I have a base to plagiarize for creating a PCE-FWS20 version. Don't tell me! Someone has already done that? Oh, it is a WH1080 clone, someone must have done.
Image

PWS links: WundergroundIVARNAPR3CWOP/APRSE(W)2048PWSWeatherZLATINABGAwekas10631Twitter@Zlatina_weather
Station type: PCE-FWS 20…Webcam link: View south to edge of Provadisko plateau

BCJKiwi
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1d

Post by BCJKiwi »

So why would the location of the jquery and the font in the davcon folder be a reason for complaint?
They don't relate to anything else on your site so they are better placed with the other files that are specific to this package. :?

User avatar
gluepack
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2013 9:20 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 7 Pro
Location: Zlatina, Bulgaria

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1d

Post by gluepack »

I use jQuery and I have a fonts folder. Each are pretty common to many add-ons.
Image

PWS links: WundergroundIVARNAPR3CWOP/APRSE(W)2048PWSWeatherZLATINABGAwekas10631Twitter@Zlatina_weather
Station type: PCE-FWS 20…Webcam link: View south to edge of Provadisko plateau

BCJKiwi
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1d

Post by BCJKiwi »

gluepack
The standard CDN jquery library is not in the davcon folder.
While some of the jquery libs in the davcon folder are standard libs they need to be downloaded (i.e. they are not CDN) and others are specific to this script.
I also have font folders - more than one - as different developers use different standards.

If you want to move these to meet your personal preferences then do so - no need to complain.
The present structure makes it simple and straight forward to set up so the package "works straight off" as you said!

n9mfk
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun 10 May 2009 8:52 pm
Weather Station: davis vp2 Serial datalogger
Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1d

Post by n9mfk »

Hi BCJKiwi,
Im not sure that i missed it not showing data
http://99.37.51.93/working/davconvp2CW.php
Ok I found it it was line 117
could sme like this be done

Code: Select all

if (isset($SITE['realtimefile'])) { $dataurl = $SITE['realtimefile'];}
?
Beau

BCJKiwi
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1d

Post by BCJKiwi »

Don't fully understand the question/issue.

If the realtime.txt file does not exist on your site then the realtime data will not be displayed - but all other aspects of the script and the site will continue to work.
If realtime.txt exists but is not updating then realtime data will be displayed but won't be changing - again everything else will continue to work.

There were alerts in the original jquery script but they were not reliable and had undesirable side effects. Timeout and retries were implemented to improve the reliability of loading the realtime.txt file.

The code you have displayed is from elsewhere and has never (if my memory serves correctly) been a part of this script.

n9mfk
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun 10 May 2009 8:52 pm
Weather Station: davis vp2 Serial datalogger
Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1d

Post by n9mfk »

here my thought
your code

Code: Select all

// SITE SETTINGS OVERRIDES - overrides from Settings.php & Settings-weather.php if available
/* if ( !isset($SITE['DavisVP']) || $SITE['DavisVP'] == false ) { ?> <h1> ERROR - DAVIS CONSOLE REQUIRED </h1> <?php return; }
// not a Davis VP weather station!! */
 if (isset($SITE['latitude']))   {$latitude = $SITE['latitude'];}
 if (isset($SITE['WXsoftware'])) {$WXsoftware = $SITE['WXsoftware'];}

 // determine 'realtime' data file
 if ($WXsoftware == 'CU') { $dataurl = '../realtime.txt';   // './realtime.txt'; for Cumulus
    $dayYN = 'N'; } else
 if ($WXsoftware == 'WD') { $dataurl = './clientraw.txt';  // './clientraw.txt' for Weather Display
    $dayYN = ($dayornight == 'Day')? 'Y' : 'N'; } // turn off Plus ET/UV/Solar at night
// These settings used in this script and / or in ./davcon/jquery.davconsoleCW.js
 if(isset($WX['ET'])) { $VPet = $WX['ET']; }
 $vp2       = ' ';         // $vp2 = ' ' or 'Plus' for VPro2 Plus - i.e ET/UV/Solar
 $uomsys    = ' ';         // Only required by WD - ' ' for Metric units, 'Imp' for Imperial units
 $imgdir    = './davcon/'; // path to jquery and images with trailing /
 $dewrotate = 3; 
my idea

Code: Select all

// SITE SETTINGS OVERRIDES - overrides from Settings.php & Settings-weather.php if available
/* if ( !isset($SITE['DavisVP']) || $SITE['DavisVP'] == false ) { ?> <h1> ERROR - DAVIS CONSOLE REQUIRED </h1> <?php return; }
// not a Davis VP weather station!! */
 if (isset($SITE['latitude']))   {$latitude = $SITE['latitude'];}
 if (isset($SITE['WXsoftware'])) {$WXsoftware = $SITE['WXsoftware'];}

 // determine 'realtime' data file
 if ($WXsoftware == 'CU') { $dataurl = '../realtime.txt';   // './realtime.txt'; for Cumulus
    $dayYN = 'N'; } else
 if ($WXsoftware == 'WD') { $dataurl = './clientraw.txt';  // './clientraw.txt' for Weather Display
    $dayYN = ($dayornight == 'Day')? 'Y' : 'N'; } // turn off Plus ET/UV/Solar at night
if (isset($SITE['realtimefile'])) { $dataurl = $SITE['realtimefile'];}

// These settings used in this script and / or in ./davcon/jquery.davconsoleCW.js
 if(isset($WX['ET'])) { $VPet = $WX['ET']; }
 $vp2       = ' ';         // $vp2 = ' ' or 'Plus' for VPro2 Plus - i.e ET/UV/Solar
 $uomsys    = ' ';         // Only required by WD - ' ' for Metric units, 'Imp' for Imperial units
 $imgdir    = './davcon/'; // path to jquery and images with trailing /
 $dewrotate = 3; 
that way if you're using timple is set in your setting and if not you can do it by hand

BCJKiwi
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1d

Post by BCJKiwi »

Well I'm sorry but I really don't see the advantage.

If you are not using the Saratoga template then you have a lot more changes to make than just the realtime file! You are free to customise the code to do something special at which time you are on your own with your own version. If you are not using the Saratoga script, you might be better starting with the Cumulus only davconCU version instead of the Saratoga davconCW version.

We need to check CU or WD to set the $dayYN here as the source for this if different between the systems.
By setting the realtime file here as well we can more easily see within the context of this script where the data is coming from.
It also makes it simpler should we need to change the file from realtime.txt to some other file later or, as you seem to want to do, to 'manually set it'.

However, if we were to rely on the more obscure $SITE setting then the code for your suggested change would more efficiently become;

Code: Select all

// turn off Plus ET/UV/Solar at night
if ($WXsoftware == 'CU') { $dayYN = 'N'; } else 
if ($WXsoftware == 'WD') {$dayYN = ($dayornight == 'Day')? 'Y' : 'N'; }
if (isset($SITE['realtimefile'])) { $dataurl = $SITE['realtimefile'];}
I confess that have difficulty following these suggestions you make. To me it appears you are offering solutions to some issue or idea you have but you do not explain the background nor WHY you want to make the change, just WHAT you want to change.

n9mfk
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun 10 May 2009 8:52 pm
Weather Station: davis vp2 Serial datalogger
Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: Davis 'Live' Console for Saratoga Websites Ver CW1.1d

Post by n9mfk »

Hi BCJKiwi,
the idea was if you are using Saratoga package as part of the setup you set

Code: Select all

$SITE['realtimefile']   = '../realtime.txt';  // directory and name of Cumulus realtime.txt file

here the other one

Code: Select all

$SITE['clientrawfile']  = 'clientraw.txt';  // directory and name of Weather-Display realtime.txt file
so why not use it to set the path in the script?
Beau

Post Reply