Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4019) - 03 April 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release 1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
(a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

HTML5 Canvas based Odometer 'gauge'

Discussion of Mark Crossley's HTML5/Javascript gauges

Moderator: mcrossley

gpercival
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri 11 Feb 2011 11:00 am
Weather Station: La Crosse 2355
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Asquith, NSW, Australia

Re: HTML5 Canvas based Odometer 'gauge'

Post by gpercival »

Dear all,

I like the look of the Odometer for the windrun. I have upgraded to 1.6.5 but when I try to get it to work all that happens is I loose both my wind gauges.

Would anybody like to have a go at writing a simple set of instructions for implementing the Odometer.

http://www.rhumbline.com.au/weather

Geoff
User avatar
GraemeT
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed 21 Oct 2009 11:19 am
Weather Station: La Crosse WS-2355 & WS-2306
Operating System: Windoze 7, 10, 11
Location: Bayswater, Australia
Contact:

Re: HTML5 Canvas based Odometer 'gauge'

Post by GraemeT »

Hi Geoff,

This is what I did:

In realtimegaugesT.txt
Insert :
"avgbearing":"<#avgbearing>","windrun":"<#windrun>","press":"<#press>"

In gauges.js
insert at line 617 :
labelNumberFormat : g_labelFormat,
useOdometer: true,
odometerParams: {digits: 4}

});

Insert at line 1442 :
}
gauge_wind.setOdoValue(data.windrun);
gauge_wind.setArea(g_wind.areas);

...and it should work...

BTW
Your site looks great, but for my eyes, your menu buttons don't contrast well with the orange text against the brushed aluminium background. :(

Cheers,
Cheers,
Graeme.
gpercival
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri 11 Feb 2011 11:00 am
Weather Station: La Crosse 2355
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Asquith, NSW, Australia

Re: HTML5 Canvas based Odometer 'gauge'

Post by gpercival »

Thanks Graeme,

That works like a charm.
BTW
Your site looks great, but for my eyes, your menu buttons don't contrast well with the orange text against the brushed aluminium background. :(
.
Thanks for the comments regarding my site. I agree that there isn't enough contrast between the menu buttons and text but I haven't come up with a good alternative yet. I don't want to make the text black becasue that is too boring but I also don't want to add more colours because that will distract from the colours that make the weather information more readable. I will consider it further.

Geoff
duke

Re: HTML5 Canvas based Odometer 'gauge'

Post by duke »

+1

Thanks Graeme, that was on my "to do list" to look at today. I got more time in the garden now.
I was thinking maybe a "Windrun" label underneath the odometer would be a nice touch.
That would be nice.


Duke
User avatar
GraemeT
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed 21 Oct 2009 11:19 am
Weather Station: La Crosse WS-2355 & WS-2306
Operating System: Windoze 7, 10, 11
Location: Bayswater, Australia
Contact:

Re: HTML5 Canvas based Odometer 'gauge'

Post by GraemeT »

Sadly, my javascript skills aren't up to the job, everything I touch at the moment seems to break something else, so I'll leave for someone more qualified to sort....

...might just give it all a rest for a couple of days....:)
Cheers,
Graeme.
User avatar
SJG1976
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2011 11:04 am
Weather Station: Davis WLL, with Airlink
Operating System: Raspberry Pi3 MX on USB Drive
Location: Glemsford, Suffolk
Contact:

Re: HTML5 Canvas based Odometer 'gauge'

Post by SJG1976 »

Right next challenge for me is to try and get the odometer to work.

Have created a www.cm2weather.co.uk/test.htm
Which uses a copy of the s test.js

But after making the changes, I get no dials again.

Back to the drawing board.
User avatar
SJG1976
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2011 11:04 am
Weather Station: Davis WLL, with Airlink
Operating System: Raspberry Pi3 MX on USB Drive
Location: Glemsford, Suffolk
Contact:

Re: HTML5 Canvas based Odometer 'gauge'

Post by SJG1976 »

Whoops, missed out a comma.

All working now, will now update the main gauges-ss page when I get a minute.
Once again, thanks to all the clever people here who have posted.

:clap:
Post Reply