Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4019) - 03 April 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release 1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
(a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

SteelSeries Radar Plot

Discussion of Mark Crossley's HTML5/Javascript gauges

Moderator: mcrossley

tobyspond
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011 5:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Lamoine, Maine, USA

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by tobyspond »

Marcel,

Happy to hear that the instructions were helpful and that you were successful. Thanks for the compliment.

I like your website too. It looks like you have a nice view of the Atlantic.


Kerry
roy_fox
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 12 Nov 2010 9:47 pm
Weather Station: PCE FWS 20
Operating System: Windows 7 32 and 64bit
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by roy_fox »

@All
Thanks for the instructions. Helped me a lot.
http://www.luckscher.de/Wetter/gauges.htm
User avatar
SJG1976
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2011 11:04 am
Weather Station: Davis WLL, with Airlink
Operating System: Raspberry Pi3 MX on USB Drive
Location: Glemsford, Suffolk
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by SJG1976 »

Thanks for all the help posted here, spent ages last night trying to get it working, now just need to spend some more time getting them lined up better.

Will also attempt the odometer at sometime as well.

http://www.cm2weather.co.uk/gauges-ss.htm
User avatar
SJG1976
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2011 11:04 am
Weather Station: Davis WLL, with Airlink
Operating System: Raspberry Pi3 MX on USB Drive
Location: Glemsford, Suffolk
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by SJG1976 »

mcrossley wrote:Hi Kerry, it's a timing thing. The image isn't available (downloaded yet) when the script first draws the gauges. The radar does not redraw the background after the initial draw, the other gauges do if they re-scale/change units/titles etc.

What you could try is adding a slight delay to the script, change...

Code: Select all

// Kick it all off
$(document).ready(function() {
  init();
});
to

Code: Select all

// Kick it all off
$(document).ready(function() {
  setTimeout(init, 500); // 0.5 second delay
});
Or, you could add the image to the start main page with a hidden style, and refer to that in the script.

Also you are downloading the image twice, you can lose all three statements refering to imgLarge as you do not seem to use it...

Code: Select all

var g_imgSmall = null;
var g_imgLarge = null;

var g_imgSmall = document.createElement("img");                 // small logo
var g_imgLarge = document.createElement("img");                 // large background image
g_imgSmall.setAttribute("src", g_imgPathURL + "gold4.png");
g_imgLarge.setAttribute("src", g_imgPathURL + "gold4.png");

I know this is going back a bit, but I can't seem to get my logo working on the wind rose gauge.

Any idea what I've missed out, I've added the 500 delay in the init, but must be missing something else somewhere?

Any pointers please,

www.cm2weather.co.uk/gauges-ss.htm
tobyspond
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011 5:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Lamoine, Maine, USA

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by tobyspond »

Hi,

You need to uncomment the code around line 194 of the gauges.js - remove the slashes for the last three lines.

change this:
// Optional - add a background image
// var drawSize = g_size * 0.831775;
// var x = (g_size - drawSize) / 2;
// ctxBackground.drawImage(g_imgSmall, x, x, drawSize, drawSize);


to this:
// Optional - add a background image
var drawSize = g_size * 0.831775;
var x = (g_size - drawSize) / 2;
ctxBackground.drawImage(g_imgSmall, x, x, drawSize, drawSize);



Kerry
User avatar
SJG1976
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2011 11:04 am
Weather Station: Davis WLL, with Airlink
Operating System: Raspberry Pi3 MX on USB Drive
Location: Glemsford, Suffolk
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by SJG1976 »

Thanks for the quick reply.

I'll give that a go in a minute.
User avatar
gwheelo
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed 11 Jun 2008 7:36 pm
Weather Station: WMR-88
Operating System: Windows 8.1
Location: L'Estartit, Spain
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by gwheelo »

can't seem to get my logo working on the wind rose gauge.
That's a great looking logo - but - for me it makes the gauges difficult to read. Perhaps one copy of the logo per page and where it does not interfere with the information you are providing.

gwheelo
Image
User avatar
SJG1976
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2011 11:04 am
Weather Station: Davis WLL, with Airlink
Operating System: Raspberry Pi3 MX on USB Drive
Location: Glemsford, Suffolk
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by SJG1976 »

Thanks Kerry,

Worked a treat.
Now just need to make a new logo, as it looks a bit square now, in the WindRose one.
www.cm2weather.co.uk/gauges-ss.htm
It's all a learning curve for me.

Now going to try and break some more stuff, and add an LCD to the Wind Speed, and move the Windrun odoMeter to the Windrose.

Hmmmmm

Another day I think..
User avatar
SJG1976
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed 21 Dec 2011 11:04 am
Weather Station: Davis WLL, with Airlink
Operating System: Raspberry Pi3 MX on USB Drive
Location: Glemsford, Suffolk
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by SJG1976 »

gwheelo wrote:
can't seem to get my logo working on the wind rose gauge.
That's a great looking logo - but - for me it makes the gauges difficult to read. Perhaps one copy of the logo per page and where it does not interfere with the information you are providing.

gwheelo
Thanks, I'll have a play about when I get some more time, may need to change the colours a bit.

Logo was done by girlfriends daughter.
tobyspond
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011 5:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Lamoine, Maine, USA

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by tobyspond »

breaking stuff is the best way to learn!

Try 250x250 for the size of your logo, I seem to remember having to play around with mine to get the logo to fit properly. You can consider removing the words from your logo to improve readability.

Anyways your gauge page is looking nice.

Kerry
chrismargab
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed 08 Aug 2012 6:27 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro+
Operating System: Seven
Location: Kogenheim (67) - France
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by chrismargab »

Hello,

Sorry for my bad english, I'm French.
I added the code of the radar in the file "gauge.js", and that's what I get:

Image

What it correct to display within the gauge?

Thank you.
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12756
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by mcrossley »

It's a start, some of it is working, but a link to your web page will be needed to see what the problem is ;)
chrismargab
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed 08 Aug 2012 6:27 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro+
Operating System: Seven
Location: Kogenheim (67) - France
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by chrismargab »

Thank you. Yes, I forgot to put the link: www.meteo-kogenheim.fr/page_instruments2.php
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 12756
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Bullseye Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by mcrossley »

First problem your realtime gauges template file has quotation marks around the wind data ie.
WindRoseData: "[<#WindRoseData>]",

should be:
WindRoseData: [<#WindRoseData>],

I haven't had a chance to investigate further yet, but it looks like it is something trivial...
chrismargab
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed 08 Aug 2012 6:27 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro+
Operating System: Seven
Location: Kogenheim (67) - France
Contact:

Re: SteelSeries Radar Plot

Post by chrismargab »

I made ​​the change, but it does not work. What surprises me is that the bottom of the picture does not appear.

If I put the link to the files "RGraph.common.core.min.js" and "RGraph.radar.min.js" count stops once you get to zero, whereas with the files "RGraph.common. core.js "and" RGraph.radar.js "everything seems to run fine except the bottom of the drawing and graphics.

Thank you for spending time to find the solution.
Post Reply