Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

Average speed graph values are integers only

Please discuss beta versions of Cumulus 1 here. Note: There are currently no beta versions of Cumulus 1.
Locked
freddie
Posts: 330
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
Location: Ystrad, Rhondda, Wales
Contact:

Average speed graph values are integers only

Post by freddie » Tue 17 Sep 2013 8:09 am

I have a Davis VP2 set to log at 1 minute interval. Cumulus has the same logging interval. I don't have "Calculate 10 min wind average" set, so I assume the value is passed through as an integer. Is this the case? I ask, because the wind speed graph always looks very "artificial".
Freddie
Image

freddie
Posts: 330
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
Location: Ystrad, Rhondda, Wales
Contact:

Re: Average speed graph values are integers only

Post by freddie » Tue 17 Sep 2013 8:13 am

Having posted the above, I just saw an average speed of 14.9 knots on the Cumulus display, so I assume the values aren't being passed as integers, and some rounding is occurring in Cumulus?
Freddie
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Average speed graph values are integers only

Post by steve » Tue 17 Sep 2013 8:15 am

Yes, Davis stations supply wind speeds to whole numbers of mph. The Davis DLL does any required conversions to other units; I'm not sure whether it rounds those.
Steve

Locked