Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.3.0 build 3063 - 10 January 2020.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Average speed graph values are integers only

    Please discuss beta versions of Cumulus 1 here. Note: There are currently no beta versions of Cumulus 1.
    Locked
    freddie
    Posts: 526
    Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
    Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
    Location: Dorrington, Shropshire
    Contact:

    Average speed graph values are integers only

    Post by freddie » Tue 17 Sep 2013 8:09 am

    I have a Davis VP2 set to log at 1 minute interval. Cumulus has the same logging interval. I don't have "Calculate 10 min wind average" set, so I assume the value is passed through as an integer. Is this the case? I ask, because the wind speed graph always looks very "artificial".
    Freddie
    Image

    freddie
    Posts: 526
    Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
    Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
    Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
    Location: Dorrington, Shropshire
    Contact:

    Re: Average speed graph values are integers only

    Post by freddie » Tue 17 Sep 2013 8:13 am

    Having posted the above, I just saw an average speed of 14.9 knots on the Cumulus display, so I assume the values aren't being passed as integers, and some rounding is occurring in Cumulus?
    Freddie
    Image

    User avatar
    steve
    Cumulus Author
    Posts: 26717
    Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
    Weather Station: None
    Operating System: None
    Location: Vienne, France
    Contact:

    Re: Average speed graph values are integers only

    Post by steve » Tue 17 Sep 2013 8:15 am

    Yes, Davis stations supply wind speeds to whole numbers of mph. The Davis DLL does any required conversions to other units; I'm not sure whether it rounds those.
    Steve

    Locked