Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.4.0 (build 3064) - 19 February 2020.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    Weather Camera

    Hardware/software/hints and tips/discussion/webcam links etc
    Post Reply
    jac1860
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Thu 30 Jan 2014 3:00 am
    Weather Station: WH-1090
    Operating System: Windows 7
    Location: United States

    Weather Camera

    Post by jac1860 » Sat 03 Jan 2015 7:22 pm

    Ok about a year ago i received a Foscam FI8906W camera for use for backyard weather video. I have been thru 3 camera's and still have problems w/ the camera being connected 24/7. On any given time i can look in on my camera and it has dropped connection. Strange but it is now hard wired and that should not be. I have also replaced and upgraded my router. Still problems.

    When the camera is connected it is really a good camera. Great night vision and even better day time view. I guess what i am saying now is does anyone have a better solution for me. I am going to switch cameras and i am looking for a replacement. I really want to keep the price down to under $350.

    please help...

    User avatar
    ace2
    Posts: 679
    Joined: Tue 14 Jan 2014 12:38 pm
    Weather Station: maxkon ws-1081pc
    Operating System: windows 7 & 8
    Location: Adelaide, south Australia, Australia
    Contact:

    Re: Weather Camera

    Post by ace2 » Sun 04 Jan 2015 1:01 am

    Strange, i have a Foscam FI9805W which is connected via wireless that never drops the connection....
    CHRIS
    Image
    web site
    http://www.ace2weather.com
    Follow me on Twitter
    http://tinyurl.com/kwlr9re
    YouTube channel
    http://tinyurl.com/lehwpgp
    Facebook page
    http://tinyurl.com/k3sap4s
    Tiny URL links used

    uncle_bob
    Posts: 493
    Joined: Wed 17 Aug 2011 2:58 pm
    Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
    Operating System: 2008
    Location: Canberra

    Re: Weather Camera

    Post by uncle_bob » Sun 04 Jan 2015 7:45 am

    jac1860 wrote:
    please help...
    Maybe you have it set to a dynamic IP and the modem/router assigns a new address for it?
    Interested in building your own Weather Station? Maybe check out the WeatherDuino Pro Project Here
    Conder, Canberra Weather
    Image

    jac1860
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Thu 30 Jan 2014 3:00 am
    Weather Station: WH-1090
    Operating System: Windows 7
    Location: United States

    Re: Weather Camera

    Post by jac1860 » Mon 05 Jan 2015 5:51 pm

    uncle_bob wrote:
    jac1860 wrote:
    please help...
    Maybe you have it set to a dynamic IP and the modem/router assigns a new address for it?

    Maybe your on to something. My router 'does' assign a new ip address almost every day. So should i change it from being a dynamic ip? when i switched from dynamic to static it threw things into a tailspin. some things connected and some didn't. This is very frustrating...

    uncle_bob
    Posts: 493
    Joined: Wed 17 Aug 2011 2:58 pm
    Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
    Operating System: 2008
    Location: Canberra

    Re: Weather Camera

    Post by uncle_bob » Mon 05 Jan 2015 9:55 pm

    jac1860 wrote:[ So should i change it from being a dynamic ip?
    These type of things are usually best set with a static IP. Dynamic is usably changed to static once the device has an IP assigned as they don't have a keyboard to set them up ;)
    Interested in building your own Weather Station? Maybe check out the WeatherDuino Pro Project Here
    Conder, Canberra Weather
    Image

    jac1860
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Thu 30 Jan 2014 3:00 am
    Weather Station: WH-1090
    Operating System: Windows 7
    Location: United States

    Re: Weather Camera

    Post by jac1860 » Tue 06 Jan 2015 12:31 am

    ace2 wrote:Strange, i have a Foscam FI9805W which is connected via wireless that never drops the connection....
    It is strange Chris. I am on my third camera. None of them would stay connected wirelessly. Only after finding out my third camera wouldn't stay connected wirelessly I then hard wired it. Still have the same problems. I even upgraded my router. Still the same ole thing.

    User avatar
    ace2
    Posts: 679
    Joined: Tue 14 Jan 2014 12:38 pm
    Weather Station: maxkon ws-1081pc
    Operating System: windows 7 & 8
    Location: Adelaide, south Australia, Australia
    Contact:

    Re: Weather Camera

    Post by ace2 » Tue 06 Jan 2015 12:49 am

    uncle_bob wrote:
    jac1860 wrote:[ So should i change it from being a dynamic ip?
    These type of things are usually best set with a static IP. Dynamic is usably changed to static once the device has an IP assigned as they don't have a keyboard to set them up ;)
    I think uncle bob is on to something, all my device are assigned IP's via router based on Mac address. It's the only was to set permissions to ftp and shares.
    I would suggest doing the same.
    All my devices are set to automatic addressing, its only the router assigning IP's.
    CHRIS
    Image
    web site
    http://www.ace2weather.com
    Follow me on Twitter
    http://tinyurl.com/kwlr9re
    YouTube channel
    http://tinyurl.com/lehwpgp
    Facebook page
    http://tinyurl.com/k3sap4s
    Tiny URL links used

    Post Reply