Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.6 (build 3082) - 1 June 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Hardware/software/hints and tips/discussion/webcam links etc
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2921
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: ex XP SP3 - now W10 laptop grr
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by beteljuice »

The beteljuice said:
beteljuice wrote:...
However; I note that on all the example links JW player (JavaScript) is being used to present the videos.
You are relying on the operating system / browser combination to play the 'embedded' video rather than providing a player medium for it.

If I go to the video url I can see it (I have QT, DivX, VLC player, Windows Media Player 'plugins'), but I don't get anything on the 'wrapper' page.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
ace2
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue 14 Jan 2014 12:38 pm
Weather Station: maxkon ws-1081pc
Operating System: windows 7 & 8
Location: Adelaide, south Australia, Australia
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by ace2 »

How can we fix this issue????
CHRIS
Image
web site
http://www.ace2weather.com
Follow me on Twitter
http://tinyurl.com/kwlr9re
YouTube channel
http://tinyurl.com/lehwpgp
Facebook page
http://tinyurl.com/k3sap4s
Tiny URL links used

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2921
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: ex XP SP3 - now W10 laptop grr
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by beteljuice »

... JW player (JavaScript) is being used to present the videos.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2921
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: ex XP SP3 - now W10 laptop grr
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by beteljuice »

There are several free 'players' - some require registratiom, some don't - some have logos, some don't - etc. etc.

A few examples (some in non-english but reasonably self evident)

http://monmoulin.fr/kawa_player_video_flash.html
http://www.videojs.com/
http://www.gdd.ro/free-flash-flv-player
http://sublimevideo.net/
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
ace2
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue 14 Jan 2014 12:38 pm
Weather Station: maxkon ws-1081pc
Operating System: windows 7 & 8
Location: Adelaide, south Australia, Australia
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by ace2 »

So would that still mean i require 2 video files, one mp4 and one flv??
CHRIS
Image
web site
http://www.ace2weather.com
Follow me on Twitter
http://tinyurl.com/kwlr9re
YouTube channel
http://tinyurl.com/lehwpgp
Facebook page
http://tinyurl.com/k3sap4s
Tiny URL links used

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2921
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: ex XP SP3 - now W10 laptop grr
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by beteljuice »

@@@@@ ace2
KAWA video test - mp4

I do not intend to make a habit of clogging up my webspace and going step by step with you ....
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
MackerelSky
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri 01 Apr 2011 8:14 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 w/FARS
Operating System: Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 x64
Location: Smethport, Pa.
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by MackerelSky »

beteljuice wrote:@@@@@ ace2
I do not intend to make a habit of clogging up my webspace and going step by step with you ....
lol...

videojs is what I choose late last year and I've had no complaints of not being able to see my vids on any platform and mine are all Mp4s

If someone has had a problem, they haven't mentioned it.

Brad
Davis VP2/FARS
Cumulus 1.9.4(1092)

McKean Weather
'cause not everyone lives at the airport

Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6490
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by mcrossley »

If it is Flash based it presumably will not run on iDevices or Android? Just tried beteljuice's test page on my Android phone and it don't work (4.4 = no Flash).

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2921
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: ex XP SP3 - now W10 laptop grr
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by beteljuice »

As an out of touch (read - what has happened to compatabilty - again) old fogey, I hereby retire from this thread :(
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 6490
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by mcrossley »

I'd get off to the pub, best place for us old fogies

User avatar
ace2
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue 14 Jan 2014 12:38 pm
Weather Station: maxkon ws-1081pc
Operating System: windows 7 & 8
Location: Adelaide, south Australia, Australia
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by ace2 »

Lol......


But I do think I'm one of those old ones!!
CHRIS
Image
web site
http://www.ace2weather.com
Follow me on Twitter
http://tinyurl.com/kwlr9re
YouTube channel
http://tinyurl.com/lehwpgp
Facebook page
http://tinyurl.com/k3sap4s
Tiny URL links used

westonweather
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun 29 Dec 2013 8:37 am
Weather Station: WMR88
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by westonweather »

mcrossley wrote:If it is Flash based it presumably will not run on iDevices or Android? Just tried beteljuice's test page on my Android phone and it don't work (4.4 = no Flash).
This is becoming a problem more & more now, finding a format that works across all browers & devices.

What I've ended up with seems to work for most people - including me, so I'm leaving it as is. If they can't see the videos they can still see the screenshot. Certainly something I should do though is include a link to eack of the videos so they can be downloaded if they won't play embeded. Next time I'm logged in to the server I will change the code to give a download link.

westonweather
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun 29 Dec 2013 8:37 am
Weather Station: WMR88
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by westonweather »

http://www.westonweather.co.uk/webcam.php

Like so ^^^

I presume most people will be able to play MP4, even if they can't play it embeded?

edited to say - I purchased my Sebetec Licence. A quick and painless process with the 10% Cumulus Users discount quickly refunded.

sebectec
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat 08 Mar 2014 6:18 pm
Weather Station: sebeclake.net
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Boston

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by sebectec »

SebecTec now has the option to have sunrise/sunset start/stop based on latitude and longitude. That is for the image capture. The same option is separately available for the time-lapse production.

-Mike

User avatar
MackerelSky
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri 01 Apr 2011 8:14 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 w/FARS
Operating System: Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 x64
Location: Smethport, Pa.
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by MackerelSky »

sebectec wrote:SebecTec now has the option to have sunrise/sunset start/stop based on latitude and longitude. That is for the image capture. The same option is separately available for the time-lapse production.

-Mike
Got my attention Mike. Went to your site but didn't see an upgrade/update area.
Please advise...

Thx
Brad
Davis VP2/FARS
Cumulus 1.9.4(1092)

McKean Weather
'cause not everyone lives at the airport

Image

Post Reply