Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.11.4 (build 3133) - 25 May 2021
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

If you are interested in supporting Cumulus then maybe you would like to contribute to the maintenance of the Wiki? This need not take hours of your time - just a half hour here and there can make a big difference, particularly if many people are doing this. Any contributions are very welcome, whether they involve new content or editing of existing content. It will be very helpful to current and future users of Cumulus software if the Wiki is kept well-maintained and current. If you are interested then please contact forum user saratogaWX and ask for a Wiki account.

SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Hardware/software/hints and tips/discussion/webcam links etc
User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by beteljuice »

The beteljuice said:
beteljuice wrote:...
However; I note that on all the example links JW player (JavaScript) is being used to present the videos.
You are relying on the operating system / browser combination to play the 'embedded' video rather than providing a player medium for it.

If I go to the video url I can see it (I have QT, DivX, VLC player, Windows Media Player 'plugins'), but I don't get anything on the 'wrapper' page.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
ace2
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue 14 Jan 2014 12:38 pm
Weather Station: maxkon ws-1081pc
Operating System: windows 7 & 8
Location: Adelaide, south Australia, Australia
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by ace2 »

How can we fix this issue????
CHRIS
Image
web site
http://www.ace2weather.com
Follow me on Twitter
http://tinyurl.com/kwlr9re
YouTube channel
http://tinyurl.com/lehwpgp
Facebook page
http://tinyurl.com/k3sap4s
Tiny URL links used

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by beteljuice »

... JW player (JavaScript) is being used to present the videos.
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by beteljuice »

There are several free 'players' - some require registratiom, some don't - some have logos, some don't - etc. etc.

A few examples (some in non-english but reasonably self evident)

http://monmoulin.fr/kawa_player_video_flash.html
http://www.videojs.com/
http://www.gdd.ro/free-flash-flv-player
http://sublimevideo.net/
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
ace2
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue 14 Jan 2014 12:38 pm
Weather Station: maxkon ws-1081pc
Operating System: windows 7 & 8
Location: Adelaide, south Australia, Australia
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by ace2 »

So would that still mean i require 2 video files, one mp4 and one flv??
CHRIS
Image
web site
http://www.ace2weather.com
Follow me on Twitter
http://tinyurl.com/kwlr9re
YouTube channel
http://tinyurl.com/lehwpgp
Facebook page
http://tinyurl.com/k3sap4s
Tiny URL links used

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by beteljuice »

@@@@@ ace2
KAWA video test - mp4

I do not intend to make a habit of clogging up my webspace and going step by step with you ....
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
MackerelSky
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri 01 Apr 2011 8:14 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 w/FARS
Operating System: Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 x64
Location: Smethport, Pa.
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by MackerelSky »

beteljuice wrote:@@@@@ ace2
I do not intend to make a habit of clogging up my webspace and going step by step with you ....
lol...

videojs is what I choose late last year and I've had no complaints of not being able to see my vids on any platform and mine are all Mp4s

If someone has had a problem, they haven't mentioned it.

Brad
Davis VP2/FARS
Cumulus 1.9.4(1092)

McKean Weather
'cause not everyone lives at the airport

Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 8571
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by mcrossley »

If it is Flash based it presumably will not run on iDevices or Android? Just tried beteljuice's test page on my Android phone and it don't work (4.4 = no Flash).

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 3232
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: W10 - Threadripper 16core, etc
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by beteljuice »

As an out of touch (read - what has happened to compatabilty - again) old fogey, I hereby retire from this thread :(
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 8571
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2/WLL
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by mcrossley »

I'd get off to the pub, best place for us old fogies

User avatar
ace2
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue 14 Jan 2014 12:38 pm
Weather Station: maxkon ws-1081pc
Operating System: windows 7 & 8
Location: Adelaide, south Australia, Australia
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by ace2 »

Lol......


But I do think I'm one of those old ones!!
CHRIS
Image
web site
http://www.ace2weather.com
Follow me on Twitter
http://tinyurl.com/kwlr9re
YouTube channel
http://tinyurl.com/lehwpgp
Facebook page
http://tinyurl.com/k3sap4s
Tiny URL links used

westonweather
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun 29 Dec 2013 8:37 am
Weather Station: WMR88
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by westonweather »

mcrossley wrote:If it is Flash based it presumably will not run on iDevices or Android? Just tried beteljuice's test page on my Android phone and it don't work (4.4 = no Flash).
This is becoming a problem more & more now, finding a format that works across all browers & devices.

What I've ended up with seems to work for most people - including me, so I'm leaving it as is. If they can't see the videos they can still see the screenshot. Certainly something I should do though is include a link to eack of the videos so they can be downloaded if they won't play embeded. Next time I'm logged in to the server I will change the code to give a download link.

westonweather
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun 29 Dec 2013 8:37 am
Weather Station: WMR88
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by westonweather »

http://www.westonweather.co.uk/webcam.php

Like so ^^^

I presume most people will be able to play MP4, even if they can't play it embeded?

edited to say - I purchased my Sebetec Licence. A quick and painless process with the 10% Cumulus Users discount quickly refunded.

sebectec
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat 08 Mar 2014 6:18 pm
Weather Station: sebeclake.net
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Boston

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by sebectec »

SebecTec now has the option to have sunrise/sunset start/stop based on latitude and longitude. That is for the image capture. The same option is separately available for the time-lapse production.

-Mike

User avatar
MackerelSky
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri 01 Apr 2011 8:14 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 w/FARS
Operating System: Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 x64
Location: Smethport, Pa.
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Post by MackerelSky »

sebectec wrote:SebecTec now has the option to have sunrise/sunset start/stop based on latitude and longitude. That is for the image capture. The same option is separately available for the time-lapse production.

-Mike
Got my attention Mike. Went to your site but didn't see an upgrade/update area.
Please advise...

Thx
Brad
Davis VP2/FARS
Cumulus 1.9.4(1092)

McKean Weather
'cause not everyone lives at the airport

Image

Post Reply