Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.13.8 (build 3154) - 09 November 2021

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

If you are interested in supporting Cumulus then maybe you would like to contribute to the maintenance of the Wiki? This need not take hours of your time - just a half hour here and there can make a big difference, particularly if many people are doing this. Any contributions are very welcome, whether they involve new content or editing of existing content. It will be very helpful to current and future users of Cumulus software if the Wiki is kept well-maintained and current. If you are interested then please contact forum user saratogaWX and ask for a Wiki account.

Webcam software

Hardware/software/hints and tips/discussion/webcam links etc
Post Reply
Pirate3000
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri 29 Jan 2021 3:56 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10
Contact:

Webcam software

Post by Pirate3000 »

Hi all.
at present i have several Ip cams setup for security and want to use one of them for a weathercam.
Im using a small logitech webcam and its been working fine for ages now, and have been using Yawcam (For some reason wont log into the ip cameras) for the upload.
BUT does anyone use a better software that will upload an image every 20 mins or so to the weather site.
I have tried a couple with no luck.
any help?
thanks for all help given
:|
Anything's possible with the weather.

http://www.sw1957.co.uk/dash/banner.php

kannema
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed 30 Sep 2009 7:13 am
Weather Station: davis pro
Operating System: Windows
Location: Boelenslaan
Contact:

Re: Webcam software

Post by kannema »


freddie
Posts: 1546
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 + Ecowitt
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Webcam software

Post by freddie »

Freddie
Image

Phil23
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat 16 Jul 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2+ & GW1000 (Standalone)
Operating System: Win10 Pro / rPi Buster
Location: Australia

Re: Webcam software

Post by Phil23 »

kannema wrote:
Sun 12 Sep 2021 4:32 pm
Try Ispy https://www.ispyconnect.com/
Yes used iSpy for years before now upgrade to their new offering called Agent DVR.
Does both my uploads as well as creates time lapses locally.

Have yet to try to se how it ill run on a pi.
:Now: :Today/Yesterday:

Image

Main Station Davis VP2+ Running Via Win10 Pro.
Secondary Stations, Ecowitt HP2551/GW1000 Via rPi 3 & 4 Running Buster GUI.
:Local Inverell Ecowitt Station: :Remote Ashford Ecowitt Station:

scudwatcher
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat 05 Jun 2021 1:24 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus w/FARS
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Webcam software

Post by scudwatcher »

I have four Reolink 511w webcams running on IPTimelapse Pro at https://iptimelapse.com/iptimelapse-pro/.
Davis VP2 Plus 24 Hour FARS (Wireless) | Davis Weatherlink Live | Meteobridge Pro Red |Saratoga Base USA /Weather Display | Cumulus 1 Legacy | CumulusMX WLL |

Nottub
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri 04 Dec 2020 4:35 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 (Cabled)
Operating System: RPi 4
Contact:

Re: Webcam software

Post by Nottub »

Managed to set my webcam up using the Pi inbuilt VLC media player using the 'rstp streaming Channels function' to save a snapshot from my IP camera locally.

Then use CumulusMX Extra 'Web Files Function' to upload the image.

https://www.calvertoncam.co.uk/weather/ ... webcam.jpg

I remember scatching my head trying to get it to work.


Nottub

water01
Posts: 2295
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Webcam software

Post by water01 »

I second IPTimeLapse, very good program with lots of options.
David
Image

Mapantz
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Webcam software

Post by Mapantz »

I third IPTimelapse.

It's not very often that I buy software, but I paid for it, as it does everything without fault. Mike, the author of it, is extremely helpful too!
Image

freddie
Posts: 1546
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 + Ecowitt
Operating System: GNU/Linux Ubuntu 20.04 LXC
Location: Alcaston, Shropshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Webcam software

Post by freddie »

Mapantz wrote:
Wed 13 Oct 2021 7:35 pm
I third IPTimelapse.
Ah, it's Windows only - probably why I hadn't heard of it.
Freddie
Image

water01
Posts: 2295
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Webcam software

Post by water01 »

I agree with Mapantz. I have been using it for two months now and I paid for a license but it is well worth it. Works faultlessly, and has many options to get your image with overlays. Also contains it's own FTP client so you do not have to use MX to do the upload. Picked up by external IP camera no problem using the rtsp protocol but supports others. Mark, the developer is great if you want help and replies within a day if you email him.

Well worth the cost for reliable software.
David
Image

Mapantz
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Webcam software

Post by Mapantz »

Has anyone used IPTimelapse to stream their cam live on YouTube?

After being promised FTTC broadband 14 years ago, and then being told last year that fibre will never come to this part of town, Openreach have installed overhead fibre cables in this street and said that full fibre will be coming within 4 - 6 weeks.

On that knowledge, I will now be able to stream my camera in real-time, with no delays and in max settings. I thought I'd set up a YouTube account specifically for the stream purpose, and kind of get things ready for when I get fibre.

https://www.youtube.com/embed/live_stre ... CHyfnhTWhA

I've got the stream going, but unfortunately, I can only go to 500Kbps (That is half of my upload bandwidth speed) and YouTube recommends a minimum of 4500Kbps.

The stream keeps stopping on its own, in IPTimelapse, not sure why? I've got the bandwidth capped my end and I have been monitoring my network - no issues. It seems like IPTimelapse decides to give up reading my IP camera..
Image

Post Reply