Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.9.1 (build 3096) - 31 October 2020 (please see announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

Use this Wiki link to Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items).

Highcharts Graphs

Discussion and support for 3rd-party (non-Sandaysoft) tools for Cumulus
Post Reply
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7219
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by mcrossley »

OK, that means that the script has already output an error message prior to reaching the final output at line 153 onwards. Are you capturing the output from realtimeLogParser.php? If not you either need to arrange it, or run the script manually from a browser between midnight and 4am.

Edit: Oh, and take a copy of your 'realtime.log' file at the same time, the content of that may be revealing.

Mapantz
Posts: 863
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by Mapantz »

mcrossley wrote:OK, that means that the script has already output an error message prior to reaching the final output at line 153 onwards. Are you capturing the output from realtimeLogParser.php? If not you either need to arrange it, or run the script manually from a browser between midnight and 4am.

Edit: Oh, and take a copy of your 'realtime.log' file at the same time, the content of that may be revealing.
I'm not too clued up with it all if i'm honest but i can show you anything that may help solve it?

http://www.wareham-weather.co.uk/realtime.log

http://www.wareham-weather.co.uk/realtimeCumulus.js

http://www.wareham-weather.co.uk/realtimeCumulus.htm

Let me know of anything else.
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7219
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by mcrossley »

You're realtime log file seems to start at midnight. Is it getting deleted at midnight and built up again from there? It should be a 'rolling' log, always containing the required time span of data.

Mapantz
Posts: 863
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by Mapantz »

mcrossley wrote:You're realtime log file seems to start at midnight. Is it getting deleted at midnight and built up again from there? It should be a 'rolling' log, always containing the required time span of data.
Toolbox is pruning the log file to one day.
Image

User avatar
meteotortosa
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008 12:15 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Tortosa-Baix Ebre- Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by meteotortosa »

I have not been able to install the graphics. The instructions do not give much detail

:oops:
Weather in Tortosa (NE Spain), updated every 15'
Image Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7219
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by mcrossley »

I still haven't put a 'package' together :( - it's on the to-do list...

User avatar
meteotortosa
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008 12:15 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Tortosa-Baix Ebre- Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by meteotortosa »

mcrossley wrote:I still haven't put a 'package' together :( - it's on the to-do list...
;)
Weather in Tortosa (NE Spain), updated every 15'
Image Image

Mapantz
Posts: 863
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by Mapantz »

I set the realtimeCumulus.js to pick up 8 hours worth of data last night, it's almost midday here and it's almost 6am where my server is hosted, no data is showing at all ..

http://www.wareham-weather.co.uk/realtimeCumulus.htm

When it gets to 8am where the server is hosted then the data will start showing again.
There's obviously a timezone issue with this code but i don't know enough about js to work it out.

:cry:
Image

Mapantz
Posts: 863
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by Mapantz »

I set the realtimeCumulus.js to pick up 8 hours worth of data last night, it's almost midday here and it's almost 6am where my server is hosted, no data is showing at all ..

http://www.wareham-weather.co.uk/realtimeCumulus.htm

When it gets to 8am where the server is hosted then the data will start showing again.
There's obviously a timezone issue with this code but i don't know enough about js to work it out.

:cry:
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 7219
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Buster Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by mcrossley »

There is definitely something odd happening with the time. Looking at that graph now, I got this...
Untitled picture.png
The data jumps back in time 30 minutes, then forward nearly an hour. But when I refreshed the page, the graph was normal, no jump back in time!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Mapantz
Posts: 863
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by Mapantz »

I've given up with this now. Cumulus toolbox is cocking up every day now too. It's been uploading successfully and then failing to upload every other minute now and it keeps freezing, due to this i never get any decent data showing.
Image

User avatar
duke
Posts: 838
Joined: Sun 03 Jul 2011 6:23 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 - 64 bit
Location: Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by duke »

Mapantz wrote:Cumulus toolbox is cocking up every day now too
I have never been able to get the 'toolbox' to run successfully. There are better, more powerful options to 'toolbox' - IMO.
Duke

Nightingale Weather
Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK
------------------------------------------------------
Validate your pages - often!

water01
Posts: 2004
Joined: Sat 13 Aug 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Burnham-on-Sea
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by water01 »

Well I disagree. I have Cumulus Toolbox installed on both Windows XP and Windows 7 and it does everything it says it does perfectly correctly, and has never missed a beat. It is a very reliable program.
David
Image

gemini06720
Posts: 1700
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 10:16 pm
Weather Station: No weather station
Operating System: No operating system
Location: World...

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by gemini06720 »

water01 wrote:Well I disagree.
Well David, you might disagree as much as you want on the reliability of the 'Cumulus Toolbox but many people have had problems with the software, including myself, and on more than one operating system... :roll:

I have since moved to better supported software (or software that are still supported by their designers), ones that might not be specific to Cumulus, but ones that can do almost everything the Cumulus Toolbox can do and a lot more - I call that flexibility. ;)

As for any software, some will run perfectly and quite reliably on one computer and will crash every minutes on another computer ... and no one seems to be able to provide a solution... :(

captzero
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 03 Mar 2010 10:20 am
Weather Station: Vantage Pro2 w/ daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Highcharts Graphs

Post by captzero »

Hi Ray,
gemini06720 wrote:
I have since moved to better supported software (or software that are still supported by their designers), ones that might not be specific to Cumulus, but ones that can do almost everything the Cumulus Toolbox can do and a lot more - I call that flexibility.
What software might that be Ray? You often refer to or mention something in a post but give no details or specifics. I'd be interested in knowing what software you are using to replace Cumulus Toolbox. I'll happily swap over from CT and /or pay for a reliable alternative.
Dan

http://www.brisbaneliveweather.com




A man with a thermometer always knows the temperature. A man with two thermometers, not so sure.

Post Reply