Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.0 build 3046 - 02 January 2019. See the Wiki for download

display range of images on temp ?

Discussion and support for 3rd-party (non-Sandaysoft) tools for Cumulus
Post Reply
User avatar
Paul-G0HWC
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu 26 Apr 2012 6:36 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Clacton on Sea, Essex
Contact:

display range of images on temp ?

Post by Paul-G0HWC » Tue 08 May 2012 6:20 am

Hi all,
I have searched the site but don't see what I am looking for.
I would like to have a set of images and dependent on the
outside temp a image would be displayed relating to that
on my website. Is there anything like this that will allow
me to have my own set of images ?

Paul
Image

Weather: http://www.g0hwc.com/weather
Ham Radio: http://www.g0hwc.com
TruckCam: http://www.truckcam.tv Live video and tracking from my truck

User avatar
TNETWeather
Posts: 663
Joined: Wed 17 Sep 2008 1:34 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus w/24 FARS
Operating System: WinX Pro SP3 Dedicated wstn
Location: Mesa, AZ USA
Contact:

Re: display range of images on temp ?

Post by TNETWeather » Sun 20 May 2012 4:56 pm

If you are using PHP, it is pretty easy. You setup an array with the images you want, and then an array to match the temp zones for those images. Grab the current temp value and do a compare and the script then outputs the image file to use for the current temp zone.

Example Live Running script (NOTE that the grey would NOT be output by the script, only the image file so you can insert it into your page):

http://cumulus.tnetweather.com/test/temp_image.php

Code Snippet is below:

Code: Select all

<?php

// Code for getting the current temp not included in snippet

// Range of temps.  The second value is the highest value matched
$RANGE = array();
$RANGE[0][0] = -1;  $RANGE[0][1] = "verycold.jpg";
$RANGE[1][0] = 45;  $RANGE[1][1] = "cold.jpg";
$RANGE[2][0] = 70;  $RANGE[2][1] = "mild.jpg";
$RANGE[3][0] = 90;  $RANGE[3][1] = "warm.jpg";
$RANGE[4][0] = 100; $RANGE[4][1] = "hot.jpg";
$RANGE[5][0] = 110; $RANGE[5][1] = "smokinghot.jpg";

$found = 0;
foreach($RANGE as $key => $val) {
    if ($cur_temp >= $val) {
        $found = $key;
    }
}

echo $IMAGES[$found];
// We be done...
Kevin
Image
All you need is Time, Aptitude and Desire ... and you can build just about anything...

User avatar
Paul-G0HWC
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu 26 Apr 2012 6:36 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Clacton on Sea, Essex
Contact:

Re: display range of images on temp ?

Post by Paul-G0HWC » Sun 20 May 2012 5:16 pm

Hi Kevin,

That looks like just what I want to use but I know nothing about php :|
I guess I need to get my hear around php now.

Thanks again :clap:

Paul
Image

Weather: http://www.g0hwc.com/weather
Ham Radio: http://www.g0hwc.com
TruckCam: http://www.truckcam.tv Live video and tracking from my truck

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5317
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: display range of images on temp ?

Post by mcrossley » Sun 20 May 2012 6:24 pm

And the equivalent client side javascript if you do not have access to PHP could be..

Code: Select all

// Range of temps (Farenhiet assumed).  The first value is the highest value matched
var range, len;
range = [
    [-999, "verycold.jpg"],
    [45, "cold.jpg"],
    [70, "mild.jpg"],
    [90,  "warm.jpg"],
    [100, "hot.jpg"],
    [110, "smokinghot.jpg"]];

for (len = range.length; len; len--) {
    if (cur_temp >= range[len][0]) {
        document.getElementById("img_id").src = range[len][0];
        break;
    }
}

User avatar
Paul-G0HWC
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu 26 Apr 2012 6:36 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Clacton on Sea, Essex
Contact:

Re: display range of images on temp ?

Post by Paul-G0HWC » Mon 04 Jun 2012 6:28 pm

I am now using the Weather Blues templates and found it has this
feture built in. I have now made my own set of Forcast images


Nice to have a bit of FUN with the weather LOL

See what you think?
http://www.g0hwc.com/weather/index.htm

Paul
Image

Weather: http://www.g0hwc.com/weather
Ham Radio: http://www.g0hwc.com
TruckCam: http://www.truckcam.tv Live video and tracking from my truck

User avatar
robynfali
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sat 31 Jul 2010 10:34 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows XP
Location: Anglesey, North Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: display range of images on temp ?

Post by robynfali » Mon 04 Jun 2012 6:32 pm

You sharing those lol


BRING ON SUNNY WEATHER!

User avatar
MickinMoulden
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon 20 Dec 2010 12:12 pm
Weather Station: WS-1081 with rain gauge mod
Operating System: Windows 7 & 1.9.3 b1059
Location: Palmerston, NT, Australia
Contact:

Re: display range of images on temp ?

Post by MickinMoulden » Wed 06 Jun 2012 1:08 pm

I do a similar thing. For temp I have 6.
I do think you need to crop the pics to the right size. The rain one looked odd (although I have seen the full res version, and she is quite nice.).
Michael, Palmerston, NT Australia www.Palmerston-WeatherImageNo image? I'm offline!
ImageImage

User avatar
Paul-G0HWC
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu 26 Apr 2012 6:36 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Clacton on Sea, Essex
Contact:

Re: display range of images on temp ?

Post by Paul-G0HWC » Thu 07 Jun 2012 3:42 pm

MickinMoulden Looking at my pages in Firefox and IE the weather images fit the box
just right. What are you viewing my pages in ?

And

robynfali They are very easy to make, just get a bunch of images and
add the weather image over it.

Paul
Image

Weather: http://www.g0hwc.com/weather
Ham Radio: http://www.g0hwc.com
TruckCam: http://www.truckcam.tv Live video and tracking from my truck

User avatar
MickinMoulden
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon 20 Dec 2010 12:12 pm
Weather Station: WS-1081 with rain gauge mod
Operating System: Windows 7 & 1.9.3 b1059
Location: Palmerston, NT, Australia
Contact:

Re: display range of images on temp ?

Post by MickinMoulden » Fri 08 Jun 2012 7:35 am

Paul-G0HWC wrote:MickinMoulden Looking at my pages in Firefox and IE the weather images fit the box
just right. What are you viewing my pages in ?

Paul
Paul, I'm viewing in IE, but your image is 211x136 but seems that it needs to be wider as there are blue bars down each side.
Michael, Palmerston, NT Australia www.Palmerston-WeatherImageNo image? I'm offline!
ImageImage

User avatar
TNETWeather
Posts: 663
Joined: Wed 17 Sep 2008 1:34 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus w/24 FARS
Operating System: WinX Pro SP3 Dedicated wstn
Location: Mesa, AZ USA
Contact:

Re: display range of images on temp ?

Post by TNETWeather » Fri 08 Jun 2012 8:48 am

MickinMoulden wrote:
Paul-G0HWC wrote:MickinMoulden Looking at my pages in Firefox and IE the weather images fit the box
just right. What are you viewing my pages in ?

Paul
Paul, I'm viewing in IE, but your image is 211x136 but seems that it needs to be wider as there are blue bars down each side.
To fit properly, the image needs to be sized 219x138

That would make it "fill" the entire box used by the forecast
Kevin
Image
All you need is Time, Aptitude and Desire ... and you can build just about anything...

User avatar
Paul-G0HWC
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu 26 Apr 2012 6:36 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Clacton on Sea, Essex
Contact:

Re: display range of images on temp ?

Post by Paul-G0HWC » Fri 08 Jun 2012 6:02 pm

Hi Kevin,

I could not move the image over any more thatn I have so left a small gap each side
I ended up using:
<img src="images/meteo/<#forecastnumber>.png" style="padding: 20px 0px 10px 0px" alt="Forecast icon" title="Forecast icon" />

I did try -10px in the last but negative don't seem to work??

Maybe I should go and have another try to move it left a bit more

Paul
Image

Weather: http://www.g0hwc.com/weather
Ham Radio: http://www.g0hwc.com
TruckCam: http://www.truckcam.tv Live video and tracking from my truck

User avatar
Paul-G0HWC
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu 26 Apr 2012 6:36 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Win 7
Location: Clacton on Sea, Essex
Contact:

Re: display range of images on temp ?

Post by Paul-G0HWC » Fri 08 Jun 2012 6:49 pm

Just worked it out, This css is new to me.
Just going to adjust all the images


Paul
Image

Weather: http://www.g0hwc.com/weather
Ham Radio: http://www.g0hwc.com
TruckCam: http://www.truckcam.tv Live video and tracking from my truck

Post Reply