Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See the Wiki for download

SFTP support on Cumulus Toolsbox??

Discussion and support for 3rd-party (non-Sandaysoft) tools for Cumulus
Post Reply
User avatar
yv1hx
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon 05 Apr 2010 10:40 pm
Weather Station: WX-200 / WS-2310
Operating System: Win XP Professional
Location: Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela

SFTP support on Cumulus Toolsbox??

Post by yv1hx » Sun 28 Aug 2011 7:19 pm

Hello all Weather Enthusiasts,

Due the unsafe nature of the FTP protocol, this will be phased out in few weeks from our main web server, there is any possibility to upgrade the Toolsbox for support the encrypted SFTP protocol?

Thanks in advance,
Marco-Luis
YV1HX
Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela
http://www.twitter.com/meteoven

User avatar
JennyLeez
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed 16 Dec 2009 2:32 am
Weather Station: La Crosse WS3083
Operating System: Windows XP, Win7 & Win 10
Location: Wairoa, Hawkes Bay. New Zealand.
Contact:

Re: SFTP support on Cumulus Toolsbox??

Post by JennyLeez » Mon 29 Aug 2011 9:34 am

yv1hx wrote:Hello all Weather Enthusiasts,

Due the unsafe nature of the FTP protocol, this will be phased out in few weeks from our main web server, there is any possibility to upgrade the Toolsbox for support the encrypted SFTP protocol?

Thanks in advance,
When my server changed to SFTP nothing altered at my end. My files just continued to upload.
I did however add a second SFTP with a different password and changed login to upload through this just in case :)
But either work.
Cheers
Wairoa, Hawkes Bay, New Zealand Weather Station:
http://wairoa.net/weather/index.htm
Cumulus Topsites:
http://cumulussites.net/
Image

User avatar
yv1hx
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon 05 Apr 2010 10:40 pm
Weather Station: WX-200 / WS-2310
Operating System: Win XP Professional
Location: Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela

Re: SFTP support on Cumulus Toolsbox??

Post by yv1hx » Wed 31 Aug 2011 2:21 pm

JennyLeez wrote: When my server changed to SFTP nothing altered at my end. My files just continued to upload.
I did however add a second SFTP with a different password and changed login to
Ummm...sound like both protocols still active...they are entirely different protocols..
Marco-Luis
YV1HX
Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela
http://www.twitter.com/meteoven

User avatar
daj
Posts: 2041
Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008 8:00 pm
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Pi & MX
Location: SW Scotland
Contact:

Re: SFTP support on Cumulus Toolsbox??

Post by daj » Wed 31 Aug 2011 2:25 pm

I can look into support for SFTP in Toolbox. You realise Cumulus does not support SFTP either?
David
kippfordweather.uk
Cumulus MX & Raspberry Pi

User avatar
yv1hx
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon 05 Apr 2010 10:40 pm
Weather Station: WX-200 / WS-2310
Operating System: Win XP Professional
Location: Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela

Re: SFTP support on Cumulus Toolsbox??

Post by yv1hx » Wed 31 Aug 2011 3:02 pm

Hello David,
daj wrote:I can look into support for SFTP in Toolbox. You realise Cumulus does not support SFTP either?
I´m aware of this situation, I think this solution http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/SFTP should be ok for us.

Our network management (a .gob domain) is very strictly and they are scheduling security enhancements.

Your support will be very appreciated.
Marco-Luis
YV1HX
Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela
http://www.twitter.com/meteoven

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: SFTP support on Cumulus Toolsbox??

Post by steve » Wed 31 Aug 2011 3:07 pm

daj wrote:You realise Cumulus does not support SFTP either?
Marco-Luis raised an enhancement request, but my reply was that there are no free SFTP components for Delphi (as far as I am aware) and I don't think there is sufficient demand to justify the cost of commercial components.





And I'd have to write a whole lot of new code.
Steve

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: SFTP support on Cumulus Toolsbox??

Post by mcrossley » Wed 31 Aug 2011 3:16 pm

Steve

Would it be possible to use Putty, or at least PLink? Which is open source...
A.4.3 How can I use PuTTY to make an SSH connection from within another program?

Probably your best bet is to use Plink, the command-line connection tool. If you can start Plink as a second Windows process, and arrange for your primary process to be able to send data to the Plink process, and receive data from it, through pipes, then you should be able to make SSH connections from your program.

This is what CVS for Windows does, for example.
http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: SFTP support on Cumulus Toolsbox??

Post by steve » Wed 31 Aug 2011 3:26 pm

mcrossley wrote:Would it be possible to use Putty, or at least PLink? Which is open source...
Or PSFTP, perhaps. But the wiki's batch file solution is probably better than grafting an external application onto Cumulus.
Steve

User avatar
WurliTzerwilly
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 14 Nov 2014 9:33 am
Weather Station: Watson 8681 Solar
Operating System: MS Windows 7
Location: South Coast, UK

Re: SFTP support on Cumulus Toolsbox??

Post by WurliTzerwilly » Mon 29 Feb 2016 11:02 am

FWIW I just jumped through hoops to get SFTP to work, but finally succeeded. :D

The script examples for WinSCP are almost correct for most people, but in my case I needed to change the port number which is easy once you know how - just put a :[port #] at the end of the URL.

You also need to specify the filename as part of the full remote path.

If you want the update time to be displayed correctly on the index page and on the gauges page, as well as uploading "realtime.txt" you also need to upload "web\index.html" and "web\gauges.html". That means there are 3 "put" commands.
Regards,

Alan.

Post Reply