Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.6 (build 3082) - 1 June 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Discussion and support for 3rd-party (non-Sandaysoft) tools for Cumulus
sutne
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun 14 Oct 2012 4:23 pm
Weather Station: Oregon Scientific WMR100
Operating System: Raspbian Buster
Location: Rjoanddalen, Voss, Norway

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by sutne »

In my views the legends inside the graphs are in english:
Image 05.05.2020 at 08.53 2.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

sfws
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Modified Fine Offset
Operating System: Win. 10 PC
Location: The Marches, UK

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by sfws »

BCJKiwi wrote:
Mon 04 May 2020 8:29 pm
@ sutne
When I view your site the gauges pop up graph legends are in the language selected.
Not for me.
sutne wrote:
Tue 05 May 2020 7:01 am
n my views the legends inside the graphs are in english:
Same in my views of your page. The headings outside the graph box change language, but the graph title and legend (identifying which coloured line is what) stays in English. In other words the language module is not adjusting items within the graph.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by BCJKiwi »

graph title and legend (identifying which coloured line is what) stays in English.
OK always been like that. Have not considered if they could be changed - will put it on the end of the "nice to have" list.
No part of the pop up graphs is handled by the main language system.
The top part is handled by gauges, the graph content is handled by jpgraph
checking on jpGraph's site they only mention language in relation to error messages - any jpgraph guru like to take a look at that?

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2921
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: ex XP SP3 - now W10 laptop grr
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by beteljuice »

the beteljuice suggests that what you want may be in the .php files ?

Code: Select all

//  CumulusMX Only
        // These are the MX charts graphs
                    ['graphTempHum.php', 'graphTempIn.php'],            // Temperature: outdoor, indoor
      // Temperature: dewpoint,           apparent,           windChill,          heatIndex,          humidex
                    ['graphTempHum.php', 'graphTempHum.php', 'graphTempHum.php', 'graphTempHum.php', 'graphTempHum.php'],
                    'graphRain.php',                                    // Rainfall
                    'graphRain.php',                                    // Rainfall rate
                    ['graphHumOut.php', 'graphHumIn.php'],              // Humidity: outdoor, indoor
                    'graphPress.php',                                   // Pressure
                    'graphWind.php',                                    // Wind speed
                    'graphWdir.php',                                    // Wind direction
                    (config.showUvGauge    ? 'graphUV.php' : null),     // UV graph if UV sensor is present | =null if no UV sensor
                    (config.showSolarGauge ? 'graphSolar.php' : null),  // Solar rad graph if Solar sensor is present | Solar =null if no Solar sensor
                    (config.showRoseGauge  ? 'graphWindRose.php' : null),   // Wind direction if Rose is enabled | =null if Rose is disabled
                    (config.showCloudGauge ? 'graphPress.php' : null)   // Pressure for cloud height | =null if Cloud Height is disabled

                ];
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

malkie
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun 02 Jan 2011 9:38 am
Weather Station: Davis Vision-Vue
Operating System: Raspbian Jessie
Location: Stevenage, Herts, UK

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by malkie »

I was a bit late to this particular party, but Lockdown has given me the chance to play...

Just a test site so far but I have it working eventually.

http://elm30net.ddns.net/test/

Running on a Pi2 from home. I intend to move it out of test status to be my main site which has been running from home since late last year. I really like the MX Interface, and getting NOAA working plus all the other add-ons are a bonus.

I’m sure there are settings I need to fine tune, but I’m pleased with the result.

The Scripts are a long way from “plug and play”, but I got there slowly.

One error I remember, the C:\CumulusMX\Cumulus.ini file has an upper case C, for those of us using Linux on a Pi, it matters!
Malcolm
North Herts, UK
http://elm30net.ddns.net
CumulusMX on Raspberry Pi B+, running on Raspbian jessie, from a Davis Vantage Vue.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by BCJKiwi »

Thanks will update the howto files in the next release.

Gregorean
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 12 May 2020 11:41 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: BeagleBone Black Rev.C
Location: Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by Gregorean »

Hello everyone, this is my first post on this forum. I've got CumulusMX 3076 running on a Beaglebone Black 3c, with Debian 10 Buster and NGINX and PHP7.3.
I host my own website locally and here you can see http://element14.serverthuis.nl which is off line now because I am working on the new UIwebsiteMX.

Did everything exactly as described in the how-to, it worked once but for some inexplicable reason not anymore.
Therefore I started ''clean'' again to prevent any possible mistakes.

In the how-to it says:
Each .php page file utilises 'includes' to link in the following:-
settings.php, style sheets required for this page.
JavaScript files required for this page.
css files required for this page.
nav_menu.php the navigation menu or menu bar
the page itself - dashboard, now, gauges etc... footer.php

This above does not work for me, if I enter these files manually in index.php I will see my new website.
I used the website of our esteemed BJCKiwi as an example, which made this all possible. :) But manual editing apart from a lot of work can of course not be the intention. A few more questions about this, do I just have to upload the 4 files ''realtime-x.txt'' and ''realtimetags.php'' and ''CUtags.php'' and ''records.js'' that are in the web folder via Extra Webfiles to my domain, or do I have to upload all files that are already in the root of my BBB (beagle bone black) server by default.
I hope someone from the specialists can help me with this, I am not a specialist in this field.

Greetings Sjaak.

sfws
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Modified Fine Offset
Operating System: Win. 10 PC
Location: The Marches, UK

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by sfws »

Gregorean wrote:
Tue 19 May 2020 12:28 pm
I hope someone from the specialists can help me with this, I am not a specialist in this field.
I don't pretend to exactly understand what you have done, but if you have ALL the files installed in the same folder as instructed by BCJKiwi, the includes should work. End of story.

If those files are in correct places and the "includes" do not work,it could be your PHP set-up needs a change. I fear the answer is a bit technical and complicated, but I am trying to make it fairly clear. In short, includes will fail if the PHP parser cannot find the files it is asked to include where it looks for them.

Any implementation of PHP has a file somewhere that acts like a php.ini as described in PHP documentation. I say it like that because the file does not have to be called "php.ini" but there will be a settings file somewhere that says what name this file has. In that "php.ini" file it includes where PHP is to look for files that are included by scripts. My guess is that your installation cannot find the files because they are not in a location found from those listed. I might be wrong, because I have no knowledge of your installation.

There are various ways to find your php.ini file, for me the code that follows, although a bit complex, is the best for easily displaying the file you are in, and the location of the php.ini file being used.

Code: Select all

$inifile = php_ini_loaded_file();
if ($inifile)
			{
					echo 'This script (' . __FILE__ . ') is running with php.ini loaded from: ' . $inifile;
			} else {
					echo 'A php.ini file is not loaded';
			}
Having found the ini file, somewhere in it there will be a include_path = parameter and what is on the RHS will tell you where the PHP parser looks. You still may be confused, because the path may be expressed using dot notation signifying it relative to another location. But it might just help you. Include files as well as being in folders shown, can be found with a relative path from a location being searched, so by specifying a subfolder, as well as the file name in the include, if that makes sense. Or of course if you can edit your .ini file, you can add somewhere else to look. That is the technical bit over, I hope it has not made you more confused.
Gregorean wrote:
Tue 19 May 2020 12:28 pm
do I just have to upload the 4 files ''realtime-x.txt'' and ''realtimetags.php'' and ''CUtags.php'' and ''records.js'' that are in the web folder via Extra Webfiles to my domain
You should just follow the instructions that BCJKiwi has given so all files can be found on your web server in the right relative places. You can choose to place them at domain level or in a sub-folder, but the placing must be consistent for the files uploaded once-off and the extra web files.

EDIT - added colour to make this post clearer. The black text is the normal case. The blue text is for when that does not work.
Last edited by sfws on Thu 21 May 2020 5:02 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by PaulMy »

Hi Sjaak,
Brian will be best to guide you. However this is how I have my current installation, which is slightly different to the HowTo:
1. Leave the initial CumulusMX \web and \webfiles intact and uploading to website.
Looks like you have that but with some modification to the xxxT.htm files and that should be ok.

2. I created a new \web-additions and also \webfiles-UIwebsiteMX \webfiles\UIwebsiteMX-options
In the new \web-additions folder I have added the 6 files from the zip \webMX for extra FTP with 2 at realtime and the others at the normal 5-min interval and added these in the Settings Extra web files
In the new \webfiles-UIwebsiteMX folder I have copied the \webfilesMX files from the zip and then FTP (one time) to my website to the same level as the original \webfiles upload

The original yourwebsite.xx/index.htm will still work and the new yourwebsite.xx/index.php should get you the new UIMX dashboard page.

3. I then created a new \webfiles-UIwebsiteMX-options folder for the UIMX option pages and then FTP to my website

I created the new \web-additions folder to better manage any new files for processing CumulusMX processing so not to interfere with the original xxxxT.htm template files (I have other pages that CumulusMX processes and updates).
And also the new \webfiles-UIwebsiteMX and \webfiles-UIwebsiteMX-options also for easier management of the UIMX addition and changes, especially if there are updates to the template

4. Of course you would need to follow the instructions on editing the files such as ajaxCUmx.js nav_menu.php settings.php etc.

www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx
www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.php

Enjoy,
Paul

Gregorean
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 12 May 2020 11:41 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: BeagleBone Black Rev.C
Location: Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by Gregorean »

Hello Paul and don't forget @sfws, thanks for your reactions, I have to get used to it first, because English is not really my mother's language. ;)

The point is that ''includes'' doesn't work.
My web structure looks like this in WinScp my favorite editor. I also use Notepad++ sometimes, so you can compare multiple sessions.
root structure.JPG
As you can see my old CumulusMX working website is in www/html/ and my UIMX site is in www/html/cumulusmx a sub folder cumulusmx, with all the files in the local folder webfilesmx left side.
So everything is separated to rule out mistakes when experimenting, later on I can change that as Paul writes, but first it has to work properly.

My old CumulusMX website can be reached at http://element14.serverthuis.nl and my new uimx site can be found here http://element14.serverthuis.nl/cumulusmx/infophp.php (this is a php test file to see that my ''cumulusmx'' sub site does work).

Greetings Sjaak.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by PaulMy »

Hi,
I am on PC Windows and have no knowledge of Beaglebone Black 3c, with Debian 10 Buster and NGINX

A bit like you, I didn't want the current working setup (which also had some minor modifications) to be disturbed until the new was running ok, so I did a new CumulusMX install on the PC C:\CumulusMX-UI and copy in the working CumulusMX \data and \Reports folders and Cumulus.ini (edited the [FTP Site} Directory=public_html/cumulusmx in Cumulus.ini so that the FTP would go to the new website subfolder).
Also added that new subfolder on website public_html/cumulusmx
I then did the webfiles FTP to that website folder and run the new C:\CumulusMX-UI\CumulusMX.exe
I now had a clean CumulusMX install and updating to website with the original Cumulus template.

After this was working correctly, then began to do the UIMX changes. This way I could test without concern on the previous working site, just had to stop one CumulusMX.exe before running the other.

When all was done I had both www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.htm and www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.php working all from the same website location and maybe this is why I don't have any "include" issue.

Unless there are other more significant modifications you've made, I would expect that it would work correctly with modified xxxxT.htm files like you appear to be using.

Enjoy,
Paul

sfws
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Modified Fine Offset
Operating System: Win. 10 PC
Location: The Marches, UK

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by sfws »

Once again, I'm struggling with understanding enough of your set-up to solve your problem. I'm sticking to English, I can't trust that a language converter will help!

Thank you for that helpful structure diagram, it looks like all is where it should be. Like Paul, and You, I installed the UI style files in a subfolder of where my existing site was. So that is NOT the real problem, like Paul says it does complicate the uploads as MX is not designed for uploads to 2 different places. But your problem is not uploads, the failure is in linking one file to another on your web server. So as before, either the files are not in correct places or there is a technical problem resulting from the current web server set up.

It must be around dawn now in NZ, so maybe Brian (BCJKiwi) will now see your posts and spot something I am missing. Although he, like Paul, is a Windows user, he knows his package better than I do, so might know what you need to do.
Last edited by sfws on Thu 21 May 2020 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gregorean
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 12 May 2020 11:41 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: BeagleBone Black Rev.C
Location: Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by Gregorean »

Hello @sfws, your suspicion was right about ''include'', in the php.ini I saw that ''allow_url_fopen'' is On'' but ''allow_url_include'' is Off. I set and saved that On and restarted NGINX/PHP but no result. :cry:
I haven't figured out how to activate it yet, even the now deactivated ;include_path = ".:/usr/share/php"; path I need to specify is not quite clear to me yet.
I'm not very familiar with this matter as I already pointed out.

But thanks anyway for your help so far,

Sjaak.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by BCJKiwi »

Hi,

Need a CLEAR picture of the entire path structure and files, not just small parts.

Without this clear picture am unable to assist.

All the files need to be in place, not just a test file.
Also need a link to this path so can see what is happening in the site.

sfws
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Modified Fine Offset
Operating System: Win. 10 PC
Location: The Marches, UK

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by sfws »

Gregorean wrote:
Tue 19 May 2020 8:42 pm
;include_path = ".:/usr/share/php"; path I need to specify is not quite clear to me yet.
Sjaak, it is highly likely that line is just meant as an example of how to define an include path, and you are meant to add a new line with an include path that meets your needs.

Add a new line below it, repeating it, but without that leading semi-colon now. It is that semi-colon (;) that activates/deactivates.

Without any include path defined, any include has to specify the path to find it in a complex way that we can safely ignore.

Below is an example based on part of the include path I use. Hopefully you can use this to work out how to edit that line I have just asked you to insert.

Code: Select all

include_path = ${US_ROOTF_WWW}\weather\cumulus_generated;${US_ROOTF_WWW}\weather\webfilesMX;${US_ROOTF_WWW}\weather\php_scripts;.;"
The "${US_ROOTF_WWW}\" is what my web server uses to identify its 'www' root.
From the diagram you posted, your equivalent might be "".:/usr/www", but that might be wrong, because as Brian said, we are struggling with very little information. I appreciate that as you don't understand enough, you don't know what information would help us. But you do presumably know how to specify your root, and that is what you need to use.

The "weather\cumulus_generated" is where Cumulus normally uploads to (standard files). Sjaak, I'm guessing your equivalent is "html", but I might be wrong.

The "weather\webfilesMX" is where I have installed BCJKiwi's UI package. Sjaak, I guessing your equivalent is "html\cumulusmx", but I might be wrong. What you need is a path to root (the bit I quoted above) followed by path (equivalent to my example) from there to where you are testing the UI style Multilingual package.

The "weather\php_scripts" is where I have scripts that do not need processing or uploading from Cumulus. You won't have any equivalent, but I included this to show you can always add another path easily, so you can try lots of possible combinations in one go.

Post Reply