Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release 3.6.10 (build 3086) - 24 June 2020 (please see important announcement regarding releases since 3.5.0)
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of the NOAA report and Snow Index drop-down menus to 2030)

See the Wiki to download the software or click on the Downloads link in the Forum Banner.

CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Discussion and support for 3rd-party (non-Sandaysoft) tools for Cumulus
BCJKiwi
Posts: 962
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by BCJKiwi »

This is an artefact of the spacer configured to position the page below the menu.
The next release eliminates the need for this spacer.
In the meantime it may be removed by changing this line (just below the <body> tag)
<table><tr><td style="line-height: 16px; ">&nbsp;</td></tr></table>
to
<table><tr><td style="line-height: 16px; border-top:hidden;">&nbsp;</td></tr></table>
The number of px may be different - retain the same number that you currently have.

Dennisdg
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue 07 Feb 2012 9:42 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage PRO2
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Camberley
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by Dennisdg »

Thank you.

Regards
Dennis

Davis Vantage PRO2
Win 10 Pro

https://g4glp.co.uk

griffo42
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu 10 Dec 2015 6:41 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Win 10
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by griffo42 »

My thanks too.

Keith
Davis Vantage Pro2 Model #6152AU - CumulusMX - Win10 - Saratoga Scripts
https://www.kstwx.net/index.php
https://www.kstwx.net/mxtest/index.php
Image

User avatar
billy
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon 30 Nov 2015 10:54 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2+
Operating System: RPi stretch
Location: Gooseberry Hill, Western Australia

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by billy »

I have just got this working and wanted to say a big "thank you" to Brian for making it available - it's very neat :)

https://tillyspaws.com/vp2cmxui/index.php

Some comments and queries:
(1) My location webtag texts include an apostrophe and that prevented me getting off first base, so I replaced the single quotes around location and longlocation in CUtagsMXT.php by double quotes, and all was well.

(2) I happened to notice that the inside humidity popup doesn't work because HumIn.php doesn't exist in the distribution. It has mutated to HumI.php. I don't think inside humidity is usually of much interest!

(3) The setup is similar to PaulMY, keeping the original cumulus website intact and running the UI site "independently" (unlike Paul, they are in separate directories on my website). The UI site utilizes the realtimegauges.txt and json files that are uploaded for the old site, and this required changes so these files could be found. It took me a while to decipher where the changes needed to be made, but in the end there were only three - (a) gauges.js - "realTimeUrlCumulus"; (b) graphSettings.php - "$GRAPH['jsonloc']; and (c) cumuluscharts.js - all the URLs required a prefix. As an aside, the logic of the files for the gauges, and especially the popups, has eluded me for a very long time so this was an exercise expensive in time ;)

(4) I kept the UTF-8 encoding ticked for the NOAA reports, otherwise for other sites I get errors with the degree symbol. The solution I read (somewhere - can't find it now) of commenting out the preg_replace didn't work for me, but editing the echo to echo preg_replace(array('/\xC2/U','/\xB0/U'), array('&deg','&deg;'),$rpt); did (nb leave the two single quotes). Crude but it gave me the outcome I wanted.

(5) As for improvements, it would be nice to have crisper text for the gauges lcd - something like the "real" user interface. A quick look to see whether I could achieve this ended in failure.

(6) Finally, are there any instructions out there somewhere for setting up the "M" site for the davis console? I would really like to install that for my phone.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 962
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by BCJKiwi »

(5) It would be nice to have crisper text for the gauges lcd
In gauges.js, around line 49 change:-
digitalFont : true,
to
digitalFont : false,
This change is the default in the next release of the MXUI website.
(6) Are there any instructions out there somewhere for setting up the "M" site for the Davis console?
Well, no - You are the first person to ask about it!
It is something I could look at once I have the current work on the next release of the MXUI website completed. davconVp2CU_m.php is basically a stripped down version of the standard file set for the Davis Live Console with paths for some of the files pointing to the main site location.
It contains the full ./davcon folder plus
modified davconvp2CU_m.php & davconvp2CU-inc_m.php, header, footer, index, a .css, and a number of processed datafiles from the CumulusMX\web folder.
Hasn't been touched in some time so will need updating.

malkie
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun 02 Jan 2011 9:38 am
Weather Station: Davis Vision-Vue
Operating System: Raspbian Jessie
Location: Stevenage, Herts, UK

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by malkie »

Rain units

My website has these templates in use and I'm very happy with the result, except for the Rain units.

I have my Cumulus set to UK English units, so Temperature in deg C, wind in mph, pressure in hPa and rain in inches.

Yes I know it is inconsistent, but so be it.

I can set ajaxCUmx.js to E(US) or M (metric) but I do not want temperature in Fahrenheit. I can live with rain values in mm (which is what I am getting) if that is the only way, but how do I change the rain units so the web pages show 'mm' instead of 'in.''?

Thanks in anticipation.
Malcolm
North Herts, UK
http://elm30net.ddns.net
CumulusMX on Raspberry Pi B+, running on Raspbian jessie, from a Davis Vantage Vue.

BCJKiwi
Posts: 962
Joined: Mon 09 Jul 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by BCJKiwi »

Unfortunately there are historical issues with the way units options are handled (or not!) which have been inherited.
Not all options are available.

This should be resolved in the next release where this area (and a number of others) have been re-written.

malkie
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun 02 Jan 2011 9:38 am
Weather Station: Davis Vision-Vue
Operating System: Raspbian Jessie
Location: Stevenage, Herts, UK

Re: CumulusMX and Cumulus1 UI style Multilingual Websites

Post by malkie »

BCJKiwi wrote:
Tue 23 Jun 2020 8:50 pm
Unfortunately there are historical issues with the way units options are handled (or not!) which have been inherited.
Not all options are available.

This should be resolved in the next release where this area (and a number of others) have been re-written.
Thanks for that, I look forward to the update.

For now I have done a quick and dirty edit of the Index, Now and Today/Yesterday pages to directly enter the rain units in mm. At least the information is correct now.
Malcolm
North Herts, UK
http://elm30net.ddns.net
CumulusMX on Raspberry Pi B+, running on Raspbian jessie, from a Davis Vantage Vue.

Post Reply