Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4019) - 03 April 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release 1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
(a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Any electricians in the house? ;O)

For discussion of DIY weather equipment - sensors, accessories, improvements to existing kit etc
Flying Eye
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: XpPro32SP3 & 7Home64SP1

Any electricians in the house? ;O)

Post by Flying Eye »

Hi all,

OK, I need some help; I spotted these things at screwfix http://www.screwfix.com/p/10mm-copper-t ... f-10/97936 They come in a number of different sizes apparently.

Problem is, I'm not an electrician and I'm not wanting to use them for electricity. I want to use them as the ends for bracing rods. I can get 5mm diameter aluminium for fairly cheap I also have in stock an assortment of solid fiberglass rods in those and other sizes, and was going to use it to lightly brace the legs on a sub frame I am making, in a tri-point, criss cross style, similar to the tails on some open tailed helicopters, like SA 315b Lama and Bell 47g, that sort of thing.

Anyway they appear use a language from another planet on that page, can anyone help me decipher it please? I want to use 5mm or maybe 6mm rod, and I also want to use M4, M5 or M6 bolts in the screw hole in the flat end. My intention is to stick them on the rod ends with an epoxy or at a pinch silicon, I'm not intending to crimp them. All I need to figure out is the diameter of cable (or in this case rod) that would fit in them!

Maybe they don't come as big as I need, but I can't properly tell from the photo or the description.
Cheers,
Ian
bruce45
Weather Station: wh1081
Operating System: windows 10