Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4019) - 03 April 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release 1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014
(a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Homebuilt Serial Interface for Davis stations

For discussion of DIY weather equipment - sensors, accessories, improvements to existing kit etc
af4ex
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7, 64-bit

Homebuilt Serial Interface for Davis stations

Post by af4ex »

Hello,
Weather newbie here, just got my first wx station, Davis Vantage VUE, which is really nice. I'm an amateur radio operator and am sending my reports to the ham APRS/CWOP network using Cumulus. I keep the console downstairs in the family room (for everyone to enjoy), but run Cumulus and other APRS software (APRSISCE) upstairs in my hamshack. So I have a wireless link that I designed my self which uses a pair of XBee wireless serial modems, plugged directly into the console box and the weather radio (Yes, I know I could do this with WeatherLink/Envoy, but that was too much $$$ for me).

HARDWARE
The hardware details of my serial interface can be seen at WXForum [http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=10721.0 ], but I would be glad to answer questions about it either here or at wxforum.

SOFTWARE
The good news is that my homebuilt interface doesn't seem to require any special software to run, other than a standard serial connection. At least this is true for the two programs I've run so far (Cumulus and WuHu). I think this is mostly due to the excellent API which Davis has very generously made public to facilitate the use of 3rd party software.