Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

Ground temp

For discussion of DIY weather equipment - sensors, accessories, improvements to existing kit etc
User avatar
imike
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue 29 Dec 2009 3:13 pm
Weather Station: w8681
Operating System: win 7(weatherserver beta)
Location: westhope hereford uk
Contact:

Ground temp

Post by imike » Mon 04 Jan 2010 6:29 pm

how can you mesure the ground temp or what wqpment would you use :?: :?:

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Ground temp

Post by steve » Mon 04 Jan 2010 6:43 pm

A grass thermometer, normally. And some types of weather station have these as optional extras.
Steve

User avatar
imike
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue 29 Dec 2009 3:13 pm
Weather Station: w8681
Operating System: win 7(weatherserver beta)
Location: westhope hereford uk
Contact:

Re: Ground temp

Post by imike » Mon 04 Jan 2010 6:49 pm

witch one would recomend and were yould it get it(grass) :?:

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Ground temp

Post by steve » Mon 04 Jan 2010 6:56 pm

I don't have much experience of standard meteorological kit; as long as you got one from a reputable manufacturer, they should all be pretty much the same. This is the sort of thing: http://www.fairmountweather.com/product ... t=4&pid=30
Steve

User avatar
imike
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue 29 Dec 2009 3:13 pm
Weather Station: w8681
Operating System: win 7(weatherserver beta)
Location: westhope hereford uk
Contact:

Re: Ground temp

Post by imike » Mon 04 Jan 2010 7:01 pm

thank you steve is there any electric ones

User avatar
daj
Posts: 2041
Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008 8:00 pm
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Pi & MX
Location: SW Scotland
Contact:

Re: Ground temp

Post by daj » Mon 04 Jan 2010 7:10 pm

I found a few Googling rather than 'Steveing' -- LOL ;)

Could not see one that would link to a Fine Offset type station though -- I do not think these stations can take other readings
David
kippfordweather.uk
Cumulus MX & Raspberry Pi

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Ground temp

Post by steve » Mon 04 Jan 2010 7:10 pm

I'm not aware of any (other than the add-on probes to weather stations like the Davis VP2) but I guess they probably do exist.
Steve

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Ground temp

Post by steve » Mon 04 Jan 2010 7:13 pm

daj wrote:Could not see one that would link to a Fine Offset type station though -- I do not think these stations can take other readings
I think it's just the Davis and Oregon Scientific stations that allow them. Maybe even some of the much-maligned (by me) La Crosse stations...
Steve

User avatar
Repairman77
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat 17 Oct 2009 3:47 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: XP pro SP3
Location: Cambridgeshire UK

Re: Ground temp

Post by Repairman77 » Mon 04 Jan 2010 7:49 pm

imike,

If you only require remote readings; other than through the weather station, you coud use a system like the cheap remote indoor/outdoor digital thermometers, you can simply modify one of the remote units.
I did this to measure the water temperature in a pond filter box.

You simply take the unit apart, find the sensor (usually a small black thermistor), extent the wiring and encapsulate the thermistor in a small waterproof metal or plastic tube.

Incidentally the link Steve gave you to that site is for a 'grass' thermometer; was that what you wanted, or was it a 'ground' thermometer, actually inserted in the ground?

The same company make ground thermometers...
http://www.fairmountweather.com/product ... at=4&pid=5

The remote unit could be adapted to measure this if inserted at the end of a 12" metal tube. :)

Mike.
Retired Radio and Electronics Engineer residing in Cambridgeshire, UK.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Ground temp

Post by steve » Mon 04 Jan 2010 8:11 pm

Repairman77 wrote:Incidentally the link Steve gave you to that site is for a 'grass' thermometer; was that what you wanted, or was it a 'ground' thermometer, actually inserted in the ground?
Good point - I had assumed 'grass' thermometer as these are used to measure temperatures at ground level. I'm used to the ones inserted into the ground being called 'earth' thermometers.
Steve

Gina
Posts: 1885
Joined: Sat 21 Feb 2009 12:41 pm
Weather Station: Nothing working ATM - making one
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
Location: Devon UK

Re: Ground temp

Post by Gina » Fri 08 Jan 2010 12:50 pm

Been looking into this myself as the air temperature at 4 or 5 ft above ground is a fair bit higher than the ground temperature. There have been several days in the last fortnight when the ground has been freezing hard but air thermometers have shown a couple of degrees above freezing. So far the only thing I've found has been indoor/outdoor digital thermometers or very expensive temperature probes. Extending the cable to the external probe could be a problem if it uses a thermocouple as any change in metal will cause errors. I doubt thermistors would be accurate enough. If the measuring electronics could be put outdoors it might be possible to use a thermocouple type.

I'd be very interested in any other thoughts on this :)
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.

Gina
Posts: 1885
Joined: Sat 21 Feb 2009 12:41 pm
Weather Station: Nothing working ATM - making one
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
Location: Devon UK

Re: Ground temp

Post by Gina » Sat 09 Jan 2010 11:12 am

Maplin do an indoor/outdoor digital thermometer http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=34932 It just might be possible to get inside this and bring out digital data to interface with a computer. They also do other similar thermometers.
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.

dionaea
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat 29 Nov 2008 10:42 pm
Weather Station: WH1080 / Watson8681
Location: Burnham Thorpe,N.Norfolk,UK
Contact:

Re: Ground temp

Post by dionaea » Sun 10 Jan 2010 11:44 pm

This brings me to a point I have been discussing with Dave -Laindon Weather. Many of us set up our weather stations on poles or rooves - all of different heights. Shouldn't we try to get some uniformity with our sensors so that the data recorded is comparable.The met. Office suggests a height of 1.25 Metres above ground level (approx. 4 feet) for temperature sensors.I haven't worked out if height above sea level is another factor to take into account although I think it probably is.Hands up if your temperature sensor is 4 feet above ground level & also if you live at the top of Mount Everest! This however brings problems of numerous wires going from different parts of the weather station to different locations in the garden.

If this is in the wrong place - apologies.

Cheers,

Chris

User avatar
dane
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed 10 Sep 2008 2:15 pm
Weather Station: Rosenborg 68700
Operating System: Win10 Ult., 64-bit, RaspberryPi
Location: Gilleleje, Denmark

Re: Ground temp

Post by dane » Mon 11 Jan 2010 12:02 am

The met. Office suggests a height of 1.25 Metres above ground level (approx. 4 feet) for temperature sensors
My Danish Met. Office recommends 2 metres above ground level for temperature and humidity sensors, and 1.5 metres for rain sensors (and 10 metres for wind instruments).
So much for 'standards' :!:
Ib

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Ground temp

Post by beteljuice » Mon 11 Jan 2010 12:33 am

Oddly, UK MetO height standard is for the enclosure (expecting a big wooden box and a stick thermometer), so you will see variations in 'standard' height.

Again - the standards were brought in as windchill was beginning to be appreciated, and so was equal to average head height.

.... but, we've all been on a better diet since then :lol: ... and so it goes on :roll:

Temp sensor should be 1.5 => 1.7m above grass. (Sea Level is not a consideration unless you are floating on it)
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

Post Reply