Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.3.0 (build 3063) - 10 January 2020.
    Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

    See the Wiki for downloading either version.

    WS2350 help

    Post Reply
    AndyH
    Posts: 51
    Joined: Thu 16 Sep 2010 8:34 am
    Weather Station: La Crosse 2350
    Operating System: Windows 8
    Location: Reigate, Surrey, UK
    Contact:

    WS2350 help

    Post by AndyH » Sun 29 Nov 2015 7:32 pm

    Hi all,
    Not a question about Cumulus but I thought I might be able to tap into someones knowledge or experience as you are reading the La Crosse section of this forum.

    I have a Ws2350 model which has been in operation since the end of 2008 and over that time I have replaced the wind and rain sensor due to malfunction. On Friday evening I noticed that I was not receiving any wind or outside temperature information and the console was displaying "-- --" for these sections.

    The console is hard wired.

    I replaced the batteries in the outside sensor unit and did a hard reset of the console and finally got it to start getting the information again.

    However, intermittently it loses touch with the sensor again and I have to manually get it to detect again by pressing the + button on the console. It will work again for a while and then stop receiving data.

    My instinct is that the sensor is on its way out and needs replacing which will cost in the region of £55.

    So, my questions are as follows
    1) Has anyone else experienced this failure and did a new sensor resolve the problem
    2) Should I really be thinking of upgrading weather station and if so, and this is probably a huge question, which one should I go for? I currently use Cumulus and have a MySql database which feeds the info straight to my website so would want to stick with Cumulus in the hope that I don't need to spend weeks reprogramming my setup.

    Any thoughts, help, advice etc would be greatly appreciated.

    Andy.

    User avatar
    Mike60
    Posts: 23
    Joined: Thu 10 Sep 2009 6:21 am
    Weather Station: WH-2080, WS-2357.
    Operating System: W7-Pro
    Location: Weybridge

    Re: WS2350 help

    Post by Mike60 » Wed 20 Jan 2016 9:07 am

    Hi
    Maybe to late, but :idea:
    Why you not connect wired ?
    You can go with 20m of cable from base to sensor and another 30 / 40m to anemometer.
    I will try to install one WS2357 on Walton on Thames area.

    Regards
    Mike
    Image

    AndyH
    Posts: 51
    Joined: Thu 16 Sep 2010 8:34 am
    Weather Station: La Crosse 2350
    Operating System: Windows 8
    Location: Reigate, Surrey, UK
    Contact:

    Re: WS2350 help

    Post by AndyH » Wed 20 Jan 2016 9:54 am

    Hi, thanks for reply. Yes, I have it hard wired. Solved the problem by purchasing a RJ12 testing kit for a couple of quid and found that one of the cables was faulty. Replaced that and it all works again now.

    Post Reply