Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.0.0 build 3050 - 1 May 2019.
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

See the Wiki for downloading either version.

Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1855
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2+ w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by PaulMy » Sat 07 Jul 2018 2:00 pm

Yes, thank you Ron, and I had forgotten that Ken did that.

Enjoy,
Paul

User avatar
dazza1223
Posts: 503
Joined: Sun 25 Jan 2015 8:41 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: raspberry pi 3 +
Location: Worthing
Contact:

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by dazza1223 » Sat 07 Jul 2018 2:27 pm

thank you p.s i dint know he pass away Kevin Reed my hart goes out
Have fun and keep learning

dazza :D

g10rdan0
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 23 Dec 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by g10rdan0 » Thu 07 Mar 2019 11:37 am

Hello All,
I am trying to install this banner on my website without success. This is the code I have installed;

<img id="banner"
src="http://www.knarsdalenature.org/weather/banner.php"
alt="Live Weather" name="banner" border="0"
height="70" width="468">

When I simply enter: http://www.knarsdalenature.org/weather/banner.php in a browser it works and I see the banner, naturally only the banner, on the page. However when I load my website in the normal fashion the site appears, all except the banner. I should add that my site was constructed using the free software 'Komp0Zer' and through trial and error. I would appreciate any advice as to what I might be doing wrong!
Regards, Peter

User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun 13 Dec 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by nitrx » Thu 07 Mar 2019 11:53 am

Probably you use an adblocker or something with your browser I use ghostery when I turn Ghostery off the vanner shows up. You better avoid the word banner most adblockers will block that content rename banner.php to 'sign.php' or something and the adjust the html code also to that name. See previous posts about this in this thread.

Hope this helps
Ron

g10rdan0
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 23 Dec 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by g10rdan0 » Thu 07 Mar 2019 12:24 pm

Hello Ron,
Thank you for the suggestion, I changed all references of banner to sign but I am afraid I am getting the same result. I normally use Firefox so I thought to try a vanilla copy of Chrome, again no banner but it does show the alternative name 'live weather'.
regards, Peter

User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun 13 Dec 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by nitrx » Thu 07 Mar 2019 12:44 pm

g10rdan0 wrote:
Thu 07 Mar 2019 12:24 pm
Hello Ron,
Thank you for the suggestion, I changed all references of banner to sign but I am afraid I am getting the same result. I normally use Firefox so I thought to try a vanilla copy of Chrome, again no banner but it does show the alternative name 'live weather'.
regards, Peter
You use

Code: Select all

<br>
<img id="banner" src="http://www.knarsdalenature.org/weather/banner.php" alt="Live Weather" name="banner" border="0" height="70" width="468">
<br>
chanche <img id="banner" to <img id="sign" and do not use banner.php but sign.php because banner.php is not found anymore

g10rdan0
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 23 Dec 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by g10rdan0 » Thu 07 Mar 2019 1:02 pm

Hello again Ron, I suspect that you did not clear your browser cache when you loaded the site again because as far as I can see everything is changed to "sign"
Regards, Peter

User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun 13 Dec 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by nitrx » Thu 07 Mar 2019 1:25 pm

when you mean http://www.knarsdalenature.org/ I see this in the source

<
<img id="banner" src="http://www.knarsdalenature.org/weather/banner.php" alt="Live Weather" name="banner" border="0" height="70" width="468">
<br>

I've checked this now with the Edge browser and had not visited your site with Edge. You should change that code

g10rdan0
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 23 Dec 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by g10rdan0 » Thu 07 Mar 2019 1:39 pm

Ron, I am attaching an index file from my WebHost and you will see that I have changed the file names.
Peter

User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun 13 Dec 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by nitrx » Thu 07 Mar 2019 1:52 pm

g10rdan0 wrote:
Thu 07 Mar 2019 1:39 pm
Ron, I am attaching an index file from my WebHost and you will see that I have changed the file names.
Peter
i dont see an attachment

g10rdan0
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 23 Dec 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by g10rdan0 » Thu 07 Mar 2019 2:21 pm

Ron, I give up "The upload was rejected because the uploaded file was identified as a possible attack vector." I do'nt need this crap I will do without the banner/sign.
Regards, Peter

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2594
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by beteljuice » Thu 07 Mar 2019 9:50 pm

Don't give up !

Your banner code is working (renamed to sign.php)

If you want it in your home page then the code Ron (nitrx) posted should work.

ie. path name to weather/sign.php

I assume you zipped or changed extn. to .txt before trying to upload file to the forum ??
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

g10rdan0
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 23 Dec 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Cumulus PHP-GD Banner

Post by g10rdan0 » Fri 08 Mar 2019 12:54 pm

Thank you beteljuice for your reply, as you suggested 'nil desperandum' so once more I checked my online files and found I had uploaded the main website index into 'weather' rather than the root directory. I changed this and it is now working. A big thank you also to patient Ron for his advice. By the way, of the various Windows editions I have used, from DOS onwards, I found XP to be the best! I am currently using versions 7 & 10 although I have to say, that for an operating system, Linux 'beats the pants off' Windows.

Post Reply