Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX release v3.4.6 (build 3070) - 23 March 2020
Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014

See the Wiki for downloading either version.

Multiple Profiles

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

Post Reply
User avatar
w5afw
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu 29 Jan 2009 8:48 pm
Weather Station: ws-2315
Location: Houston, the Eagle has landed, TX
Contact:

Multiple Profiles

Post by w5afw » Mon 02 Mar 2009 12:03 am

I've been having web host outage problems, causing me to switch back and forth to a backup host. Rebuilding the cumulus internet configuration each time is a hassle. Is there an easy way to setup multiple profiles?
W5AFW, Lex

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Multiple Profiles

Post by steve » Mon 02 Mar 2009 7:43 am

I think the easiest way is probably to take copies of cumulus.ini with each set of settings, and switch between the two versions before starting.

Steve

User avatar
w5afw
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu 29 Jan 2009 8:48 pm
Weather Station: ws-2315
Location: Houston, the Eagle has landed, TX
Contact:

Re: Multiple Profiles

Post by w5afw » Mon 02 Mar 2009 2:29 pm

yes, I have been doing that, but here is a related question: could one safely run two versions of Cumulus simutaneously - uploading to two different websites, thus allowing realtime backup? also, I have found that some of the more reliable hosts do not allow php -- but one could load php related files to one site and basic (html and image) files to another. Ajax/xml seems to have problems on some hosts, as well (I don't know what that's about). anyway, you get my drift.
W5AFW, Lex

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Multiple Profiles

Post by steve » Mon 02 Mar 2009 2:51 pm

No, you can't do that because only one program can drive the station at any time.

Steve

User avatar
w5afw
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu 29 Jan 2009 8:48 pm
Weather Station: ws-2315
Location: Houston, the Eagle has landed, TX
Contact:

Re: Multiple Profiles

Post by w5afw » Mon 02 Mar 2009 3:02 pm

I guessed so... What about enabling some of the discretionery file uploads to go to alternate ftp hosts? Complicated?
W5AFW, Lex

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Multiple Profiles

Post by steve » Mon 02 Mar 2009 3:17 pm

It's a bit messy, needs more setup options to be able to specify the ftp host, and then requires Cumulus to connect to more than one server and upload the appropriate files to each. And this is changing Cumulus to cater for hosting issues, which seems wrong to me.

You can get software which will perform ftp at preset intervals. You could get Cumulus to generate the files and then use that software to do the uploads.

I'll think about making ftp more flexible in Cumulus 2.

Steve

User avatar
w5afw
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu 29 Jan 2009 8:48 pm
Weather Station: ws-2315
Location: Houston, the Eagle has landed, TX
Contact:

Re: Multiple Profiles

Post by w5afw » Mon 02 Mar 2009 3:39 pm

thanks/understand/good suggestion... cheers
W5AFW, Lex

Image

gemini06720
Posts: 1700
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 10:16 pm
Weather Station: No weather station
Operating System: No operating system
Location: World...

Re: Multiple Profiles

Post by gemini06720 » Tue 11 Aug 2009 10:39 am

empty
Last edited by gemini06720 on Thu 02 May 2013 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26704
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Multiple Profiles

Post by steve » Tue 11 Aug 2009 1:27 pm

Yes indeed, but it only works for Vantage Pro stations, and not for the ws-2315 that Lex uses.
Steve

gemini06720
Posts: 1700
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 10:16 pm
Weather Station: No weather station
Operating System: No operating system
Location: World...

Re: Multiple Profiles

Post by gemini06720 » Tue 11 Aug 2009 11:57 pm

Indeed Steve.

My error for not reading the documentation properly... :(

Post Reply