Welcome to the new home of the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3044 7 December 2018. See the Wiki for download

<#currcond>

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

User avatar
nking
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu 17 Dec 2009 2:03 pm
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by nking » Wed 19 Oct 2011 6:48 pm

Steve,

With reference to the external programs command I use for the metar data - It would seem the currentconditions.txt file gets updated after the normal web update. If my assumption is correct, I wondered if it might be simple to have the normal web update as the last activity?

It's only a nice to have so will understand if the answer is No.

Thanks

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by steve » Wed 19 Oct 2011 6:59 pm

nking wrote:With reference to the external programs command I use for the metar data - It would seem the currentconditions.txt file gets updated after the normal web update.
Yes, that's right. When I was asked for this facility, it was because someone wanted to run a program to do something with the pages/files which Cumulus had just produced. So I can't just change it to work the other way around. To be completely flexible, it really needs to allow a 'before' and 'after' program to be specified.
Steve

User avatar
nking
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu 17 Dec 2009 2:03 pm
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by nking » Wed 19 Oct 2011 8:00 pm

steve wrote:
nking wrote:With reference to the external programs command I use for the metar data - It would seem the currentconditions.txt file gets updated after the normal web update.
Yes, that's right. When I was asked for this facility, it was because someone wanted to run a program to do something with the pages/files which Cumulus had just produced. So I can't just change it to work the other way around. To be completely flexible, it really needs to allow a 'before' and 'after' program to be specified.
Thanks for confirming the situation ( and the saying "You can't please everyone all of the time" :lol: ). I'm more than happy with the feature as is.

User avatar
Stig
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu 14 Jan 2010 6:24 pm
Weather Station: WMR928NX
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Hareskov near Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by Stig » Thu 20 Oct 2011 2:50 pm

I have not been able to get Neils Metar solution working, I have used the settings from the help file, but when Cumulus has used the currentconditions.txt file (C:/Cumulus/currentconditions.txt) and the sample text shows on my web page, and Cumulus has deleted the file in Cumulus folder , Cumulus does not create the new currentconditions.txt file with the Metar values, and nothing more happens, the right side of internet settings- external programs is ( /stab "C:\Cumulus\currentconditions.txt" -downloadhide)
could anyone tell me if I am misunderstanding the concept or what is wrong

User avatar
PeterP
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue 21 Apr 2009 4:03 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Vista
Location: Coromandel, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by PeterP » Thu 20 Oct 2011 5:41 pm

Hi all, I have the same problem as "Stig" ( and possibly "goldrush" as I run windows 64?).

Mweather runs fine as a stand-alone, and when I ask it to "load metars from the net" it provides the correct data, but doesn't seem to initiate and do the same when asked by Cumulus.

I say this because
a) I don't see a currentconditions.txt file being created or stored in the Cumulus folder, and
b)the metar data doesnt display on the webpage.

In addition, the currentconditions.txt file, if initially manually created awaiting data being placed in it, just stays empty in the Cumulus folder.

If test data is entered manually into the currentconditions.txt file, it uploads,displays, then disappears. A new currentconditions.txt file is not then automatically generated.

my program settings: C:\Cumulus\mweather\mweather,
and parameters of : /stab “C:\Cumulus\currentconditions.txt” –downloadhide

Any help would be appreciated, looks like a great concept, and other are very happy with it!

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by steve » Thu 20 Oct 2011 5:54 pm

I've had a quick play with this; I use Windows x64 and see the same problem. But I'm afraid I have no idea why it apparently doesn't work on x64 systems. If you look in task manager, what seems to happen is that mweather starts, but apparently does nothing. Perhaps it doesn't get the parameters passed to it, for some reason.
Steve

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5234
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by mcrossley » Thu 20 Oct 2011 6:40 pm

you could try wrapping the executable in small batch file and pass the params to that?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by steve » Thu 20 Oct 2011 7:01 pm

mcrossley wrote:you could try wrapping the executable in small batch file and pass the params to that?
Ah - well done! Actually, I put the entire command line in a batch file and didn't bother passing any parameters. Works fine.
Steve

User avatar
Stig
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu 14 Jan 2010 6:24 pm
Weather Station: WMR928NX
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Hareskov near Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by Stig » Thu 20 Oct 2011 8:26 pm

Steve
my computer runs on Windows Home Premium 32 bit, so I think the problem is not entirely on 64 bit systems,
but could you please show the contents of your batch file and where to put it,

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by steve » Thu 20 Oct 2011 8:31 pm

This is the contents of my batch file; just for testing, so the paths are a little unusual, you would obviously need to change them to match your system. It doesn't matter where you put the batch file, just tell Cumulus where it is.

Code: Select all

c:\test\mweather.exe /stab "C:\Users\steve\Documents\RAD Studio\Projects\Cumulus\Release\Win32\currentconditions.txt" -downloadhide
Steve

uncle_bob
Posts: 476
Joined: Wed 17 Aug 2011 2:58 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: 2008
Location: Canberra

Re: <#currcond>

Post by uncle_bob » Fri 21 Oct 2011 10:09 am

Thanks for the tip about the batch file, it now works!! :)

Now to get the lazy buggers are Canberra Airport to start adding some details to the observations, so I don't have to ;)
Interested in building your own Weather Station? Maybe check out the WeatherDuino Pro Project Here
Conder, Canberra Weather
Image

User avatar
Ned
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon 19 Jul 2010 11:15 am
Weather Station: WS2083 aspirated
Operating System: Win 10
Location: Auckland NZ
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by Ned » Mon 31 Oct 2011 3:35 am

Since implementing mweather, my screensaver gets deactivated at the same time Cumulus starts a web upload. After the set period has elapsed, the screensaver is reactivated and the cycle starts again.
I'm thinking it's not caused by mweather itself, but just by having an external program set to run in Cumulus during web updates.
Must be just my PC, but I'd like to fix it.
Ideas please?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26714
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by steve » Mon 31 Oct 2011 8:01 am

By 'screensaver' do you mean you have something running, displayed on the screen, or simply a blank screen? I have the latter, and don't see this (I'm running Windows 7).

You could try putting an '@' on the front of the command line in the batch file.
Steve

User avatar
Ned
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon 19 Jul 2010 11:15 am
Weather Station: WS2083 aspirated
Operating System: Win 10
Location: Auckland NZ
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by Ned » Mon 31 Oct 2011 9:12 am

The screen just reverts to whatever is showing before the windows screensaver kicks in - as if I moved the mouse or hit a key.
I'm not running a batch file, XP runs the exe file and its parameters directly.

cheers.

User avatar
nking
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu 17 Dec 2009 2:03 pm
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: <#currcond>

Post by nking » Mon 31 Oct 2011 9:26 am

Ned wrote:Since implementing mweather, my screensaver gets deactivated at the same time Cumulus starts a web upload. After the set period has elapsed, the screensaver is reactivated and the cycle starts again.
I'm thinking it's not caused by mweather itself, but just by having an external program set to run in Cumulus during web updates.
Must be just my PC, but I'd like to fix it.
Ideas please?
Hi Ned,

It's not just your PC. I'm running Cumulus on an old laptop XP SP3 like yourself and found that my monitor would not enter stand-by. I got over this by using a combination of screen saver and stand-by timings - it worked but not very neat.

Steve's solution of using DOS batch command "@" does the job (you will obviously need to set-up a batch file for this solution and set the time for monitor off less than the Cumulus update interval) - he's a clever guy.

I'm not using screen saver as I don't see the point in wasting energy, I blank my screen (stand-by).

Post Reply